We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room with a view - not secure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sand and Sea Condominiums
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty room with a view - not secure”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were coming in late (had to work Friday). Arrived about 5:30. Found the room with crumbs and food on the island, smelly dirty dishes in the sink caked with food. A half full beer can on the counter, used linen on the beds.

Then found the sliding glass door did not lock.

Master bedroom is a shower/tub combo but ONLY the tub worked. There was no way to make it a shower because they put the wrong setup in the plumbing.

The cable service is old-school with no search ability.

Whole place needs to be updated. We stayed in 104. Fireplace was NOISY !!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharris945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandiluv, Manager at Sand and Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
I am sorry the housekeepers were still in the process of cleaning the condo when you arrived. It was my mistake for giving you the keys before they were done cleaning and that you had to see dirty dishes and the beds not made. I apologize for the inconvenience.

When you told the front desk about the door not locking the maintenance staff went up immediately and found it just had not been closed all the way. They are very heavy doors. We also explained to you how to work the new tub/shower.

The owner has just completely remodeled the whole condo including installing new granite counter in the kitchen and bathrooms.
Mary V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    9
    9
    9
See reviews for
51
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We just spent 5 days in 608 and enjoyed it greatly. We have been staying at the Sand and Sea for years now and have always had a great time. The rooms have ceiling to floor windows across the entire front of the condo giving unbelievable views of the ocean and Tillamook Head. Sand and Sea is right on the prom so there is nothing to obstruct the views. The condo is well equipped including washer and dryer. The staff at the Sand and Sea are great and will do whatever it takes to make your stay great. The only negatives we had on this trip were they were doing construction on one of the elevators so they were down to one. We know the work has to be done so again it was no big deal. It also would be nice if the owner would update the TVs. They are so cheap now and the ones in the room are ancient. And add some music channels. The reception in the room was terrible and we could not get any music stations to come in clear. All in all we can't wait to get back to Seaside and the Sand and Sea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fibercoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you want a nice comfy bed don't stay in this condo. I would guess the beds are about 15 years old. Even the egg crate toppers were so old that they are flatter than a pancake. I slept on the coach for 2 days (poor husband). The rest of the condo is not in too bad of shape. These were built in the 70's so definitely a step back in time. They have no air conditioning and circulation is poor. Need fans in the rooms. Bedroom windows face toward the outside walkways so I didn't feel safe leaving them open at night. Need window locks. I paid around$300 a night. Very disappoint ed.

Room Tip: Go on all the stes to read reviews. Some people aren't as picky about their sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bk52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The two bedroom condo my friends and I rented for a few nights was clean, well equipped and had an awesome view. I could sit and look at the ocean all day but even better was direct access to the beach. We appreciated all the HDTV's but didn't bother to turn them on, nature was way more interesting!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beths046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times. Have stayed in Seaside many times, and I believe this is the best value for a larger unit. The one-bedroom unit we were in this time (#110) had a large living room (hide-a-bed, big recliner-rocker, additional rocking chair, and more), and there was a small but adequate dining area. Full-sized kitchen with a breakfast bar, with a nice set of supplies for cooking. The personnel have always been very friendly; this time we had a small maintenance request which was fulfilled by an extremely friendly man. You can easily accommodate 3-5 people for around $170-190/night here, with a significant amount of space. I've yet to find anyplace else in Seaside that offers that. Also, the "ocean-view" rooms have plenty of view for us. On the lower floors, like ours, you need to get on the balcony to get a good view of the coast, but once you get up to about the 3rd floor, you can get a pretty good view from inside ("ocean view" rooms are on the north side of the building, while "ocean front" face the ocean). If you want more space and have 3 or more people, this is a great value. If you want to go the cheapest possible for an ocean view, there are better choices, but I like this place very much.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the ocean view, but even the first floor has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our family group of 5 stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit 518-9 for 5 nights this past week. It has a partial view of the ocean to the side, and a panoramic view of mountains and city. It was very spacious, and the kitchen had all the equipment we needed to fix meals each day. There was plenty of storage places for clothing in the bedrooms, and food in the kitchen. And the unit even had its own washer and dryer. For the price we thought it was a good deal.
There were only a couple of negatives: the mattress in the bedroom without bath was lumpy and hard (the other was quite firm). Also, one of the two elevators for the condos was totally dismantled and being rebuilt. The one elevator still working had been recently overhauled, yet was still very slow. We ended up taking the stairs most of the time, as did many other folks. There are carts to haul luggage, etc to and from the units which was helpful and saved a lot of trips up and down. Management and cleaning staff were pleasant when we needed something or had questions. We were told that once you stay at Sand and Sea you can come back off season at a two-for-one price, which is a good deal. If you're old enough, ask for a senior discount on the rates.
We liked the location on the prom, plenty of parking, and the easy walking distance to downtown with restaurants and shops. We would stay here again, but probably get a unit on a higher floor for more privacy, as the units have ceiling to floor windows in the main living area, so you feel at times like you're in a fishbowl. It was great for the light and a view, but of course people across the street in apartments and down below could see you.
Overall we really enjoyed staying at the Sand and Sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We ended up staying here after our room at the Seashore Hotel turned out to be an unclean, worn out disappointment. We arrived after hours and called the number on the door - the on duty attendant arrived within moments and was extremely helpful and very polite. We viewed a couple available units and chose one with a partial ocean view. Very well equipped and a well kept building. We were two couples sharing, so a full kitchen and 2 baths was very nice. We will definitely stay here again, and may even consider buying a unit in the building for the right price!

Room Tip: Book early to get a unit with a full-on ocean view! The building is just a few minutes walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilibob2157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.1 mi away
WorldMark by Wyndham Seaside
1.3 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#11 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand and Sea Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand and Sea Condominiums

Property: Sand and Sea Condominiums
Address: 475 South Promenade, Seaside, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand and Sea Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Seaside, OR. while staying at Sand and Sea. Getting to the beach and Seaside attractions is easy when here. After relaxing on the balcony, head out to the Promenade, a pedestrian-friendly paved path right in front of the building. Stroll north two blocks to Broadway Street where you'll find taffy shops, restaurants, and antique stores. Bring your quarters to the arcade and your appetite for pub fare at Seaside Brewing Company, then top off the day with a campfire on the beach. Within the condo complex, you will also have access to convenient elevators, an indoor heated swimming pool, and even a relaxing sauna. Dogs are welcome in most of the Condos. If you're looking for a home base for an Oregon Coast adventure, this Seaside condo is the place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sand and Sea Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing