We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they are under new (bad) management”
Review of Lanai at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanai at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2011

we have stayed here before, but our most recent stay there was not what we rememberd. our room was filthy. the bath room door was un closable, they turned off the water twice during our stay an once with no notice. the manager and maintenance guy smoked in front of the lobby which is illeagle in oregon. and blamed it all on the fact that they just took over 6 weeks ago.
they refused to compensate us in any way.
i would not recomend that anyone go there untill there is new management that knows how to do there job correctly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dude8742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

968 - 974 of 994 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2011

Want to visit Seaside but avoid the crowds? Enjoy hearing the roar of the ocean just steps away? Then the Lanai at the Cove is the place for you. Well known to locals, it is a hidden gem.

We stayed in Room 37 which is nicely appointed and recommended. Each unit is owned and decorated individually. Our only complaints are the two missing ceramic tiles which present a tripping hazard and a slight lack of attention to details demonstrated by two burned out lightbulbs in the chandelier and no tissues in the tissue holder or in any of the cabinets. This unit has a well-suppplied small kitchenette.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We have stayed at this property several times and truly enjoy it each time we go.
It is not luxury but is cozy and comfortanle and one can truly relax here and the ocean view can't be beat in seaside hotels in my opinion.We like that we can cook nice meals right in the room and have ocean front dining.We love watching the surfers and one time I seen a whales blowing spout.
We have went at diferent times of the year and enjoyed it everytime.
Has a spacious deck that one could grill out on if staying on second or third floors and a nice patio on ground floor,We have only stayed on the secound floor so couldn't comment on the view of the others but will say from where you sleep it almost looks like you are right on the ocean and the lights outside stay on till about 11 or so.
Great value and friendly service.
We try to make it a couple times a year while the rate is good.
There is an outdoor pool good for warmer season,small property with no restaurant but dining close if you like to eat out. We give it a five star because we really feel relaxed and refreshed when its time to come home.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

This is probably my favorite hotel anywhere. I have been staying at the Lanai for over ten years now, multiple times a year and I have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean, quiet, convenient and comfortable, and the service is great. I would highly recommend the Lanai to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonandLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

My mom and I took a trip from Portland to the coast and decided to stay in Seaside. Our first night we booked a room at the Holiday Inn Express in seaside next to the river. It was nice, but when we went driving around the town, we discovered a small slice of heaven that was Lanai at the Cove, just south of downtown, right on the beach. It was actually cheaper than the Holiday Inn, but our room at Lanai was right on the beach with a beautiful balcony view. LOVED IT! The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful when we were trying to find our way around town. Would recommend to everyone traveling on the Oregon coast! GO HERE!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweep50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Our wonderful stay with this hotel started right at booking. They were very friendly on the phone and when we arrived there was no problem with our reservation. The room (#38) was a nice clean room. The beds (one pull out couch) were very comfortable. We were facing the cove so the view was unbeatable so at the price I think the Lanai is a great place to stay. It was also nice to roast marshmallows in front of our room then wake up in the morning, let the teens sleep while we sat out and drank coffee while we watched the surf. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reservationplease_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

A fantastic stay! Lanai at the cove is about 5 minutes from downtown Seaside which is no bad thing; we went into town once and that was quite enough... It's set directly on the beach overlooking Seaside on the other side of the bay which assures lovely views. I'd imagine that your stay depends on the room you have selected - we reserved unit 32 which we were told was the nicest room. Dual aspect on the second floor and really nicely furnished and decorated. A well-equipped kitchen and bathroom made our stay very comfortable and being able to go to sleep to the sound of the sea was lovely! Despite the tacky downtown (worse in some places, better in others), Seaside does have it's plus points - some good stores and restaurants and lots of outdoorsy things to do in the very near vicinity. If you want to stay in Seaside, you're better off at the Lanai rather than some of the monster chain hotels on the sea front down town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
1.4 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at the Shore
Inn at the Shore
#10 of 27 in Seaside
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 27 in Seaside
1,420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,503 reviews
7.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanai at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai at the Cove

Address: 3140 Sunset Blvd, Seaside, OR 97138-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#1 Family Hotel in Seaside
#4 Business Hotel in Seaside
Price Range: $78 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lanai at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanai At The Cove Hotel Seaside
Lanai At The Cove Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing