We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Country Warmth and Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scappoose Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scappoose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scappoose Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Scappoose B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Country Warmth and Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

We have been staying at the Inn - when it was the Barnstormer and now that it has changed and is the Scappoose Creek Inn. We go every year sometimes twice within the year since 2002. And each time we go - it is a different and more special experience. Our first visit there - there was only the one facility and we had a gorgeous, private room on the ground floor. And the inn keepers were a young couple - she was the chef. Wonderful!! Then as the years progressed - each year we went was a fun surprise. Another building was brought in from a farm up the road and refurbished into another set of rooms each as unique and different as the ones in the original house. And then another couple of inn keepers bought the B&B and renamed it the Scappoose Creek Inn and added a very special touch to an already wonderful place. They make it more homey and warm and inviting. Each time we go there now is another new experience. This last weekend Oct. 11, 2008, we went to celebrate a birthday and again were surprised with a wonderful Sunday morning breakfast!!! If you want the best and want to experience the serene, calm, peace-filled atmosphere of the countryside and be greeted with warmth and welcome home - then this is the place to go spend anything special or just to get away to the country. You will not be disappointed!!! Sheri Hoffman - Portland Oregon 10/13/08

  • Liked — Country comfort - clean and homey
  • Disliked — There is no least about any of this wonderful space
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheriH8142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

We had the pleasure of staying at Scappoose Creek Inn as well as holding an event in the converted dairy barn. We reserved several rooms in the houses as well as the Carriage House. The rooms were all clean, well maintained and nicely decorated. Everyone in our party was pleased with their accommodations. Due to our own events going on we never had the opportunity to sample the continental breakfast.

The grounds of this lovely inn are beautiful featuring a waterfall, colorful chickens and friendly lamas to feed. You’ll find multiple outdoor seating areas sprinkled around the property. The automobile and farming memorabilia scattered throughout the property is charming, and gives you a sense of what this place was like during its farming life.

The owners of the inn are extremely nice and were very helpful from the time we booked our event and rooms, until the time we checked out. You couldn’t ask for better service. I would highly recommend this facility – it’s lovely and the value was outstanding.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of Innkeepers and great atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Didn't have a dislike.
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IKnowTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

The location seems a little odd, but it is quiet and serene. The owners are helpful especially the hostess/wife.

The restaurant is outstanding - authentic Hawaiian food which is perfect. I know since I lived in Hawaii several years. Loved the restaurant. The previous old bistro was horrible with undercooked food and terrible service. So this was a great change!

Stayed here on several occasions - last time it was too cold in the rooms and the continental breakfast was just some crummy apples. But I will stay here again - just bring a small heater in mid-winter for your room which is probably not allowed. And don't expect breakfast.

This is the only game in town and the rooms are clean/unique and the restaurant is great.

  • Liked — Clean/Unique Rooms - Great Hawaiian Restaurant
  • Disliked — Not Really a
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2007

This is a very unique place.
First of all don't be fooled by their website: The cafe/bistro has been replaced with a Hawaiian restaurant. That was a bit of a disappointment.
Located on a 2-acre oasis between the airport, a surprisingly quiet concrete recycling yard, and a mini-storage facility, the Scappoose Creek Inn has a large lawn and garden complete with chickens, llamas, and two random pugs. It's on a little rise and affords a pretty sweeping view to the east of the lower Columbia Valley.
We stayed in the Wright Room, a very large room facing toward the airport. If you're in to this sort of thing, you can watch planes take off from here. Although it didn't bother us, some people might shy away from the Wright Room and the Wrong Room because it is directly over the Hawaiian restaurant, and the bass on their sound system can be heard from about 9am to 9pm. The Wright Room had carpet that has seen better days, but it also had my 3rd or 4th favorite bathroom of all time: Clawfoot tub, antique brass fixtures, and a shower that you won't want to get out of. It has a very comfortable king bed, nice antique furniture, and a small TV that we didn't turn on.
The owner was totally unassuming and extremely friendly. The breakfast is self-serve continental style.
This is a neat spot and a perfect headquarters for exploring this area of Oregon.

  • Liked — Large Room, Unique Experience
  • Disliked — Carpet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank oregone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scappoose
Inn at Northrup Station
#5 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Oak Meadows Inn
#1 of 2 in Saint Helens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scappoose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scappoose Creek Inn

Property: Scappoose Creek Inn
Address: 53758 W Lane Rd, Scappoose, OR 97056 (Formerly The Barnstormer Inn)
Location: United States > Oregon > Scappoose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scappoose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing