We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food at an above average price”

Camp 18 Gift Shop & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Medford, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
657 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Average food at an above average price”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This could be an Applebys in disguise. The food is chain restaurant quality but the prices are a bit higher to pay for the rustic setting.

Over-hyped. One and done for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sp4301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    162
    54
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Last year we stopped here for breakfast and really enjoyed it. This year we were passing by in a rainstorm at lunch time and decided to stop. We enjoyed a great homemade soup lunch next to the fireplace. What a treat! Later, during our stay in Seaside, we drove back to meet a group for dinner. The food is fine and the portions are generous. What's really great, though, is the atmosphere. Service is very good. If you are driving along the Oregon coast near Seaside, it's definitely worth the little drive inland to visit this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryellen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A cinnamon bun to remember”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had read the information about this restuarant in some local hotel literature. When we passed through Elsie, Oregon, without seeing Camp 18, we decided that it was no longer a viable establishment. Then suddenly through the light rain, it came into view. This was just a stop along the way since we had already eaten breakfast and it was too early to eat lunch. The cinnamon roll was large enough to feed four. It was the best that I had ever eaten. The waitstaff were excellent. An added bonus was to meet Mr. Gordon Smith, the developer and owner of the Camp 18 Restaurant. We will definitely return to this place for a full meal, which we understand will not dissapoint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Earl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved This Place (Great Food)!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We passed Camp 18 heading to Cannon Beach from Portland. After a day of sightseeing on the coast, we decided to go back to Camp 18 for dinner. It was worth the drive! Beautiful scenery coming and going and the food was great. We ordered the Oriental Salad, Taco Salad, Chicken Fried Steak, Jack Burger, and Riggin Boss. Everyone was happy with their meal. My son and I split the burgers. The 2/3 pound Riggin Boss has a great (Huge and Tasty) bun and comes with a side of Au Jus (great add to a burger) - don't shy away because of the size. The 1/3 pound Jack burger was delicious. I also sampled my daughter’s Chicken Fried Steak which had great seasoning. My wife and daughter enjoyed their salads and all agreed it was worth the extra drive time and extra miles to come back there to eat (and that is saying something on a vacation that covered over 2400 miles of road). The restaurant itself has a big and open feel to it and they have bird feeders outside of the large windows, so you see wildlife as you are eating. The service was great as well. This will definitely be a stop on our next trip to the Oregon Coast!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

It was nice to sit down and eat while watching the birds fly outside. The structure of the building is amazing. The food was really good. The witness wasn't vary friendly she just took our order and brought it out. She didn't even have a smile on her face. She either hated her job or had a bad day. She wasn't very friendly but she got the food out to us fairly quick. The price is decent because the portions are huge. I recommend this place. I just hope the waiteess will be in a better mood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp 18 Gift Shop & Restaurant also viewed

Seaside, Oregon Coast
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Camp 18 Gift Shop & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing