We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service.”
Review of Moody's Supper House - CLOSED

Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seaside, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This place is quite the gem. I ordered the Mac and Cheese and the Cucumber infused vodka. I'd ask for no chives on my mac and cheese in the future but it was good! The cucumber vodka was amazing! As was our server, she was short with brown hair (i'm blanking on her name). she was very friendly and was working very hard! i'd go back for sure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffhovernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
898 reviews
611 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,777 helpful votes
“Has Potential For An Excellent Rating”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Moody's Supper House has recently replaced Lil Bayou in Seaside. After reading the write up in Coast Explorer we decided to substitute this place for our regular Sun. night rib dinner at Bigfoot Steakhouse. The ambiance is a bit sterile, there is a fireplace in the main dining room but it was not lit. We wanted to try their ribs and were not disappointed. A salad is included with your entree but it was not fresh. I would suggest trying to find some better lettuces for your salad base. The dressing was excellent, Creamy Parmesan.

The star of the meal were the RIBS! Better than Bigfoot, which is high praise. Very moist with a sweet BBQ sauce and our half order was enough to share. We ordered two sides, the mashed potatoes with gravy and the creamed spinach. Both were excellent! With a little bit of tweaking, this place does have potential to be a fantastic place for a meal. Our server was very sweet and accomodating when we showed her a few of the lettuces that should have not made it out to the dining room.

We will return to Moody's and I do recommend it to those visiting Seaside looking for some great comfort food in the area. The ribs, mashed potatoes with gravy and creamed spinach were all a bit hit for us. A good value also, fifteen dollars and we shared the meal. :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank syrahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
496 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere & friendly owner”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great place to feel cozy while you enjoy a good dinner. The owner came out to see how we liked our food and was very friendly. They make a lot of things from scratch, which makes them unique and tasty. They even make homemade drink mixers. Alittle off the main road, but worth the find.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loonalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice and tasty Southern Comfort”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our choice. Four of us dined together; all ordered different items, and everyone really enjoyed their food. We liked the variety of choices presented; and are looking forward to a return visit to sample other items on the menu. The pork chop and ribs were especially nice, and the choice of 'sides' made for a more than filling and fulfilling experience. I recommend that folks give it a try. We did not have any negative experiences that others have described.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Needs to watch Reastraunt Impossible for help”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Not an awful place, just needs to scale down menu and keep with a theme.
I had the chicken fried steak and it was more breading than anything as well as over done.
Green beans were great, gravy okay and the hush puppies were very good.
I ordered a salad with blue cheese dressing which was so watery it made the lettuce limp.
My husband had a hamburger which was so over cooked it had no flavor and he could not eat it.
Our friends ordered the ribs which they said were very good so maybe they should make the place a rib house. They also had an Asian dish on the menu which we couldn't understand if all the other dishes were southern style. Not sure if we will try it again or if we do just order the ribs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastaleater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moody's Supper House also viewed

Seaside, Oregon Coast
 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing