We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

TLDR; Stay in any other hotel in Seaside before you stay in this one.

On August 30, 2013, myself and my fiance left Coos Bay, OR, and drove five and a half hours to stay in Seaside, OR. Upon arrival, I was impressed with the layout and the lobby. When it was our time to check in, the clerk told us that there was an error with our reservation. He informed us that the card we used, which was a prepaid Visa, was unable to preauthorize the amount. While I was booking the reservation, the operator neglected to inform me that the card would be preauthorized for the full amount, or even any amount. This lead to our card being declined at the counter. My fiance and I tried to come up with a few solutions, but repeatedly we were told that nothing could be done. I even suggested a cash deposit of $500, along with photocopies of my Canadian passport and drivers license. Even this wouldn't suffice. We were told that we couldn't have a room, and were turned away. Due to the Labour Day long weekend in Seaside, there were no hotel rooms left in the city. This caused my surprise engagement vacation to come to an early end as Seaside was our last stop.

This situation was completely unacceptable, unprofessional, and inhospitable, and could have easily been avoided were it not for this hotels inappropriate requirements. Every other hotel I have stayed at has allowed some form of cash and identification deposit. There is no reason why real money could not be accepted. Even offering more than twice the cost of the room as a deposit and having it rejected is outrageous.

Having never stayed at a Comfort Inn before, I can safely say that I won't try to in the future, nor would I recommend them to a friend. The name says Comfort, and the hotel deals in hospitality. At the end of the day, I received neither.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn_Boardwalk, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

I would like to thank you for your comment. It is policy that all guests have a valid credit card upon check in. Unfortunately we do not take cash deposits due to we would have to deposit the money into the bank and then we would have to do a refund check on the deposit and this would take up to 4 to 6 weeks to be able to return the funds to you. Again thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 512 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed there last Sunday and was very pleased. We moved from a awful place across the street. Spend the extra few $ its worth it. Room was clean, view from room was nice and the breakfast was great. Staff were friendly. Hotel has free wifi and parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wofatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn_Boardwalk, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for you kind words about the staff and hotel. I am glad to hear that you were very pleased with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Clean attractive property close to the beach and the shops on the west end of town. Easy walking distance to most of the local restaurants, easy to pop out to shop, back to rest, out for dinner. Clean rooms, our fronted on a little inlet. They seemed to have adequate parking. The pool and hot tub were small but there weren't a lot of people using it, since the weather was nice. Sauna [dry], took a bit of time to heat up, so if you want to use it, turn it on, and then swim/hot tub, or even better, because although the air was hot, the wood was still cold when we tried that. I'd turn it on, and come back in an hour or so.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 82nd_Airborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn_Boardwalk, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We are in a great location to everything down town. You can just park your car and walk to everything. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked in here with a group travelling from Canada. We were paying $165 or better per night so for that kind of money you hope to get something for it. Not the case here.

We were booked on the second floor. The first thing we noticed was the dirty, worn out carpet on the stairs and in the hallway. We worried that the rooms would be the same. Thankfully the room itself wasn't too bad, not worth $165 though. The pillows were the equivalent of a newspaper in a pillow case. Just terrible and it seems to be the norm for the Comfort Inn. Please go to Costco and buy some pillows, they don't cost that much.

Next morning we needed to leave on time to make the ferry. To our dismay the breakfast area didn't open until 7:00AM. Most other hotels are 6:00 AM. Alright we could make that work so we started arriving at 7AM only to find that things were still being set up. No batter for waffles, no bread, etc. Then I heard the fellow responsible for the area mutter that we should be coming in shifts however, all the chairs weren't even filled. How about you start a little earlier fella so the stuff is ready!!??

All in all it wasn't the greatest stay. I liked the location and the setting but that's about it. Will be staying elsewhere the next time we visit Seaside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingNutt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn_Boardwalk, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Priceline booked me in the wrong room!!! I needed two beds and they booked one king! I am very great full Christine the general manager was working because she fixed the problem right away!!! The room was great and the breakfast was awesome!!!! The kids loved the pool

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn_Boardwalk, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that I was able to correct the mistake that Priceline had made. We hope that you will come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

East coast travelers should not be confused by the term "Boardwalk" Boardwalk is the name of the street and it runs Perpendicular to the beach. You are most of a mile from the water. Hotel is standard but in good shape, Nice staff though a few are a little bit new and confused. Breakfast was good but refills were erratic. WIFI was fine

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emeritus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn_Boardwalk, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is nice to hear that the WIFI worked just fine for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Previous night stayed in a 1star motel abit south of here, decided cleanliness + a comfy bed more important than getting an affordable rate. Chose CI+S...room was just the right size, clean, good light, but, the bed was hard as a rock. We're talking Comfort Inn at $179+tax a night and they don't have comfortable beds?!?! Before I stay in this chain again I'll be sure to checkout the beds before I hand over the money. Oh BTW for $179+tax a night I think breakfast should be way better than breakfast at Super8!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank siid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn_Boardwalk, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Please accept my sincere apology.

I am sorry to hear that the bed you had in your room was hard. I am glad however to hear that the room was the right size, clean, and that there was enough light. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously.
Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
0.2 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 27 in Seaside
1,418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,500 reviews
0.0 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
1,003 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 27 in Seaside
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk

Address: 545 Broadway St, Seaside, OR 97138-5824
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range: $78 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Comfort Inn & Suites, located in Seaside, Oregon, is close to the Pacific Ocean, and is conveniently near the boardwalk. This hotel is perfect for both leisure and business travelers and is close to a number of popular destinations and tourist attractions. Head to the Seaside Carousel Mall or the Seaside Antique Mall for a day of shopping. Spend the day outdoors, soaking up the sun and playing in the ocean at Sunset Beach. Nature lovers will also enjoy a day at Necanicum River. The Seaside Convention & Civic Center is another frequented spot and is near the The Seaside Comfort Inn & Suites. As a guest at this non-smoking hotel, you will enjoy many wonderful amenities. You will have access to free WiFi, receive a free weekday newspaper, and get free coffee. A complimentary breakfast is also included with your stay. Start your day off right with waffles, eggs, meat, yogurt, and fresh fruit, to name a few of the delicious options. You will also have access to the pool, whirlpool, and sauna, which is open 24-hours a day. Each guest room is equipped with special features to make your stay more comfortable. These include a refrigerator, a coffee maker, a microwave, a hairdryer, and an iron and ironing board. Some of the guest rooms even have balconies with a view of the river, for a more luxurious stay. If you are looking for a hotel in Seaside, Oregon with friendly staff and comfortable accommodations at a great price, book your room at the Comfort Inn & Suites today!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Boardwalk Hotel Seaside
Comfort Inn Seaside
Seaside Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing