We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
From WA in UT
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unsatisfactory stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We're easy to please travelers, but this hotel missed our expectations by a mile. The good parts: front desk people were pleasant at all times, room was clean, and beds comfortable.

Check-in was the worst we'd ever experienced (and another couple waiting commented that they had never had had such a check in experience either). I'll skip the details to avoid boring the innocent....but at the second attempt we waited for an hour.

Wifi was a totally unsatisfactory...I spent more time trying to get online than I spent working online. For this they made a very minor adjustment on the bill.

Phone system was out of order, so we had a blinking message light for two days. Bathroom fan usually has a rattle that was annoying for those trying to rest. The room did not have a comfortable chair or couch, although there was plenty of room for either one. Just two table chairs, such as one might use to play cards or such.

Oh, and don't ask to have your room serviced while you're out. They would not make any exceptions to the order that rooms were going to be serviced. Staff friendly, perhaps,...but definitely not client friendly. We'll stay elsewhere next time, way too many flaws for any reconsideration.

Room Tip: River side views are nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear sgmojo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. I sincerely apologize for your experience during check in due to the service provided as well as the inconvenience you experienced caused by the internet service and phone system. We appreciate your feedback as it will be shared in order to avoid a similar experience as it is our goal to provide excellent service to all our guests.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    154
    62
    30
    22
See reviews for
175
156
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have always had a great experience with Holiday Inn Express brands and this hotel was no exception! The service of all of the desk agents were excellent and we received quick response to any problem we encountered. The rooms were extremely clean and the sheets were nice and comfortable.

The breakfast was well stocked and included hot items which was fantastic. A lot of selections available including fruit, yogurt, bagels, pastry, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy.

Hotel is located only a few blocks from Seaside Beach and only a short ride to Cannon Beach with the famous Haystack rock. Another good stop is Ecola State Park with Indian Beach - not much parking but a nice big beach with few people on it and great views.

Room Tip: River view rooms also offer a nice glimpse of the ocean/beach :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilemoevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding.
Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very
best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our
staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes
that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services
we provide.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Was a nice clean hotel. Nice area, about 6 blocks from the beach. Alot of restaurants nearby. They were putting new mattresses in all the rooms when we arrived. I would stay here again. The breakfast was pretty good, had biscuits and gravy and pancake with either scrambled eggs or omlette.

Room Tip: I thought from the pictures on the riverside of the hotel all the rooms had balconies but when we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colbyaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very nicely kept hotel. They were getting all new mattresses when we arrived. They had overbooked the hotel so I got king instead of two queens which presented a problem since we needed two beds. We used the couch pull-out which was less than ideal. We had few problems (no blankets for couch, tv didn't work) but the staff resolved the issues. Breakfast was typical of hotel food... lots of it, but not very tasty. Still, I would stay here again. Great location and free parking.

Room Tip: You can peek at the ocean from west facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15minL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here and were very pleased with the room. It was HUGE and had nice amenities, including a game table and comfy sofa. Although not on the beach, it was a short walk to restaurants and shops. There was coffee and tea available at all times. The breakfast was typical, so we opted to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryntessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

So happy I booked here! Several collegues ended up at the Shilo and the horror stories are quite impressive. Per usual the Holiday Inn doesn't disappoint. The staff was incredibly helpful and allowed me to check in early and was kind enough to ask if I had to work early in the morning. Because I did, she put me in a room far from the elevator as to avoid any noise. I'm a fan of hot breakfast in the morning and the HI does it's job in offering protiens, cererals, fruit, etc. All in all, a good experience and will be back soon for more work and another stay at the Seaside Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: This is a family friendly hotel, try to book on the top floor to avoid the sounds of children runnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The pool water was murky and green for the duration of our two night stay. The pool maintenance person assured us that it was "chemically just fine." We opted not to swim, which was very disappointing for our children.

The breakfast was below average compared to other Holiday Inn Express locations where we've previously stayed. It was peak season in Seaside, but overall this was an overpriced disappointment. We will likely stay elsewhere on future visits.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripMommyOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear RoadtripMommyOf4,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the pool and over breakfast. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.1 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center
Address: 34 N Holladay Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-6828
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside Oregon. This beautiful Seaside hotel is strategically located in downtown Seaside, convenient to the Seaside Convention Center and only 3-1/2 blocks from the beach. Close to the hotel is the Seaside Historical Museum, Seaside Carousel Mall and of course Seaside's famous downtown shopping area on Broadway, home of the Turnaround. We are also located just blocks from the Seaside Factory Outlet Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside is ideal for business travelers, families and coastal visitors. The beautifully appointed guest rooms in this new Seaside hotel offer a variety of room types and styles with amenities to fit every need. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside offers an indoor heated pool, spa and sauna; fitness center and guest laundry. We also feature a business center and free high speed Internet service. The team at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside is committed to providing the highest level of service and value. We take pride in exceeding our guest s expectations and making your stay an enjoyable one. We reserve the right to make changes to policies without notice. All group reservations require a 96 hour cancellation notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seaside - Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Seaside
Seaside Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Seaside
Holiday Inn Express Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing