We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok.”

Maggie's on the Prom
Ranked #20 of 109 Restaurants in Seaside
Price range: $4 - $39
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Food was fine. I thought it would be better based on reviews. Decor less than expected and spartan selection of wine and spirits to have with dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cworsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    100
    46
    36
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Service?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I showed up to eat around 16:45 for happy hour. Reviews said it was excellent so we decided to give it a try. Sat there for 10 minutes and had two waitresses pass us and not great us or ask us for anything so we decided to get up and leave. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone, plus outside dining isn't spectacular by any means.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jreed29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food for grown-ups in a touristy beach town plagued with children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Maggie's in an oasis of good food beautifully prepared and plated attractively. My husband told me his cioppino was among the best he had ever ordered, and it was chock full of a generous variety of seafood. I had grilled cornish game hen which was prepared well and accompanied by tasty scalloped potatoes. We both fronted our main courses with a delicious salad. Service was friendly and efficient. This is a fantastic place to escape the noise and crowds of town and enjoy a quiet, delicious meal. The view of the sun setting over the Pacific cannot be beat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhetoricRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best patio dining by the ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch and the food was very good. Best chowder of the week in Seaside. Fish and chips were good and the fish tacos looked good and were liked by my wife as the best fish tacos. The dining outside was quiet and a good escape from downtown.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielsweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Although Maggie's has a wonderful view of the Seaside beach, the food and the service do not match the price they charge. Our French Onion Soup was a cup of broth with a hunk of bread with some melted cheese on top for $4. The waitress said it was hot because the chef melted the cheese under a broiler. It was warm at best. The vinagerette dressing on the $5 salad was thick and overly sweet. Our entrees--most are priced between $25 and $30-- were small and not well seasoned. However, the plate looked nice. The waitress was inattentive. Never asked how the meals were. Brought out items with that were not as ordered. Didn't ask if we wanted desserts. Put all of the meals on one check. The hotel reception desk is in the middle of the restaurant which made for a lot of noise going on while we dined. Not a good experience but the view is wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeaStar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's on the Prom also viewed

 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Maggie's on the Prom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing