We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tides By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tides By The Sea
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here over the labor day weekend. Everything was wonderful. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage with a kitchen. The back door to our room led right to the pool. The staff was very nice and the location was very quiet. Only thing I noticed were the towels were very rough and thin. So we just used our own. Other than that, I will stay here again for sure!!

Room Tip: I would splurge for a cottage, very worth it, and still cheaper than most places in seaside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahhtides, Manager at Tides By The Sea, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Your comments are appreciated. Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
42
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We are a new family on aright budget so we were looking for the cheapest option in Seaside. The location is awesome and Seaside is a blast. However, the room was outdated and not renovated anytime in the past decade. Plus the walls are SUPER thin. We were somewhat comfortable but once the snoring from the couple in the adjacent room started roaring through, we lost a lot of respect for the place. The manager was helpful but just don't be a high maintenance doutche and you shouldn't have problems. Highly recommended for working class tourists that don't need all the glamour!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dozer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have stayed here soo many times I can't keep track...these are really nice and it is nice to have a little mini kitchen, it feels like you have your own little cottage...stay here, you'll LOVE it!

Room Tip: Room 155 has the best view, is one of the most pretty units, and is the most clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sierra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our trip was so wonderful the staff was helpful and the manager refered us to very good restraunts. We cant wait to take another trip and visit again.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms I dont think that you can go wrong with any room. They all have their own un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahhtides, Manager at Tides By The Sea, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. We love hearing from our friends. Can't wait to see you again. Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed there with my toddler son in the high season (Aug) when most rooms on the coast are between $150-$200/night. We paid just under $100/night which, out of tons of hotels in the area, was the best rate we could find so close to the beach!

Our room was out-dated but cute with a partial ocean view. We had a mini-kitchenette which was an added bonus for the price! I also loved the free, kid-friendly movie rentals in the office. So helpful when traveling with small kids and such a nice touch!

This is an older motel with very thin walls, outdoor entrances and poor security on the room doors. Luckily the area is pretty safe.The staff is unpredictable - some of them are super nice, some are rude. There were pubic hairs on the toilet and sink in the bathroom when I entered the bathroom so it was clear it wasn't cleaned properly. I told the front desk this, and cleaned it myself (with gloves on).

With an improvement in some of the front desk attitudes and better cleaning staff, this place could be a cheap, hidden gem (with ear plugs)!

Room Tip: To minimize noise issues, choose an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis Orchards, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Spent thanksgiving here. Office staff friendly and accommodating, great, great view from room. Weather was outrageous with the storms but awesome at the same time. Be sure to visit Teri at U Street Grill for good eats and good fun.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

If you don't have a toddler, this place is charming! We rented a cottage unit for our family of 7. It had an upstairs and plenty of room for everyone. There was a fireplace, couch & chairs, and a kitchenette that's seen better days. The floor seemed warped in the kitchenette and it was outdated but it had everything we needed, dishwasher included. We wish the sink had a garbage disposal, as it was a chore to scrape plates into the trash constantly. The sink is also small for the size of the unit. The fireplace was charming, but the iron fire-poker/brush/toolset was a death knell for our toddler! We couldn't find a place to put it and eventually had to keep it in the bedroom with us so he wouldn't hurt himself or bang the iron rods on everything in the place. Also, we wish we had a baby gate, as our little guy spent nearly all his time trying to climb the stairs and we were constantly after him and moving furniture in front of the stairs to block his way. It was a chore. Our problem, granted, but just something to keep in mind if you're bringing a toddler. The swimming pool was awesome! Very warm and lots of fun for our 5 kids. Access to the beach was good too. It was a bit of a tough walk for little ones, as there are big rocks to traverse, but so nice to stay so close to the ocean nevertheless. We did note, however, the strong smell of dog poop as we passed the hotel to access the path to the beach. If the management could control where people can let their pets deficate it would not be so smelly for the guests using the path to the beach. The shower/tub downstairs left alot to be desired... rather outdated and hard to enter/exit for little kids (it had the sliding doors that don't open all the way) and making it hard to give baths. Another helpful tidbit for guests would be to add a hose or spray down area just outside the unit or in a central place so people could wash the sand off them before entering their rooms/units. I can only imagine the sand-clogged drains that need to be pumped out or cleaned constantly from sand going down shower/tub drains!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneBusyMama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#8 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Inn
Sandy Cove Inn
#10 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides By The Sea

Property: Tides By The Sea
Address: 2316 Beach Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-5016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Condo/Hotel at its finest. Studios, 1 & 2 Bedroom units, and Cottages. Close to golf, dining, walk to downtown shopping, beach combing, surfing or just hanging at the pool. Come relax and enjoy the Oregon Coast at The Tides by the Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tides By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides By The Sea Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing