We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling Gem in Seaside”
Review of Hillcrest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillcrest Inn
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Sicamous, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sparkling Gem in Seaside”
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We were surprised to receive a lovely unit for such a low price. Jay at the front desk insisted we view it first -- he must have known we would like it.

Great location near the beach, restaurants and shops. It was clean, spacious and comfortable, as well as quiet. The free high speed wireless internet service was quite fast. Everything worked and the beds were comfortable.

From the outside, it is reminiscent of the 60s but well maintained. That coziness from a bygone era adds to the charm of the property and its overall location in Seaside.

Jay and Joanne, the manager, were friendly and helpful. We got the impression that we were very welcome and any question we had would be answered with enthusiasim.

  • Liked — Awesome service, comfort and location
  • Disliked — No pool but it was rainy and blustery the day we were there
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    52
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
79
64
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

After flying out from Atlanta, the drive from Portland lasted a little longer due to getting lost in the Rose City. My son and I arrived a little after 10 PM and was relieved to see that a friendly face was still there to greet us and show us to our room. I was thrilled with the size of the room and how clean it was. We were on the corner (Room 120) and had no problem with noise, whatsover. I met Jay the next day who also was very nice, with a good sense of humor. I would highly recommend the Hillcrest Inn to anyone looking for value and location in Seaside.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — non
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaDuck83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Older hotel but don't let that deter you! Very nice and clean in an apt. size room! Had a full kitchen and a separate bedroom. Great location - just a couple blocks easy walk to the beach. And our host, Jay (hotel manager/owner?) was the highlight of the stay. He was SO helpful and friendly and made a point of remembering all of our family's names. Excellent customer service! I definitely recommend this hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jaggsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Wa
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2008

I booked the "Sweet Retreat" room at the Hillcrest without ever having been to the Hillcrest before, and I wasn't disappointed. The rates at this hotel are really low, especially considering how close to the beach it is. Halfway through our 5 day stay in Seaside, we switched rooms to stay in the "Hideaway." Jay, one of the employees at the Hillcrest, made sure that our transition was smooth and easy. I've never seen more friendly hotel staff anywhere. Jay treated us like he was genuinely happy we were staying there, and Joanne was also very helpful and kind. The rooms were both very clean and nice for the prices we paid for them. I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else in Seaside.

  • Liked — The location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — No pool. haha
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Ruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

The location in seaside is perfect, near the beach and near Broadway street.
We choose the Sweet Retreat (the cheapest room available).
The wireless works well.
Minor problem: a little smelly (shoes) when we entered.

  • Liked — position and staff
  • Disliked — smell in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lorenzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The location and service was top-notch. You are literally less than a block from the beach and two blocks from the main strip. The room we stayed in had great jet bath and was clean and spacious. The only drawback was the noise from the 2nd floor floorboards caused by anyone walking up the outside stairs or in the room above us.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — 2nd floor noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2travelersSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We have stayed at the Hillcrest Inn several times in the last two years.

The Hillcrest works for us because it is clean, quiet, and close to the beach. The number one reason we come back is how we are treated while staying there. You have two employees that are simply amazing! Jay and JoAnn are so friendly and helpful. Unlike some other lodgings we feel like our business is appreciated.


Could you please forward this email to the management or the owners? I’m not sure how much these two employees make but I feel they should get some extra compensation for the fine service they provide. I’ve stayed at many places down the coast and have never felt more comfortable and appreciated then while staying at the Hillcrest Inn. I will tell our friends and relatives to stay at the Hillcrest when in Seaside.



Please let Jay and Joann know about this email and tell them what a great job they are doing.



Sincerely,

Matt and Jo

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank placeyourphotohere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.4 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#10 of 27 in Seaside
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashore Inn on the Beach
Seashore Inn on the Beach
#23 of 27 in Seaside
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Inn

Property: Hillcrest Inn
Address: 118 N Columbia St, Seaside, OR 97138-5932
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Seaside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillcrest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillcrest Inn recaptures the nostalgic charm of the Oregon Coast. Located only a half block from the beach, 2 blocks from downtown and the Convention Center and yet situated in a serene garden-like setting. In addition to cottages with fully equipped kitchens, there are mini-suites with partial kitchens, spa rooms and immaculate traditional rooms. There is a sauna and bbq on site for guests use. The 5-bedroom Hilldcrest House, perfect for reunions and group events, can sleep up to 16 people and is located immediately next door to the Hillcrest Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hillcrest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Seaside
Hillcrest Motel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing