We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully friendly and classy”
Review of The Gilbert Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gilbert Inn
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Matthew room for 3 nights last summer. The location of the Gilbert Inn could not be better being mere steps away from the walk that runs along the ocean in Seaside. The room was immaculate with luxurious amenitites and very friendly service. The breakfasts and afternoon snacks were amazing. My husband particularly enjoyed the port which was available each afternoon. We could sit in the lovely common area and read a book, watch people and savour some very nice port. Many small, but very enjoyable touches. We would go back there in a minute. One reviewer mentioned the parkade across the street - they are right and I was a little worried at first but did not personally find it a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 251 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2009

We stayed at the Gilbert Inn for 5 nights in December and it was an all-round wonderful experience. The decor is tasteful, the room was immaculately clean, the bedding was luxurious, the breakfasts were delicious, the host was gracious and helpful, and the location was central to so many activities. We enjoyed reading in front of the fire in the living room in the late afternoon when Jeanie brought out fresh-baked cookies daily. One block from the beach, and plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. I've stayed at many B&B's over the years, and the Gilbert Inn is one of the best. We look forward to going back during the summer months.

Linda & John
Vancouver, BC

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

What an incredible discovery..The Gilbert Inn! I've had the pleasure of enjoying this unique B&B twice and am about to visit again in 2 weeks. So many nice things to mention about the Inn...from the comfortable rooms to the tasty breakfasts served in a solarium style dining room - excellent service too, comfortable and quaint sitting areas on the main floor, well kept grounds, ample parking. The little things I noticed most...the sherry in the public sitting room, fresh baked cookies in the afternoon... the owners even supplied me with a couple of loaner wine glasses so that a great bottle of wine would not have to be enjoyed from dixie cups while taking in the pacific sunset! I've enjoyed various rooms..all have been very comfortable. I also like the fact they have wi-fi available..they provided me with the password upon check-in.

I have difficulty saying anything negative about The Gilbert Inn....if anything, it would be the large hotel right across the street which tends to be a bit noisy after hours. No fault of the owners of course. Location is one block away from all the shopping and eateries...one block off the beach too.

I'll be there in two weeks for another two night stay with friends..looking forward to meeting the new owner since she too is getting rave reviews!

Highly recommend The Gilbert Inn - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Craggerstien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Since so many properties in the Seaside area were smaller and not chains I decided to go and see them and decide where to stay. As a woman traveling alone some were not appealing. A local resident suggested that I try this B &B and it was a wonderful experience.

I have never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast and the hostess was charming, brandy in front of the fireplace in the parlor was wonderful. The chance to connect with other travelers was also unique.

The rooms were clean and lovely, with modern bathrooms and some nice perks like fluffy robes. DVD players and flat screen TV were subtle enough to fit in with this charming 'cottage' type atmosphere. The gardens and the breakfast area were Old English Elegance.

Only a short block off the boardwalk on the beach and 1 block off Broadway where the shops are.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dmcarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

I honestly can't think of a better word than "lovely" to describe my visit. The Matthew room with attached full bath was very quiet and comfortable (best sleep ever!), the breakfasts and afternoon snacks were delicious, and I enjoyed meeting the fellow guests from all over in the common areas.

The beach and downtown Seaside's charming stores and restaurants are a block away, and the B&B has ample parking just next to the side entrance.

The Gilbert Inn is being run by a new owner (Jeannie) and she is really friendly and eager for her guests to enjoy their stay in Seaside. The Gilbert Inn is...LOVELY!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heric670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We stay one day at this BB and were treated with good service. He had a room on the tird floor with window facing the beach. The room and bead were both clean and comfortable. We arrive and were pleasant greeted by th owner. He advised us that he serve wine at 4:00 o'clock that after and that breakfast was started at 7-9 a.m. The next morning our breakfast was serve in a patio style room facing a garden. Gilbert and wife severe a excellent breakfast and do it with good food. I would recommend this accomodation for 1-2 nights but not for longer stays. It is a unquie experence.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

The inn was charming and very clean. The inn keepers are very plesant and accomodating. We stayed here four nights and the breakfast was consistently excellent. The main problem with the room we stayed in (Matthew) was that it was directly across the street from a multi level public parking garage. Every time a car would come in or out you would hear beeping noises which made it difficult to sleep at times. I am suprised that no one else has mentioned this fact in their review.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hummingbird00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.3 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 27 in Seaside
1,408 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#6 of 27 in Seaside
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilbert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilbert Inn

Address: 341 Beach Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-5707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range: $90 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gilbert Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Gilbert Inn Bed & Breakfast is a couples retreat nestled steps from the oceanfront and downtown activities. Offering eleven cozy guest rooms with private baths each decorated with unique period furnishings that provide the perfect blend of comfort and elegance. Couples can relax and cuddle up around the outdoor fire pit. Escape each morning to the Sun-room filled with natural light as you enjoy our homemade breakfast. To preserve a place for couples to retreat, guests must be 18 years or older to stay. Come experience a Bed & Breakfast like no other offered on the Oregon Coast. We invite you to discover our little spot of paradise on the Oregon Coast. We are not the typical motel where you will find a room with 2 queen beds. If you're looking for the un-motel experience, you found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gilbert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gilbert Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing