We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Inn at the Prom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at the Prom
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Honestly, I'm not sure what the person below me was complaining about. We stayed the same weekend (Feb 17th - 19th) in room 15 (Oceanfront room on the second floor), and had a great time!

The Inn itself is in a great location, right on the Prom, within walking distance to several cool areas (the aquarium, Maggies on the Prom and such). It had a large and extremely comfortable king sized bed. There was also a gas fireplace right at the foot of the bed, with a flatscreen TV above it, which makes it a perfect set up for warming your feet and watching a movie after a walk on the beach. The full kitchen was small (ish), but was perfect for light cooking for the weekend. All the appliances and dishes looked almost brand new. The Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom had plenty of room for two people to sit in, and was a fantastic addition to the room.

You can tell in places that the inn is old (they even have pictures from the Prom around 1950 pointing the inn out), but everything has been remodeled extremely well, and you can tell a lot of love and care went in to making it what it is today.

The main Inn parking lot is a bit small, and I would recommend avoiding it altogether. There is another lot right across from the first which offers easy access to the street, and if you walk up and around the right side (closest to beach), there is a stairway leading right to the main building (ask at front desk if confused).

The staff were all extremely nice and helpful, and I would recommend this to anyone stopping by, or looking to get away for a while.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms (especially in the summer I noticed) can be a bit spendy. Ask the staff about a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    106
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
88
186
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington state
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Your visit begins with attempting to safely park your car in what serves as a lot. A very narrow strip of tarmac containing spaces for angle parking makes for tight and hazardous maneuvering when pulling in, and when departing, it's much worse! The driver must back out, reposition his car so as to then BACK DOWN the narrow strip with other parked cars literally inches from your own. The facility is old, and obviously designed for when cars were much smaller and shorter! We risked this only once before parking on the street.
The beach view rooms in the 'newer' building are long and narrow, with the front allowing exit to small, individual decks with wrought iron railing badly in need of painting, and four pitiful plastic chairs.
Our room with king bed had only one bedside reading light, and only a very small, inadquate televison.
We were surprised to hear conversation though the walls! More? Apparently, housekeeping is non-existent here. We had dirty glasses and plates we had assumed would be removed and replaced by housekeeping, however, except for replacing the soiled towels the next morning, we received no housekeeping service AT ALL.
It would appear that the Inn is being run on a shoe string budget.
But, there is an upside, and it's the location. The Inn is located on the waterfront promenade walkway, and within easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Friendly staff.
Sadly, we just can't recommend the Inn At The Prom.

Room Tip: For adult travelers who 'know the difference' just avoid it altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ridgefieldrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haystackas, Owner at Inn at the Prom, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and will discuss the housekeeping issues with the Housekeeping manager. We take great pride in our property and when you find something not right - please bring it up to our office staff and we will take care of it immediately. The parking - we have 2 parking lots, one is small for compact cars only and the other is large and very easy to pull in and out. I apologize that you were not aware of the larger parking area - should have been part of the check-in process. The patio area's - we have patio furniture, but we take them in during the winter due to the storms and high winds. Also we are in the process of removing the old paint from the ocean front railing between stays and are awaiting the weather to improve to complete the repainting process - I would agree they do not look great right now. We would love you earn you business again and please know that we will take your comments to heart and use them to improve our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The view was wonderful and the room was nice. The kitchen was small but fully loaded...coffee pot, toaster, and a full set of pots and pans including cooking utensils. The bed was a little slice of heaven!!! The staff were very helpful. One block to the main drag (Broadway)
We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 16, ocean front, 2 floor and the view was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJTNRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Two nights, /Tuesday/Wednesday February 6 & 7, from a Groupon promotion. What a lovely surprise. Stayed in room 17. They said, "ocean peek" room. It was more than that! I'm sitting at the little table looking out the window at the ocean right now! Sign in was a breeze with a lovely clerk. The place is newly updated and super clean. The little kitchen and large bathroom are really well appointed. Your are within walking distance to anything Seaside has...some great little stores. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdearmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We loved this inn. Peggy was deligthful at check in and our room was lovely. AWESOME BED! A bit too small for cooking a full meal (which we did not) but something to bear in mind. Great stove and all but no dining area to speak of (table/chairs) Again, not a big deal for us. Walking distance to everywhere and great ocean front. Spa tubs GREAT.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellbeingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at the Prom during a getaway to the coast. Everything we encountered during our stay made us never want to leave. The very first night we were there we accidentally locked our keys inside our room and had to call the after hours staff who came from their home to open our room again. Needless to say, we were certainly embarassed about the experience but despite it being at 11:00pm the staff was there within minutes as well as with a smile on their face. My first experience with the Inn at the Prom staff was a pleasant surprise despite their every reason not to be cheerful and having to show up to work after hours because I locked my keys inside. The next morning we had a knock at the door and the staff was there apologizing for the inconvenience of us locking ourselves outside. I've stayed in dozens of hotels and never have I ever had staff at any of them apologize for something that was MY fault. Because of our inconvenience though they offered to upgrade us to a King spa room to "give us a better experience" since there was an open room.
The accomodations at the Inn at the Prom were flawless, especially the Oceanfront King Spa Room. It was evident that the owners did not skimp on anything when renovating the inn. The fireplace at the base of the bed is a wonderful addition as is the flat screen TV just above it. There were also many little touches that made our stay wonderful, such as free hot chocolate and popcorn in each room. The King Spa Room is also excellent for an extended stay because of the full kitchen with a stove, microwave, and fridge.
As if everything else wasn't enough of a reason to return, the location can't be beat. Nothing makes you feel like you're on the Oregon Coast than being able to open the porch door and listen to the sound of waves crashing and smelling the breeze coming off the ocean. We had a fabulous stay at the Inn at the Prom and will be returning any time we visit the Oregon Coast.

Room Tip: Upstairs King Spa Rooms can't be beat and are an excellent value for an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieperjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport, OR
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a wonderful place. We were there this past weekend in Room 15 (2nd floor, ocean front) and it couldn't have been nicer. The room is recently remodeled and updated (as is the rest of the facility) and it's clean, comfortable, cozy and convenient to all that Seaside has to offer. The weather was fantastic which was a welcome bonus but even a winter storm would be enjoyable here. The staff was very friendly and accomodating and there isn't anything I would change about the place. One note, the upper floors are not wheel chair accessible so that's just a note for those who need to make that a consideration, in fact I would recommend checking for ground floor units for accessability also. I have been to Seaside a number of times but I think this place will be my choice for future visits.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tidewater_or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.3 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
1,372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at the Shore
Inn at the Shore
#10 of 27 in Seaside
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,383 reviews
0.3 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#11 of 27 in Seaside
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Prom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Prom

Property: Inn at the Prom
Address: 341 South Promenade, Seaside, OR 97138 (Formerly Edgewater Inn on the Prom)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#8 Family Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Prom 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at the Prom location is perfect with downtown shops and family fun-filled activities just steps away. The Seaside Prom and Pacific Ocean is right at your doorstep for romantic sunsets or midnight strolls along the beach. All rooms include presidential style, pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, fireplaces, 2-person Jacuzzi tubs, full kitchens with stainless steel appliances and much more. We are not the typical motel where you will find a room with 2 queen beds. If you're looking for the un-motel experience, you found it! We invite you to discover an oceanfront retreat that provides all the fine touches without the high prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Prom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Prom Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing