We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly front desk staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Cove Inn
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly front desk staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and comfortable with artistic touches and a great shower. Good location near the quiet end of the beach, a store, and a pub. But what really stood out for us was chatting with Debbie at the front desk. She is down to earth and fun. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the 1940's room which was close to the stairs and our car. It is located near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    168
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
168
230
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter and I had a wonderful driving vacation up the 101 of California and into Oregon and stopped in Seaside for a night. We made our reservations in advance without any trouble. Glad we did, as the town was booked full for some kind of convention! Damon, who greeted us at checkin, was a super nice guy! Gave us a couple of wonderful recommendations for dinner and breakfast! Yes, the biscuits and gravy at the Firehouse Grill WERE the best I've ever had! We stayed in the 60's room which was very cute and comfortable and we loved the lava lamp! We are not high maintenance and didn't require an iron, blow dryer or other useless stuff, so didn't miss that at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueKKettering_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
293 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

First of all, I have to admit that I would never have found this motel without TripAdvisor and, secondly, I would never have booked it without the glowing comments from previous travellers. Even so, I was a bit aprehensive about going there but I was pleasantly surprised. It is a quirky establishment with all rooms done in a theme. We stayed in the 1940's room and the furnishings certainly evoked memories of that era - definitely nothing new or fancy - and a small room with somewhat limited storage for bigger items such as a suitcase. Each room is equipped with a VCR - yes, a VCR - and there is a small library of tapes you can borrow that will bring back distant memories. On top of it all, we were provided with a real key to the room, something I haven't had in years. There is some noise from the other rooms on a busy weekend but the second night we were there, a Sunday, was quite peaceful and as stated by others, the motel is a short walk from the beach and away from the hustle and bustle of the main shopping area. I would certainly consider going back if I am ever in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you go for luxury accommodations, this is not the place for you. But it is cute and quaint and is just a short walk to the beach. The rooms aren't furnished with iron, ironing board, or hair dryer, but all you have to do is ask and the front desk and they will get these items for you. I loved sleeping with the window open for the cool breezes and being able to hear the ocean waves breaking on the shore. I also liked the fact that the Inn was not located in the busy downtown area but on a quiet avenue. It was easily accessible. Everything was very clean and well kept. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Cove_Inn, Manager at Sandy Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Beth, thanks for leaving such a fun review. Isn't listening to the ocean as you go to bed so cool? I love it too. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

You can still see the origins of this classic Motel but it has been brilliantly adapted for the modern traveller. Our room was nicely furnished with an assortment of classic lamps and a cast iron bedstead. The gentleman on reception was charming, efficient and informative.

The Inn is excellently situated a short walk from the beach and opposite a small, family run supermarket and a pleasant tavern - both of which we availed ourselves of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Cove_Inn, Manager at Sandy Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. Your compliment to the front desk made our week! Hope to see you again the next time you are in the States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I loved this place Very clean and a great Price. Very close to the ocean and beach. Rooms were small, but enough for two adults. Beds were comfy. We were directed to great food from front desk Would stay here again, and recommend to friends!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were looking for last minute hotels, not knowing there was a car show the weekend we had planned on visiting, and the ONLY room available was the amazing Jacuzzi suite. We were concerned at the beginning because neither of us had good luck with smaller non commercial hotels/motels, but as soon as we walked in, the gentleman at the front desk was awesome - great energy, very knowledgable and very funny. He suggested a bunch of places to visit, and we immediately took his advice. He was spot on there as well.

When we walked in the room we were pleasantly surprised - it was beautiful! We absolutely loved the room, and obviously we love the staff - and now we refuse to stay anywhere else in Seaside. My best friend will be visiting you within the next month. Thanks for an amazing weekend.

-Cyrus

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.9 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#9 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Inn

Property: Sandy Cove Inn
Address: 241 Avenue U, Seaside, OR 97138-5005
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#3 Business Hotel in Seaside
#3 Green Hotel in Seaside
#3 Family Hotel in Seaside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandy Cove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Cove Inn is a family-owned boutique motel located two blocks from the beach and promenade in historic Seaside, Oregon. We are on the quiet end of town but still very close to the town’s attractions, and we combine the personal touch with modern conveniences like free WiFi and some pet-friendly rooms.We have everything from basic rooms to vacation rentals, and with both a market and restaurant just across the street, we are the perfect place for a fun, peaceful stay on the Oregon Coast.We even have themed rooms like the Wave Room with surf art, a wave mural and an actual surfboard; there’s also a 1940s Room, a Monopoly Room, and a Boat Room, among several others.We’re one of the last family-owned motels in town, and that means a lot to us; in fact, we live right here on the property. We will share some of our favorite activities and places to eat with you, and we can’t wait to make you feel at home in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sandy Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Hotel Seaside
Sandy Cove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing