We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, but needs updating badly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sand and Sea Condominiums
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location, but needs updating badly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Wonderful location right on the prom - oceanfront units have incredible views! Desk staff is helpful and reservations are easy. Recently had upgrade of exterior curtain wall which is nice, but creates a step at the deck which several people tripped over. Units are individually owned, so furnishings and decor vary tremendously. Our units were badly in need of a renovation. Really pretty bad for the price we paid. No A/C, which is not normally an issue, but in high season makes for very uncomfortable sleeping. Also, you had to literally beg for housekeeping, which was very minimal. Still, if your priority is location, the Sand and Sea can't be beat. If you want something a little more updated, consider some of the newer properties a bit further from the ocean.

Room Tip: If you can, ask to see photos of the actual room you are reserving. Lots of variance in the conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrips4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    9
    9
    9
See reviews for
51
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We absolutely love the Sand & Sea and especially this unit (200-1)! It is truly a home-away-from-home with a full (and fully stocked) kitchen, two bedrooms (the master bedroom has a queen bed/bathroom/televison...and the second bedroom has twin beds), a beautiful living room with leather furniture/fireplace/flat screen television, and a dining room with a table that fits eight. These owners, thankfully, allow pets. The view is outrageous (what with the floor to ceiling windows in the living room and dining room), and the patio (with a table and four chairs) is a giant plus. This unit is at the end of the floor which makes it wonderfully quiet. It is a very short walk (along the Prom) to all of the main shopping/activities/dining. The pool, although rather small, is inviting and very clean. (We only wish it was open past ten o'clock.) Check-in and check-out are a breeze and we have never had any problems with the billing, etc. The office staff (kudos to Mary) is extremely friendly/knowledgeable/accommodating and all of the owners we have come in contact with are very gracious. We have stayed here many times over the years and always look forward to coming again. Visit the Sand & Sea...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1SusiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I agree with the previous review on the 406 unit. It was in awful condition. Very disappointing. Carpet was miserable with lots of stains from pets and who knows what else. The floors were very dirty. All of the beds were uncomfortable. The sheets smelled musty. The place smelled of cigarette smoke. The unit was never cleaned by housekeeping while we stayed there (over several days). Trash wasn't even removed. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dhenneuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed 9/23-9/25. Booked about 3 weeks in advance. Called directly to check on renovations. Going on but would not affect our stay. Had a 2 bedroom ocean front unit. The renovation work was on the south side of the building. We chose the sand and sea because of location on the prom and they are pet friendly. Beside our bulldog, there were 3 adults and 3 teenage boys (one for just Saturday night). The living area and kitchen were modern and quite comfortble. You could entertain a large group. Very open and roomy. Kitchen was fully stocked. There were no drapes on the floor to ceiling windows which would have been nice, since we did have someone sleeping in the living area. It was quite light at night because they keep the Promanade lit all night. The bedrooms were okay. Beds on the firm side. One room had a queen bed and the other room had 2 twins. Had 2 bathrooms with good showers and great towel supply. Boys used the pool, said it was warm. Our unit was pet friendly and in very good shape. There were no signs that this was a pet friendly unit. They do an inspection when you check out, to make sure there is no pet damage. It was quick. We would definately go back to tha sand and sea and would be happy if we had the same unit, 200-1.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JettaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have stayed there for 7 years in a row..we were also sent an email about the cancelation 2 weeks before we arrived!!!!!...i rarely check my emails. thank god i checked them..the way it was handled, will for sure weigh heavy on us when we book our next years trip to seaside....we should have been notified long before we were told....we were stuck in a much less desirable hotel and location....all year long we look forward to our trip to this hotel...we had it booked months in advance, and thought our dream yearly trip was again happening...guess not

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank fumasgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandiluv, Manager at Sand and Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
We apologize for the short notice in which we had to cancel your reservation. Due to shipment delays of necessary construction supplies, condos were not ready by their scheduled times. We were given two weeks notice as well and contacted all our guests immediately. We did our best to locate other accommadations for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Was notified 2 weeks before our trip that our unit is under construction and will not be available. They made no effort to notify us sooner or find alternate accommodations. There are absolutely no other condo units available this close to the annual Seaside volleyball tournament, so they completely screwed us. No offer of a discount in the future, all we got was a contrite apology and our deposit back. Thanks for holding on to our money for 6 months!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter what you pick, nothing is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Snapfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandiluv, General Manager at Sand and Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
The minute the construction company notified us of the delays we immediately notified all our guests. We made our best effort to find comparable accommodations with other area hotels and condos, even securing special discounts for our displaced guests. It is our policy to take down an advance deposit on all reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritzville, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is an annual destination for my family and I. We usually rent two condos for the week and do it just out of season for the best deals. The staff here treats us like family and we continue to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 911daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.1 mi away
WorldMark by Wyndham Seaside
1.3 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand and Sea Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand and Sea Condominiums

Property: Sand and Sea Condominiums
Address: 475 South Promenade, Seaside, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand and Sea Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Seaside, OR. while staying at Sand and Sea. Getting to the beach and Seaside attractions is easy when here. After relaxing on the balcony, head out to the Promenade, a pedestrian-friendly paved path right in front of the building. Stroll north two blocks to Broadway Street where you'll find taffy shops, restaurants, and antique stores. Bring your quarters to the arcade and your appetite for pub fare at Seaside Brewing Company, then top off the day with a campfire on the beach. Within the condo complex, you will also have access to convenient elevators, an indoor heated swimming pool, and even a relaxing sauna. Dogs are welcome in most of the Condos. If you're looking for a home base for an Oregon Coast adventure, this Seaside condo is the place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand and Sea Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing