We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chowder, Great Home Brew”
Review of Seaside Brewery

Seaside Brewery
Ranked #16 of 111 Restaurants in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Forest Grove, Or
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Chowder, Great Home Brew”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Drove 55 miles specifically for the seafood chowder. We were not disappointed. May be the best on the Oregon Coast. Add in house brewed beers and you can't beat it. They have fish, smoked fish and landlubber offerings too. Black Dynamite Stout mirrored it's name in every respect. Unlike anything I have had before. Small BrewPub atmosphere with some outside seating.
http://seasidebrewery.com/

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ForestGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    126
    51
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keizer, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you want a good beer, this is the place.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great selection of beer. Waitress seemed to be overwelmed (or in a bad mood). Had oyster shooters, came with three. Very fresh and good. Ordered the brisket...........uh oh. Was the driest brisket I have ever had. Tough time choking it down. Maybe made like that so you will wash it down with more beer? I would visit again, but would probably just stick with a simple burger.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo,
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food and Beer!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We really liked this place. I had the Reuben sandwich and it was seriously one of the best I have ever had. I am a vegetarian but decided to throw that to the wind when I read the menu. Had the Black Dynamite beer and it was excellent! The waitress was really friendly, too. I will definitely go back the next time I am in Seaside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thepookster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hair of the dog”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Positives:
The waitress Michelle was pleasant and professional.
The beer was good.
The food came out quickly.
It is family friendly.
The clam chowder was good.*

Negatives:
*There was an eyelash or hair in my clam chowder. I had a few bites of the chowder, and it was good. While I was stirring in some pepper, there was a very obvious long eyelash or hair in it. Needless to say, I did not eat anymore of the chowder. When our waitress came by I showed her and asked for the chowder to be taken off of the bill. She complied without hesitation.
They only serve two wines: a pinot gris and a pinot noir. Like a Model T: You can have it in any color as long as it is pinot. They were not listed on the menu, but hey, it's a brew pup, how expensive can they be?? My bad for not asking since they were $8.00 a glass!
My husband had the fish and chips. The batter was crisp, but the fish had an odd taste. The cole slaw had zero flavor, but that was OK because they only serve a Dixie Cup sized portion.
I had the crab melt. I know crab. The menu claimed it was fresh crab. Blasphemy!! It was canned crab, and not even the fancy lump canned crab. It was truly disgusting.
Do you remember those really cheap forks they used in your school lunchroom--the kind that bend when you look at them (not even using the Vulcan mind meld)? Apparently, Seaside Brewing Company got a deal on those forks. My fork bent while eating said disgusting crab melt. No worries, though, as the fork was pretty wavy from being bent and bent many a time.
There are lots of dining options in Seaside that may be better choices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FriendshipII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool place, great beer”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stop in here and enjoy one of the best stouts you can get, Black Dynamite. Strong and smooth with just the right amount of vanilla flavor. I went back specifically to have another before leaving town. I hope they can get this beer into bottles and near me soon.

It's in a good location, and I love the brick and natural wood of the building. The fish and chips were tasty and fresh, and service was friendly and cool. My wife and I appreciated the board games that they have available for you to pass the time while sipping on a tasty brew.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan_and_Dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaside Brewery also viewed

 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Seaside Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing