We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Japanese food”
Review of Tora Sushi Lounge

Tora Sushi Lounge
Ranked #27 of 111 Restaurants in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Langley City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“OK Japanese food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant is run by hispanics and not Japanese. Food has continued to be average since we first visited in 2011. If you do have a craving for sushi and sashimi, try it out. There hasn't been much peer competition in Seaside. Don't expect authenticity. Order the more common types of fish, such as salmon and tuna. Spicy sushi rolls require extra chopping and mixing and it may disappoint.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    73
    28
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good Sushi,Good Time”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We travelled through Oregon,and I needed a Sushi fix.Totally enjoyed our Sushi and enjoyed our experience . I would recommend this place .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank like2travelplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas County, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great change from the usual Beach food!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good food and good service. More like a neighborhood spot than than the "uptown" places you find in Seattle and Portland. Just remember you are AT the Beach and service and quality at beach places is rarely consistent!! Take your time in looking over the menu and spend a few minutes observing others customers. Usually, You will be able to tell about the food and service from their behavior/actions. Sometimes I'll ask for feedback!! If you are in doubt, order an appetizer of their specialty. That's a good indicator what you can expect! First time I've been there for their "happy hour" but was pleasantly surprised! Unbelievingly inexpensive with no change in quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCPOUSNrtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“To avoid unless you have a sushi urgency”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Poor service, so-so food, dedinitely they don't even try to go dor the extra mile. Moreover, cooks arent Japanese at all but Mexican. Funny thing is one of the cooks wears a hairband with the Japanese flag, hahahaha, so from outside you may think they really are Japanese! To avoid unless you have a sushi urgency

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheEmptyQuarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Poor service. Average food.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We waited for almost 5 minutes at dinner time before someone came to us and the restaurant wasn't full. The chefs saw us but couldn't do anything and no other staff was at our sight. After we were seated, the server was out of sight again. It took us a while to wave her over. We were not sure if it was the weather or just the way they stored the fish. The tuna felt warm and not quite fresh. Their tempura was good. Other than this, the rest (sashimi, sushi and rolls) were just okay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tora Sushi Lounge also viewed

 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Tora Sushi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing