We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hamburgers and Shakes in the Northwest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calamity Jane's Hamburger Restaurant

Calamity Jane's Hamburger Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Sandy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boring, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Hamburgers and Shakes in the Northwest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Those looking for a real theme style experience with their burger will truly enjoy Calamity Jane's. This restaurant is on the outskirts of Sandy and is easy to pass by if your not looking for it.

Calamity Jane's has a western feel and offers a full menu of burger delights of any fashion and size. A burger bar is available to top off your burger as well.Patrons will enjoy browsing through the extensive menu for the ultimate meal.I have to say, I think they also have the best milkshakes too.Once again ,there is a vast variety of flavor's to choose from.Besides burgers and fries, they have many wonderful sandwiches and other meal options.My favorites include the halibut fish and chips and the chicken nachos.All meals come in large portions so you won't leave hungry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flyingblonde66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    47
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
163 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Rustic decor, good burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The decor is rustic western saloon from the outside and from the inside as well. The atmosphere is fun as is the menu. The "Inflation Burger" for $987 for "absolutely nothing" is just one of the hidden Easter-eggs of humor on the menu.

We had 7 in our group and were seated right away. The service was very good and attentive. The burgers were all cooked correctly and very good. I had the Tex Red which was very good. The smallest burger is 1/3 lb (before cooking of course) and generously sized. The fries were hot. There is a "Burger Bar" for extra condiments and dressings. Our friends stated they had eaten here some time ago and they ran out of fries - they had plenty if fries this time.

The decor had tons of dollar bills stapled to the roof. When asked about what was up with the dollars, the response was the owners did it and it just took. You can add a dollar bill if you like but you put it in a box and it gets stapled at a later date. It would be cool to see where they put it for return trips.

Overall, very good food and service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CougRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited with three small children. Service was fast and friendly . Children enjoyed all the things to look at. Hamburgers were good and price reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barshinger5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Such a Calamity!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This was a fun place to stop for a great burger, fun experience and something a little offbeat but NOT ANYMORE! Sadly this was my second and final bad visit to this restaurant. The restaurant felt dirty and claustrophobic, the service was horrendous and the food was bad and WAY overpriced!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estacada, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful experience - Quality and mgmt”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife and I tried the rest in mid June and wife's burger had mushrooms that were inedible and tasted awful. tried to get someone in kitchen or a mgr to respond and even sent a sample via waitress. No one ever responded!! we finally just left as wife was not feeling well. Waitress was just great but swamped with customers and looked like shad little help. Rooms were either not washed or so old they were just bad. I cook so I do know what I am talking about and it wasn't burn't garlic as they were sauteed! Pass this place up!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bjl61942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calamity Jane's Hamburger Restaurant also viewed

 
Sandy, Clackamas County
Sandy, Clackamas County
 

Been to Calamity Jane's Hamburger Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing