We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, well-decorated room, great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Cove Inn
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Westminster, CA, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, well-decorated room, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the best part of my time at Seaside.

We walked into the office. There was coffee and tea. We spent some time talking to Debbie, who was friendly and knowledgeable. She told us about the vcr players in the room and how we can pick any movies from the shelf by the door. Whoo hoo! That's pretty cool.

We got the blue room, and once we walked in there was warmth. Yes, a working heater! It was blue alright, with a big chalkboard behind the door that says "Welcome to Seaside." The bed was so comfortable, and there was even an extra blanket in the closet. The bathroom was so clean. I just loved everything about this place.

For the 2 nights we stayed at Sandy Cove, we came back early (around 5-6pm) to take advantage of the vcr and coffee. Other staff members were friendly too, and they all made us feel like home. In the morning, we would wake up, walk into the office to return our movies, get some coffee, and talk to Debbie. It was great!

Across the street, there's a restaurant called U Street Pub & Eatery. There's also a family market. Downtown is a mile's walk away.

This was a really good getaway. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flying_cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    168
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
168
230
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I judge hotels based on their star rating, if you will. In other words, if I'm going to a two star hotel, I adjust my attitude to that of two star service, rather than five.

The point is, this is a perfectly nice little hotel for the value, it's clean and the staff has always been friendly, and they've done pretty well with what they have, to make it cute. It's not right ON the beach, but half a block and I can still see it, is nothing to scoff at.

It's not a luxury hotel, so I'm certainly not going to complain about lack of breakfast or a swimming pool or any other such thing that it never claimed to offer in the first place. I have stayed here many times and never had an issue with what they DO offer.

If you want to help support the family who runs this, rather than some big company (like I do) then go for it! You'll find it's quite affordable, kitschy cute, and they're happy for your business. You'll know that if you ever chat with any of them in the office, as I have. Give local a try. If you're wanting to splurge on something fancy, then go find something fancy.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the 1940s room, the Monopoly room, the "Ilwaco" room I call it (charter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in the B & B Room and had a wonderful time. The room was spotlessly clean and the cozy decor was very welcoming. Upon check-in we were given a list of local restaurants with favorites circled and the recommendations were spot on. Each room has a VCR and free movies are available in the lobby for when it is too soggy and cold to spend time on the beach which is a short walk away. Our room was quiet and comfortable and our request for additional coffee was met with a smile. The Inn was not full and the walls were rather thin so it may not be as quiet with a full house. If you are expecting a luxury hotel, this might not be the place for you but for an affordable beach getaway it was perfect. I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme - check the wensite for details when making your reservation. Upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gogirlgo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodburn, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Sandy Cove Inn is a cozy and unique spot to stay on the Oregon coast. Each room has a different theme, as conveyed by hand-picked decor and furniture. It is only a few blocks from the beach, which makes it an easy walk. Also, if you can find a Groupon or special deal they are running at the Sandy Cove, the price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: The rooms that sleep 5 people come with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, and a small set of di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis_G_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakebay, Washington
Level Contributor
242 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in room #28, the blue room, small but cozy! You can get VCR's to check out at the front desk. We got a couple at the local thrift store and left them there. No hair dryer in the room but ask at the front desk to borrow one.The beds aren't the most comfortable. The staff is friendly. Only a block from the beach!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAUREEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Cove_Inn, General Manager at Sandy Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
June was an exciting month for us. We think you’ll be happy to hear about it. We purchased new mattresses! Brand, spankin’ new.

When we purchased the motel 6 years ago we had a very long list of upgrades that were desperately needed. Mattresses were on the list but more importantly were items like “plumbing” and “heaters” and “major repairs”. Slowly we’ve marked off each item as time and income have allowed. And each time we crossed something off, we felt a small victory!

The long-awaited moment has come to mark “mattresses” off the list as well and boy, are we excited. Hopping up and down excited. We’ve been waiting for this moment for quite some time. And according to our recent reviews, so have you.

We cannot begin to explain how grateful we have been for your patronage of our family project as we work tirelessly to improve our services. And now? We’ve upgraded each bed to it’s very own, brand new mattress.

We trust that the next time you visit, not only will you love the service, the cleanliness and the adorable décor, but you’ll also love your comfortable night’s rest. We can’t wait to hear those contented “zzzzz’s” coming from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were really impressed by Mike, the owner. Super friendly, lots of "insider' info - loved the list of local restaurants. The location is fantastic and the Sandy Cove Inn is really cute and wonderful.

Our only complaint was the bed. My husband and I are not small people, but have slept in many a bed in our years of traveling. The bed was super springy/bouncy and I didn't sleep well either night we were there. I woke up in pain both mornings.

It's a great little place to stay and not everyone will have this problem, I'm sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sing_me_songs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Cove_Inn, General Manager at Sandy Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
June was an exciting month for us. We think you’ll be happy to hear about it. We purchased new mattresses! Brand, spankin’ new.

When we purchased the motel 6 years ago we had a very long list of upgrades that were desperately needed. Mattresses were on the list but more importantly were items like “plumbing” and “heaters” and “major repairs”. Slowly we’ve marked off each item as time and income have allowed. And each time we crossed something off, we felt a small victory!

The long-awaited moment has come to mark “mattresses” off the list as well and boy, are we excited. Hopping up and down excited. We’ve been waiting for this moment for quite some time. And according to our recent reviews, so have you.

We cannot begin to explain how grateful we have been for your patronage of our family project as we work tirelessly to improve our services. And now? We’ve upgraded each bed to it’s very own, brand new mattress.

We trust that the next time you visit, not only will you love the service, the cleanliness and the adorable décor, but you’ll also love your comfortable night’s rest. We can’t wait to hear those contented “zzzzz’s” coming from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our room was cute, clean, and just right for me and my niece and nephew. The Groupon deal I got in the fall made it extremely reasonable, but I think it's always pretty inexpensive, especially in the off season. We had the Beach room with a queen, bunk beds and a little kitchen area. My nephew loved it, but my niece would have preferred something with a little more frou frou decoration, which they do have in many of the rooms. I toured a bunch of them, and although they are very cute and unique, they are on the small side, especially the ones with one queen (not the suite though -- it's nice and big). However, they are way more homey and interesting than a cookie cutter motel room.

The location is one block from the beach and about a mile from downtown Seaside. There is a nice coffee shop down the street and a supermarket conveniently located right across from the motel. We didn't try the restaurant across the street, but we did have great sushi downtown.

People were really friendly. Free coffee and free movies were great on a stormy day (Goonies!). Overall, this is a cozy and cheap place to stay in a nice location in Seaside.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the small side, but cute. If you want to spread out, spring for the jacuzzi suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.9 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#9 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Inn

Property: Sandy Cove Inn
Address: 241 Avenue U, Seaside, OR 97138-5005
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#3 Green Hotel in Seaside
#3 Family Hotel in Seaside
#3 Business Hotel in Seaside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandy Cove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Cove Inn is a family-owned boutique motel located two blocks from the beach and promenade in historic Seaside, Oregon. We are on the quiet end of town but still very close to the town’s attractions, and we combine the personal touch with modern conveniences like free WiFi and some pet-friendly rooms.We have everything from basic rooms to vacation rentals, and with both a market and restaurant just across the street, we are the perfect place for a fun, peaceful stay on the Oregon Coast.We even have themed rooms like the Wave Room with surf art, a wave mural and an actual surfboard; there’s also a 1940s Room, a Monopoly Room, and a Boat Room, among several others.We’re one of the last family-owned motels in town, and that means a lot to us; in fact, we live right here on the property. We will share some of our favorite activities and places to eat with you, and we can’t wait to make you feel at home in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Sandy Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Hotel Seaside
Sandy Cove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing