We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hostel! Good experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seaside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside International Hostel
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hostel! Good experience!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

You must understand this is not the Shilo or Holiday inn. This is a Hostel that offers dorms and private rooms. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The Seaside Lodge and Hostel offers a very nice hostel environment with additional amities. There is a chill room/music room where you can play a piano, guitar, bongos or an organ. There is a communal kitchen where you can cook your own food. They do offer FREE BREAKFAST of pancakes and eggs. You will need to make them yourself and clean up after yourself as well. They have a coffee bar, however I did not order anything. They have canoes and kayaks available as well as a great outdoor space with a very nice view. The location is still very nice. You are within walking distance to the beach and the great Seaside shops. My daughter and I stayed in a small private room and was pleased with our experience. We did come prepared with extra towels, blankets and toiletries. There is no AC in the rooms, but being on the coast, there really wasn't much need. Just had our window open for a few and we cooled off just fine. My recommendations is bring your own pillow, as the ones provided to us were a pretty flat as well as towels, toiletries and additional blankets if you like having more than just one. Overall a very good experience. I will most likely stay there again. We stayed Aug 24th 2013 during Hood to Coast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
13
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PDX
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in the men's bunkroom in summer - no lockers for valuables, musty w poor ventilation, low ceiling, crammed with bunks. Unlike the adjacent motel-style 'wing' with the private rooms, the bunkroom is in what appears to be a converted residence with low ceilings, narrow hallways, thin doors and no sound insulation. The one-person bathroom is adjacent to the bunkroom, and every cough and gurgle is clearly audible thru the wall.

The second worst bed I've ever tried to sleep on - mattress sort of OK around the edges but badly broken down in the center, the pillow a sack of lumps, scratchy blanket so small there was no extra to tuck under, so ended up on the floor. Bunkroom lights were out by 11pm, but everyone pitched around literally for hours, wooden bunk frames creaking loudly, trying to find non-lumpy positions on the mattresses. One person went to sleep around 2am, the room finally began to cool off around 2.30am, and I dropped off a little after that. Windows had no drapes, was awakened by sunlight at 6.30am, sore and un-rested.

Staff was very helpful and efficient, wifi reliable. The hostel is on a very quiet street, faces a nice canal on the back side, has a commercial-style kitchen, washer/dryer, a couple larger common rooms, but was a bit run down generally.

As a resort town, Seaside is small, mediocre and overpriced, as was the hostel compared to others I've tried around the US - charging the same for a bunk as the HI in Chicago IL.

Room Tip: A different street address, perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A group of us stayed there and had one issue after another. They got our reservation wrong, and one of my friends had to sleep on a pull out cot. It was incredibly uncomfortable. The lady at the front was so rude to all of us.
The room smelled like urine and we could quite figure out where the smell was coming from. The whole experience was just gross and disappointing. I have stayed in numerous International Hostels before this one was way below standard.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulietteS127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I did the coast on budget and really enjoyed the experience we had at Seaside International Hostel! We had a private room and used the community kitchen to make our meals! Perfect for if your on budget and if your interested in meeting some interesting travelers!

Room Tip: Private rooms are clean and nice, you have your own bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went during February which is obviously the off season, but the people were friendly and the place was clean, welcoming, and friendly! We were given great advice on all the good places to visit while we were in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed in February and found the hostel warm and welcoming. Staff stayed past their shift on our arrival to show us around and make sure we were settled after a late night drive from Portland. There were pancakes for us in the morning (I think this is usual thing) and some incredible homemade cheesecake the next day (I think this is a special treat staff bake up from time to time). We stayed in the dorm - beds and bathroom were clean. The location itself is really nice - right on the water (an inlet) and a few minutes walk to the beach or shops. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The first day I got here, I fell in love with this place. The lobby is very comfortable, and the expresso is delicious! The social room has a variety of musical instruments, books, magazines and board games. The kitchen is fully loaded and bio-friendly. Guests of the hostel get complimentary C.I.Y.(cook it yourself) eggs and pancakes every morning. Outside there is a campfire pit, barbeque grill and picnic area, an herb and vegatable garden, kayaks and the Necanicum River. The Pacific ocean is less than a half-mile away. Seaside International Hostel is different than any place I've been in my life. Magical and peaceful. A Vacationer's hide-away... A Traveler's haven. The proprieter, Trung, is an amazing and beautiful woman!
How to say Seaside International Hostel in One word: Paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robolobabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.4 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside International Hostel

Property: Seaside International Hostel
Address: 930 N Holladay Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-7018
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Seaside
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Seaside International Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing