We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite spot in Seaside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanai at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanai at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“My favorite spot in Seaside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

A few years ago our best friends asked my wife and I if we would like to go to the beach with them and they told us about the Lanai at the cove. We rented two room next to each other and had one of the best weekends that I can remember in Seaside. The rooms are tastefully decorated and each is unique from the others. Very comfortable with the closet on the ocean view possible in that area. We wish we could own a condo located where these are and as beautiful, warm and inviting as they are. We always find it hard to go home when our rental time is up and will always think of renting a room at the Lanai when we are planning a trip to Seaside.

Room Tip: There are lots of places to eat in Seaside and if you mention you are renting at the Lanai at Norma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hey Shawn,
Thank you so much for your review and we are so happy that you have picked us as being your favorite spot in Seaside. We must agree, as it is our favorite spot as well. It is very kind of "Norma's" to give the 10% discount to our guests, it really brings our little community together. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    165
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
212
488
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Lanai is our go-to home away from home. With its great views, private balconies, and well-equipped mini kitchens, the rooms have plenty of room to spread out. You really feel more like you are in a rental apartment than a hotel. The staff are personable and friendly, and while there seems to be concern about soundproofing, we have had no issues. In fact, I sleep fantastically well at the Lanai with the rush of surf and cries of seagulls in the background.

The pool could be a little bigger and as it is heated, I am somewhat surprised that it is not open more months out of the year. However, that is a tiny criticism of this gem of the Oregon Coast.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms facing the ocean have the best views and seem to be the quietest in terms of hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Liz,
Thank you for your review and your kind words. We are glad that you consider us your "Go-to home away from home". With the Lanai being an older building, there are some sound issue's but never enough to get in the way of enjoying that surf and the cries of the seagull's. We hope to see you again soon. Don't forget, our winter rates and specials are just a couple of weeks away starting Oct. 1st.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lanai over Labor Day weekend while celebrating our anniversary. We had room 42 on the third floor facing the ocean. The room was recently remodeled, beautiful, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. There was even a telescope. Even though the hotel was full for the holiday weekend, we never had a problem with noise or parking. We thoroughly enjoyed the views, the short walk to the sandy portion of the beach, which is huge and great for exploring or just sitting. We were glad to be out of the main portion of Seaside and more on the outskirts. Restaurants and shopping were still accessible and even with the busy holiday we didn't have trouble getting around town. Whenever we were in the room, we had the balcony door open so we could hear the ocean. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room 42 was just redecorated/remodeled and was beautiful. The pictures on the website when we booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Greetings from the Lanai,
Thank you so much for choosing the Lanai and for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary get away. We agree, #42 is an awesome unit as well as many others units, the telescope is such a plus to be able to get even a better view of the surfers. We always appreciate it when our guests tell a little about are area as well. So much to do and then you are able to come back to the Lanai and enjoy some quiet time. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have enjoyed the Lanai many times. It sits on a headland so the ocean is very close to your room. Crashing waves and panoramic ocean views from the balcony. Surreal night views with the lights glowing from Seaside. Located in a quiet neighborhood away from the bustle of downtown. It is our "go to" place at the beach. Even our spoiled picky little dogs like it. We choose the rooms with balconies but for those with children the main floor rooms may be better suited as they are on the same level as the super clean pool. The only thing that keeps the Lanai from being absolutely perfect is the sound that can travel through the walls. We have stayed at least a dozen times, our typical stay being four or five nights. Noise has not been a problem often and never bad enough to complain about but I have to at least mention it. Don't let that stop you from visiting this wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello Kate,
We thank you for review and for staying with us once again. We appreciate and value all our guests input on every situation. The noise can be an issue as the Lanai is an older building but as you mentioned, its not a big problem but it is definitely not sound proof. Being able to relax and enjoy the crashing waves as well as the panoramic view certainly makes up for it.We will look forward to seeing you again during your next Seaside visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is my second stay at the Lanai. I like it's location at the end of the beach area which makes it very quiet and private. Each room is different and booking is easy since you can view each room ahead of time. Some let you have a pet which is helpful. I stayed in #24 this time which is on the ground floor, easy access to yard for the dog, and easy access to beach and patio area. The furnishings in this room are getting a little worn, but still very comfortable. For a better view of water and surfers I recommend a room up on the 3rd floor. You will have a more private balcony up there for early morning coffee or breakfast. The kitchenette in these units is very handy for making meals so as to not eat out so much. I will definitely be back again....hopefully next summer!

Room Tip: 3rd floor has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi there Mary O,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. Being located out here on the cove and in this nice little residential area makes it extra special.We are away from the downtown part of Seaside and it does make for a much more private, quiet, and relaxing get away. Remember, we have great winter rates starting in Oct., plus very affordable 2 and 3 night specials if you decide to head our direction for some R&R and storm watching. As a reminder, there are actually a lot more surfers to watch during the winter months than in the summer. The surf is perfect during that time of year and the surfers are out there almost daily.Thank you so much for your review and input, we look forward to seeing you again next summer, if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was a very nice small hotel outside the main tourist area. It has a beautiful view of Seaside, the beach, surfers and sunsets. The actual beach at the hotel is boulders but there is a nice path to the sandy beach a short walk away. The rooms are quiet, nicely furnished and have great private balconies. There is a nice warm pool (kept at 90 degrees) but no hot tub. Parking can be a little tricky as the main parking lot is kind of tight. If you want the hustle and bustle of downtown Seaside, it is a short 5min drive away through beautiful seaside homes or a pleasant 15 -20 minute walk along the beach. It would probably be even better during winter storms as it is on the side of the beach and the storms would go by right in front of your window. The staff are great and very helpful. We found this to be one of the nicest spots on the whole Oregon coast to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiantravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Greetings,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lanai. Being able to sit on your balcony or even in your room to watch the surfers and sunset are such a plus. We are so fortunate to have the breath taking view right outside our door. We do have amazing winter storms here right on the beach and the Lanai is a popular spot during those times. Many of our guests enjoy coming down during the winter season just for that reason. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again during another Oregon visit. Don't forget to check out our winter rates and our 2 and 3 night winter specials to go along with those winter storms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clatskanie, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

They're not kidding when they say "the best view in Seaside". We spent three nights there during the Labor Day weekend in their dog friendly room #44 and had a great time. It's a much quieter place to stay instead of the busy downtown Seaside area. When we wanted to visit the hustle and bustle we could, but knew we could head back to the Lanai for a glass of wine on the balcony to watch the surfers. The hiking trail to Tillamook Head begins within walking distance of the hotel and there's many other activities near by as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan4614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hello Susan,
Thank you for your review and we are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lanai. It makes for a nice and relaxing time to be able to go into town and check out the sights and then return here for some good R&R, and wine too. We hope to see you again during your next coastal visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
1.4 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanai at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai at the Cove

Property: Lanai at the Cove
Address: 3140 Sunset Blvd, Seaside, OR 97138-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seaside
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seaside
#4 Business Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lanai at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanai At The Cove Hotel Seaside
Lanai At The Cove Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing