We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brunch in spectacular suroundings”

Camp 18 Gift Shop & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 110 Restaurants in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch in spectacular suroundings”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Enjoyed an excellent and good value brunch at Camp 18 on our trip between Seaside, OR and Portland, OR. The location is spectacular and the collection of logging memorabilia just adds that something extra to the dining experience.

This is a popular place so line-ups for tables are long but we arrived just in time to get a neat two-person table in the upper lounge. We had a great view of the great hall whilst we ate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yodel_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    151
    54
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped based on most reviews were good. Wishes we had listened to those that were bad. Overpriced bland food. Menu doesn't even state all of food that comes with a plate. Order of chicken fried steak was just ok. Came with stated garlic potatoes that were ok and zucchini which was a nice surprise. Fish and chips were bland and not worth the price. Kids pizza was frozen mini version that was too soft to cut and a container of store bought applesauce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Athomelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
155 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“You've got to be kidding!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This place is the perfect example of the phrase, "Bigger doesn't always mean Better!" Interesting LOOKING place. That's where the fun ends.... Look and then keep driving!

Log cabin with a logging theme.... oh boy!..... Watch a episode of Axe Men while eating a Egg McMuffin. Camp 18 building will be more interesting than the Ax Men, but the McMuffin will be better food!

They advertise Big Portions! Everything is big! So are my underwear, but I don't want to eat them either! ;-)

Pastries were like bricks or flavorless dough blobs. Bacon tasted like cheap commerical grade. Bread was ok. Eggs like rubber. Potatoes, flavorlesss and cold. Omelet ingredients of the cheapest quality. Must I go on?!

Service was slow and sloppy. Spilling water and coffee on table which wasn't clean when we were sat down.

It's breakfast! How hard is it screw up?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Huge portions, fairly good food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Let's be honest - there are only 3 reasons to eat at Camp 18. (1) you are starving either driving to or from the Oregon coast. (2) you are a sucker for log cabin kitsch and you enjoy dining in a huge hall adorned with logging equipment, stuffed wildlife, and a monstrous piece of timber. (3) you are a glutton and you want to stuff your belly full of comfort food. If all three ring true, you are in luck, as the portions are massive, the family dining is pretty good, and the atmosphere is fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,049 reviews
483 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,667 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This restaurant is 18 miles inland from Seaside.
Thus the name - Camp "18"!

We've eaten here numerous times over the years and they are consistently a bit above average, in our opinion.This time was one of the better dinners. It was early evening on a rainy Wednesday night in May and they weren't busy. Service was prompt and friendly.

I had a BBQ chicken burger with bacon and cheese. High calorie but it was quite good! My husband had a giant Logger Burger which he said was fine, nothing super wonderful. We shared a bowl of tasty chicken noodle soup, which we enjoyed.

Prices are a bit high, but not enough to give you 'sticker shock', and portions are generous. If they are very busy, it can be noisy.

Most customers walk around and admire the building - it is impressive. As we left, I really enjoyed visiting with three nice cats on the front porch :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp 18 Gift Shop & Restaurant also viewed

 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Camp 18 Gift Shop & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing