We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice bigger family option.”
Review of Sandy Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Cove Inn
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Helens, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, nice bigger family option.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Sandy Cove Inn was a nice surprise for an affordable stay in Seaside at a great location. They are on the south end of the beach with easy access a short one block walk away. The inn was obviously updated recently and the staff was excellent. Often a room that can hold 5 is difficult to find but the Sandy Inn has 2 rooms with an option for 2 adults and 3 teenagers to stay comfortably with a cute little kitchenette with fridge, microwave, sink & dining table as well. I was very pleased and appreciate the stay!

Room Tip: Check out the 5 person capacity rooms for larger families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    170
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
170
234
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nice location to reach several fun destinations: beach, hiking trail, parks, downtown walking path. Staff was very helpful, and made sure we knew to ask them for anything/anytime. I enjoyed the rooms cleanliness and appearance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine4snoozes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were looking for a comfortable but reasonably priced option near the Ecola State Park and Cannon Beach; the Sandy Cove proved a real find. It is welcoming, unpretentious but friendly and relaxed. Our room (Blue Room) was really cosy, the bed comfortable if a little smaller than some, and it was great to have the fridge too. The staff were friendly and helpful, extra coffee for the room was no problem, and they were happy to offer advice on the local area. The Sandy Cove is a good mile out of the downtown, we chose to drive in rather than take the long walk. But there is a definite advantage to being on the quieter edge of town, its more relaxed and less hectic, and the beach is just at the end of the street, only 5 minutes walk away if that. There is a store just across the street, and a great family diner right next to it. Perfect base for exploring the Oregon coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reachargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem,ore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice,cozy motel located in the less congested area of Seaside. Friendly staff. Loved that nice,homey coffee/deli ( Aunties " M's" ) 1 block from my room. Excellent food and friendly folks.
Excellent value. Would stay at the Sandy Cove again. My wife prefers places like the Sandy Cove over the "chain" type units. Seems like they care more about your comfort and they treat you like a person, instead of a customer.

Room Tip: Next time, my wife said to choose room #23......the Garden Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodvaluetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CA, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the best part of my time at Seaside.

We walked into the office. There was coffee and tea. We spent some time talking to Debbie, who was friendly and knowledgeable. She told us about the vcr players in the room and how we can pick any movies from the shelf by the door. Whoo hoo! That's pretty cool.

We got the blue room, and once we walked in there was warmth. Yes, a working heater! It was blue alright, with a big chalkboard behind the door that says "Welcome to Seaside." The bed was so comfortable, and there was even an extra blanket in the closet. The bathroom was so clean. I just loved everything about this place.

For the 2 nights we stayed at Sandy Cove, we came back early (around 5-6pm) to take advantage of the vcr and coffee. Other staff members were friendly too, and they all made us feel like home. In the morning, we would wake up, walk into the office to return our movies, get some coffee, and talk to Debbie. It was great!

Across the street, there's a restaurant called U Street Pub & Eatery. There's also a family market. Downtown is a mile's walk away.

This was a really good getaway. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flying_cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I judge hotels based on their star rating, if you will. In other words, if I'm going to a two star hotel, I adjust my attitude to that of two star service, rather than five.

The point is, this is a perfectly nice little hotel for the value, it's clean and the staff has always been friendly, and they've done pretty well with what they have, to make it cute. It's not right ON the beach, but half a block and I can still see it, is nothing to scoff at.

It's not a luxury hotel, so I'm certainly not going to complain about lack of breakfast or a swimming pool or any other such thing that it never claimed to offer in the first place. I have stayed here many times and never had an issue with what they DO offer.

If you want to help support the family who runs this, rather than some big company (like I do) then go for it! You'll find it's quite affordable, kitschy cute, and they're happy for your business. You'll know that if you ever chat with any of them in the office, as I have. Give local a try. If you're wanting to splurge on something fancy, then go find something fancy.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the 1940s room, the Monopoly room, the "Ilwaco" room I call it (charter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in the B & B Room and had a wonderful time. The room was spotlessly clean and the cozy decor was very welcoming. Upon check-in we were given a list of local restaurants with favorites circled and the recommendations were spot on. Each room has a VCR and free movies are available in the lobby for when it is too soggy and cold to spend time on the beach which is a short walk away. Our room was quiet and comfortable and our request for additional coffee was met with a smile. The Inn was not full and the walls were rather thin so it may not be as quiet with a full house. If you are expecting a luxury hotel, this might not be the place for you but for an affordable beach getaway it was perfect. I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme - check the wensite for details when making your reservation. Upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogirlgo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tides By The Sea
Tides By The Sea
#22 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#11 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Inn

Property: Sandy Cove Inn
Address: 241 Avenue U, Seaside, OR 97138-5005
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seaside
#3 Business Hotel in Seaside
#3 Green Hotel in Seaside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandy Cove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Cove Inn is a family-owned boutique motel located two blocks from the beach and promenade in historic Seaside, Oregon. We are on the quiet end of town but still very close to the town’s attractions, and we combine the personal touch with modern conveniences like free WiFi and some pet-friendly rooms.We have everything from basic rooms to vacation rentals, and with both a market and restaurant just across the street, we are the perfect place for a fun, peaceful stay on the Oregon Coast.We even have themed rooms like the Wave Room with surf art, a wave mural and an actual surfboard; there’s also a 1940s Room, a Monopoly Room, and a Boat Room, among several others.We’re one of the last family-owned motels in town, and that means a lot to us; in fact, we live right here on the property. We will share some of our favorite activities and places to eat with you, and we can’t wait to make you feel at home in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandy Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Hotel Seaside
Sandy Cove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing