We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillcrest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillcrest Inn
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Love this place they are so nice, they treat you just like you are part of the family! We try to visit seaside every three or four months, and we would never consider staying anywhere else. Last time we were there we left an article of clothing and they mailed it back to u for free. "Shout out to Ruth and Don"

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brandonclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    49
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
76
63
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We really liked this place because the owners made us feel welcome. It's about 50 meters to the beach, and while there are places right on the beach which we were considering, this is just a short stroll away. The other reviews were so convincing, and they are right! Ruth and the other hosts (sorry, forgot your names) greeted us on arrival. They were very warm and welcoming. You can feel they really care about you. We had free parking on site and parking was not an issue even when we came back after a day trip. The room itself has traditional motel/budget hotel furnishings, so don't expect anything fancy (i.e, flat screen TVs), but we had everything we needed, including very clean bathroom with great water pressure, bed, couch and heater for the cool December nights. The rooms have coffee/tea maker, a microwave and fridge. Ruth gave us dinning suggestions when we asked for them as well as tips about what to see and where to rent bikes, and she was really kind and open to chatting with us, which was very nice. I saw some toys for the sand for those who travel with kids. There were sweets/coffee/hot chocolate available all day long and Ruth even brought out the whipping cream when she saw me making hot chocolate for my hubby. There are danishes in the mornings, great for the road. Overall we had a very cozy stay. Maybe the one drawback was the bed. We are not used to a memory foam mattress and kept rolling into the middle. My husband had a bit of a backache in the morning. Maybe that's just as, as we prefer a stiffer bed. The place might be typical in terms of furnishings, but it is spotless and very welcoming. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks' Ruth and company - you guys are amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, bc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were a family of 3 staying over the July 4th weekend to watch the fireworks and celebrate.. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! Great location within steps to the beach, friendly staff, and great value! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Ruth and her husband couldn't have been better hosts, the room was large, spotlessly clean, and very well situated near the beach (but not right on it), with very pleasant surroundings. They have a nice DVD collection, but mostly we'll be back because the whole experience was so nice. We felt like honored guests, or even family. They even brought us poinsettias right after Thanksgiving! We felt so relaxed during our stay. Not too expensive, either. I'd come back any time I want to stay at Seaside. Good job, guys!!!

Room Tip: The only room from which you can see the ocean is the second floor corner (123?). But if I stayed wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foundloveinpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting Oregon and Washington coasts. The welcome was very warm and friendly. The kids were kept entertained and were given free danishes and hot chocolates. The place is a bit dated, but the warm welcome more than makes up for it. I lost the keys to my car while loading the car and I was not sure where I lost them. The owner was nice enough to call a locksmith and help me get in my car. When I did not find the keys in the car, he kindly looked everywhere and finally found my keys in the trash! I dropped off some leftover food in the large trash can (along with the car keys) after I loaded my car! He even declined any money I thankfully offered for all his troubles to go out of his busy schedule to look for my keys!

Room Tip: You will definitely feel like family at this Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spock888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Made a last minute plan to head to the coast for the weekend and was very lucky to find that Hillcrest had a room available. Don and Jay were very welcoming upon arrival and got us checked in quickly since we had made a long drive. Everyone at the desk during our stay provided us with things to make our stay more comfortable including beach blankets, wine glasses, dvds (they have a HUGE library), and popcorn. Everyone at the desk was also very helpful in providing restaurant recommendations and other activities to do in Seaside. Will be returning again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxbarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. The rooms were older, but clean and comfortable. We hadn't planned on getting to take this trip, so we were happy to get our reservations, then even more happy with the whole experience!! The desk people were so warm and accommodating. If we get a chance to be back next summer (or anytime) we will definitely make plans to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.2 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#9 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#11 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Inn

Property: Hillcrest Inn
Address: 118 N Columbia St, Seaside, OR 97138-5932
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Seaside
#7 Family Hotel in Seaside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillcrest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillcrest Inn recaptures the nostalgic charm of the Oregon Coast. Located only a half block from the beach, 2 blocks from downtown and the Convention Center and yet situated in a serene garden-like setting. In addition to cottages with fully equipped kitchens, there are mini-suites with partial kitchens, spa rooms and immaculate traditional rooms. There is a sauna and bbq on site for guests use. The 5-bedroom Hilldcrest House, perfect for reunions and group events, can sleep up to 16 people and is located immediately next door to the Hillcrest Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hillcrest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Seaside
Hillcrest Motel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing