We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in Seaside OR”
Review of Lanai at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanai at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Seaside OR”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

My mom and I took a trip from Portland to the coast and decided to stay in Seaside. Our first night we booked a room at the Holiday Inn Express in seaside next to the river. It was nice, but when we went driving around the town, we discovered a small slice of heaven that was Lanai at the Cove, just south of downtown, right on the beach. It was actually cheaper than the Holiday Inn, but our room at Lanai was right on the beach with a beautiful balcony view. LOVED IT! The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful when we were trying to find our way around town. Would recommend to everyone traveling on the Oregon coast! GO HERE!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweep50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    168
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
213
495
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Our wonderful stay with this hotel started right at booking. They were very friendly on the phone and when we arrived there was no problem with our reservation. The room (#38) was a nice clean room. The beds (one pull out couch) were very comfortable. We were facing the cove so the view was unbeatable so at the price I think the Lanai is a great place to stay. It was also nice to roast marshmallows in front of our room then wake up in the morning, let the teens sleep while we sat out and drank coffee while we watched the surf. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reservationplease_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

A fantastic stay! Lanai at the cove is about 5 minutes from downtown Seaside which is no bad thing; we went into town once and that was quite enough... It's set directly on the beach overlooking Seaside on the other side of the bay which assures lovely views. I'd imagine that your stay depends on the room you have selected - we reserved unit 32 which we were told was the nicest room. Dual aspect on the second floor and really nicely furnished and decorated. A well-equipped kitchen and bathroom made our stay very comfortable and being able to go to sleep to the sound of the sea was lovely! Despite the tacky downtown (worse in some places, better in others), Seaside does have it's plus points - some good stores and restaurants and lots of outdoorsy things to do in the very near vicinity. If you want to stay in Seaside, you're better off at the Lanai rather than some of the monster chain hotels on the sea front down town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
287 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We rented one of the 3rd floor condos for 2 nights to continue an excursion that had been following Lewis & Clark, with its next leg being the drive down the coastal highway to San Francisco. As a denizen of the east coast, I can't say pacific coast beaches even remotely resemble the kind of beaches I'm used to, but that's to be expected. What you get on the west coast is mostly rough, raw, and spectacular. The Lanai at the Cove puts this right in your face. Our room was comfortable, clean, and well appointed (including a kitchenette), with a private balcony facing the Pacific. If it is of interest, there is a small swimming pool but no elevator, or least one that I observed. The only other things missing were a convenient laundry and restaurants within easy walking distance. However, both are just a few minutes away in Seaside itself, which we found to be sort of a honky-tonk tourist haven, although with a very nice promenade along its ocean front and a small selection of pretty good restaurants. As for the Lanai at the Cove, I seriously doubt you will do better in this area, and certainly not for the price being charged.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the Lanai. We wanted to see the Oregon coast on our trip of Western US and must say were very pleased with our choice of accomodation. After visiting the town of Seaside we know we would have found that too busy to stay in and the setting of rhe Lanai was perfect on such a quiet spot by the sea.
Our room was spotless and well decorated and we appreciated the fridge and small cooker with utensils so that we did not need to eat out all the time.
From there we were also easily able to visit the quaint town of Canon Beach and Ecola National Park with its beautiful beach and lovely walks.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randbcraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We booked our stay awhile back and planned our whole vacation around staying there. My wife is on oxygen and the place is non-smoking. Unfortunately, every night the other guests would build bonfires on the rocks just off the property toward the beach. The thick smoke filled the entire area, front and back and got into the room. We could not even go out on the nice patio off our room becasue it was so bad. The staff on duty said there was nothing they could do about the fires since they were off the property; but in checking further we discovered that there are not to be any fires within 50 feet. These were much closer than that. We hung in there for a couple of days before we had to just leave. My wife nearly had to go to the doctor because of the smoke. If you have breathing problems, think twice about staying there. Otherwise it is a wonderful place that is clean and has beautiful views.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarkLordJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2010

My partner and I were really excited about staying at the Lanai in Seaside based on some of the reviews that we read on the internet. We booked condo #23 for a romantic Valentine's weekend. The price was superb; we paid just under $200 for two nights right at the edge of the water. Ocean views from our room were beyond excellent, and we appreciated the more private feel that location of the Lanai provides... they're situated a few minutes south of the busy / crowded Seaside beach, so there are fewer people wandering around the area.

We were disappointed to find that our room didn't meet our standards for cleanliness. The sheets on the bed were dirty, there was a birthday card sitting on the floor beneath the dining room table addressed from a previous guest to his wife, and a half eaten baggie of trail mix sitting on one of the chairs in the room. The cleaning staff were already gone for the day, and were surprised when we told the front desk staff about the condition of the room, that they merely provided us with an apology and a fresh set of sheets (rather than offering to take care of changing them).

In addition to the issues with the room cleanliness, we also had no luck with the complimentary wireless internet service that they advertise. A router issue with the Lanai prevented us from getting a signal on either our laptop, or my partner's iPhone. The office staff explained that they were having so many hits on their webcam that it interrupted the wireless internet for the guests. This was a problem and the internet was unavailable both days. Not a problem for us, but something to be aware of if you require it for business or school.

Finally, our room was located right next to the laundry room for the facility. We awoke early (before 9) on Sunday morning to loud banter between staff members in the laundry room (even with our "do not disturb" sign on the door). We also found that we had no hot water for hours in the mornings; not sure if we were sharing a heater with the laundry room next door, or if it's a problem with every unit.

Pros:
Price
Privacy
Amazing views

Cons:
Dirty room
Wi-fi didn't work
Little hot water
Woke up to loud staff

It was an excellent price, but I can't see staying at the Lanai again. I'll be willing to pay more on the next trip for a clean room with amenities as advertised.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDX74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
1.4 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanai at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai at the Cove

Property: Lanai at the Cove
Address: 3140 Sunset Blvd, Seaside, OR 97138-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#1 Family Hotel in Seaside
#4 Business Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lanai at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanai At The Cove Hotel Seaside
Lanai At The Cove Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing