We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a dirty abomination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a dirty abomination”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

dirtiest place on earth. my shower had hair and it and used soaps. i walked down to front desk to let them know. she asked me if i called the front desk to notify. umm. isnt that what im doing??
my room was right by the internet server closet, which was open come in and take what you want! not secure. 3-4 fans blowing hot air out. super noisy. i asked to switch rooms. they put me down the hall on the 3rd floor again. the window was open and didnt have a screen! doesnt that violate safety code?! there were used razor cartridges under the sink. my toilet did not flush!
pool is moldy and dirty! i cant tell if its dirt or rust. but its brown and gross. i notified HR already. this hotel needs to be inspected ASAP.
PLEASE I ADVISE YOU TO CHOOSE ANOTHER HOTEL THIS ONE IS SO DIRTY AND GROSS!
i dont even wanna think about the bed sheets....

Room Tip: Do not stay in this dirt hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Anna L.,

I know that we had spoken briefly during your stay as well as after your stay and I understood that we had addressed your concerns and resolved them. As we discussed, we take your comments very seriously and have taken appropriate action to address them so that others will not encounter the same concerns. Please note: Our pool is not “rusty” or “dirty” as mentioned it is just a pale green color that some do not find appealing and will be resurfaced soon. Also, it is not a safety violation to have a room without a screen but we do have several that have been damaged recently and are working to replace them as quickly as possible. Again, thank you for your time!

Sincerely,

Andrew Oberembt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    40
    30
    19
See reviews for
61
49
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

this place was terrible old smells bed bugs i would not recommend this hotel at all we booked a Globus trip and they booked us in this room I would have left but everything was sold out and we had been driving all day thank goodness we were only there for one night! it was so bad we got up and left at the crack of dawn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Tony,

We work so hard to provide our guests with clean, comfortable rooms and I am so sorry you did not feel that was what you received. While we do take all comments seriously are appreciate when our guests let us know when we do well …and not so well, I am confused and disappointed at your comments as we have never experienced the type of issue you mentioned. I would be grateful if you could take a moment and call our hotel so I can discuss this with you.

Sincerely,

Andrew Oberembt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Coming from Alaska, I had to use travel reviews to decide where to stay - Astoria, Seaside or Cannon Beach.

What I didn't learn from the reviews I read was that Astoria is the historic charmer, with no beaches per se, but with magnificent views, great food and shopping, and plenty of lodging. Seaside is the popular crowd pleaser with high rises right on the beach, auto oriented, and could be anywhere USA. Cannon Beach clearly enforces design standards, with low rise development, narrow walkable streets, a lovely beach and a large state park to the north. But wow, the lodging prices are high.

Astoria's web presence doesn't communicate what fun it is to hang out there, and how close the beautiful Ft Stevens State Park (and beach) is to the city.

Plus, all three communities are easily drivable in a day.

All said, I made a mistake by trying to book Shilo Inn Seaside Oceanfront because it was more affordable. Since it was full, I was booked into the Shilo Inn Seaside East - really 'riverfront.' In a nutshell, we seriously overpaid for a standard to substandard room ie smoking odors in a non smoking room.

Be kind to yourself and book into Astoria when it's hard to find a room in Seaside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Diane R,

We appreciate and value your comments in regards to your recent stay. We are a non-smoking hotel and do our best to insure that guests do not smoke in them. Occasionally a guest will and we do thoroughly clean these rooms to insure that our future, valued guests will not be affected. I am so sorry that you had any issues during your stay and I hoped you notified the front desk while you were here as we would have happy to move you to a different room.

Sincerely,

Andrew Oberembt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The room we got was tucked back near the maintenance closet so there was constant racket. Our door was broken and didn't even fully shut, much less lock. The room was tiny and not very clean. The shower curtain was molding. Save yourself some trouble and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmwoosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear cmwoosley,

I am so sorry that your stay was so disappointing! It is important to us to insure that every guest’s stay is enjoyable and we take your concerns very seriously. Please know that if you have these kinds of concern during your stay please let us know as we would have willingly and immediately resolved them for you. I have shared what you have spoken about with my staff and we are taking appropriate action to resolve them. Also, we do want you to come back and see that we have addressed these issues…please feel free to give me a call with any questions.

Sincerely,

Andrew Oberembt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very disappointing property. It is across the street from a closed market, everything felt seedy. First 10 minutes in room and the toilet overflowed! Was moved to a different room but overall run down condition. Only reason we didn't look for another hotel was that it was 4th of July weekend and everything was sold out. Hotel not really close to anything, had to drive everywhere. Staff was accommodating but not exceptional in any way. Comp breakfast was a joke.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Marlynn P,

I am so sorry your stay was less than perfect! We did work hard to take care of the issues you mentioned immediately and I apologize if we did not do so. I have shared your concerns with our staff so that we can do better in the future as providing our guests with “affordable excellence” is so important to us. Please know that we are located within walking distance to many fine restaurants and our wonderful downtown area and we offer a shuttle for our guest if you would prefer not to walk or drive. Also, the market across the street is actually being renovated into a NAPA Auto Parts store that should be open very soon.

Sincerely,

Andrew Oberembt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

It's within walking distance to the beach, shops and grocery store. Enjoyed 2 nights and still was much cheaper than 1 night's cost at an ocean front place. We spent several hours on the beach plus an evening fire so we got our fix of sand and salt water. The room was just what we needed with a frig, microwave, couch and large tv. 24 Hour pool is a huge plus and the free breakfast had plenty of choices. The staff was superior and very friendly. It's not a 5 star resort but it was exactly what we wanted for the weekend. You don't need to break the bank to enjoy life.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthwestCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear NorwestCoaster,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing with us! We work hard to insure our guests receive “affordable excellence” and we are excited to know that is what you received! As you stated, we are close to the “action” but our location gives us the added bonus of being a bit quieter when you want to take a moment and relax. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Andrew Oberembt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stopped at the Shilo Inn to try and get a room, all booked up as was everyone. They said the old Shilo down a few blocks had just had a cancellation. They dialed the number and connected us to get the room. Our experience in Seaside, OR turned out OK. Price was reasonable considering in town lodging is not.

Room Tip: Noises and thin walls, but for the price in Seaside on Memorial weekend, GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontesanoJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear MontesanoJim,

I am glad you were able to find a room on such short notice! It was our pleasure to help turn a less than pleasant experience into a memorable one. We enjoyed having you as our guests and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Andrew Oberembt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tides By The Sea
Tides By The Sea
#22 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#11 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East
Address: 900 S Holladay Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-6611
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilo Inn Suites - Seaside features 59 guest rooms and mini-suites. The property is only one mile from the Pacific Ocean and the Shilo Inn Suites Oceanfront Hotel & Restaurant on Holladay Street just blocks from the Seaside Convention Center, shopping and local attractions. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East Hotel Seaside
Shilo Inn Seaside
Seaside Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing