We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Trip 2013”
Review of Lanai at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanai at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Road Trip 2013”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My niece and I stayed in Room 25 which was the first stop for our road trip down the Oregon coast. Overall it was nice. The location is beautiful to look at although hard to get to the beach (very rocky trip down). The room was clean and comfortable but was dated. My niece loved the pool and had fun. We really had no interaction with the management except for check in and out so no complaints or compliments. My only real complaint was the noise. We could hear every step, movement etc. from the room above. Sounded like they were coming through the ceiling at anytime! Really, really terrible and kept me up. Not sure if all lower level rooms are that way but I do not think I would stay there again based on this or I would definitely stay in a 2nd floor room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xmas2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello and thanks for sharing your thoughts on your stay. We
appreciate your staying with us and letting us know where we still have
work to do. Sound management is something we are working on, we are sorry
it affected your stay and your sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    181
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
226
525
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

July 29th after a long drive we found this to be the perfect get away. Right on the ocean without all the hustle of the Prom.
The manager is so friendly and helpful. Unit 46 was cozy and perfect for two. We enjoyed being able to sleep with the window open and hear the crash of the waves. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for staying and the Lanai and sharing your experience. We’re glad
you found us, had a nice stay and were treated right. We’ll look forward
to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helens, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was a girls getaway for us. Myself my mother and twin 9 year old girls. Everything was perfect from the room to pool and the staff. My children loved everything. My parents have been staying at the Lanai for years and now it will be one of my new traditions. Our room was very clean and cozy. I appreciated the lights at night shining on the ocean for that anytime view. We had a lot of fun and the price was very affordable. The front desk was more than helpful with dinner ideas and things to see. Oh and the kids say the pool was awesome it was warm and fun. Thanks

Room Tip: We had room 37 it was a cozy cottage feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Janice,
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your time with
us and are planning to make the Lanai a new tradition. Good to know the
pool is kid approved! We look forward to seeing your family next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I'm a single mom that took three children on vacation by myself! 12, 6, and 2 talk about a challenge to entertain all of them but this hotel was my saving grace! I loved the room we were in, I loved the price, and the kids loved the pool! The decor was outdated but the room was fantastically clean! Cleanliness is what I care about most. The kids loved the pool, it would just be nice to have it open a bit later in the summer and maybe a hot tub would be a nice addition! The location was awesome, beach access so close and the little town just a couple minutes away! We will be back!!!! Thanks for the great customer service and super nice time! I wish would have booked sooner to get two nights at this fabulous gem! We stayed in room 30 8/5/2013
Thanks,
Kristine Severn

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello Kristine,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It can be quite a job
to vacation alone with young children so we are happy that the pool was a
big plus for your family. Your unit is scheduled for some upgrades and
will be even better next time. We look forward to seeing you again and
thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Sandy R. / Louie R. / August 1-4 2013 / My sweetheart and I have made many trips to Seaside over the years - and we've FINALLY found our "go-to" place for future visits! The Lanai was a very pleasant surprise, and their room rates are the absolute best in town. Just a little ways south of the end of the prom, the location is very quiet, private and relaxing; right on the ocean. The grounds and rooms are immaculate, with a killer view of surfers in the Cove by day, and the twinkling lights of Seaside "proper" at night. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive. It's difficult to summarize our entire experience, but here goes: the bed was so comfortable, I didn't wake up, even once; mini-kitchen stocked with everything we needed; great shower and water pressure; clean, clean clean!; coffee in bed watching the surf; swimming in the warm pool in the early-evening mist; beautiful walk on the prom to town; private patio to play cards and watch the surfers; campfire on the beach at night; never turned the television on, even once; close to everything, yet a world away. If you're looking for quiet, relaxation and romance, the Lanai is the place for you!!! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyR360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
WOW!!! Thank you Sandy and Louie for you review and all of your kind
words. Our #1 priority is to make every guest feel welcome and
comfortable. We are so happy that you have FINALLY found your "go to"
place. We agree the view here is "Killer". We look forward to seeing you
again during your next stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We came over for just one night, would loved to have stayed longer. We were pleasantly surprised by the older hotel, very nice amenities, clean and beds were comfortable. We stayed in a bottom level room, #29. The view was awesome! The owners were very nice people and very helpful. Will definitely plan on staying here again next time we are in Seaside!
Thanks again!
L.Webb

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Lisa,
Thanks so much for your kind words and we are so happy that you
enjoyed your stay with us. The Lanai is right on the water so even ground
floor ocean front rooms have breath taking views. Thank you so much for
your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This has to be the best room in Seaside (Lanai #47). Top floor, end of building, & the balcony opens straight onto the Cove. We watched black turnstones & oystercatchers & Heerman's gulls on the rocky beach below, with surfers in the background & the beach stretching North from Seaside to Gearhart. ( The Lanai is in a quiet beach neighborhood, & NOT on the main touristy drag strip of Seaside) Fire spaces in the rocks made a great spot to grill some oysters, & the (outdoor) pool was clean & heated to the perfect temperature. I'm not sure how we got #47 on short notice, but it's where we will look again next time we stay in Seaside.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor so you don't have Heffalumps tromping around overhead. The walls ARE sort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello Will B.,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lanai
and you were more than happy with your unit. Unit #47 was just completely
redecorated and is a really sweet space. Thank you so much for your
review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
1.4 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
959 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
1,386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ashore Hotel
Ashore Hotel
#2 of 27 in Seaside
355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#11 of 27 in Seaside
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanai at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai at the Cove

Property: Lanai at the Cove
Address: 3140 Sunset Blvd, Seaside, OR 97138-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#1 Family Hotel in Seaside
#4 Business Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lanai at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanai At The Cove Hotel Seaside
Lanai At The Cove Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing