We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Location - Well Kept Secret”
Review of Knights Inn Salem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Salem
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Travelodge has the best location in Salem - close to Willamette, the Capitol, Word of Mouth - one of the best for breakfast or lunch, downtown Salem and close to I-5. The staff is friendly, very honest and the rooms clean. With parking a problem around the Capitol - you can leave your car and walk. They serve an ample breakfast - yogurt, rolls, oatmeal and great coffee. Unlike some motels - you always get travel size soap, shampoo, etc. The people staying are very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsterup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 148 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank AlessandraJohann
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I posted a review at the Travelodge site just below here. The chain cherry-picked my comments so I am adding some additional information here.

Check your bill to make sure that the confirmed rate + tax equals the charge slip. No itemized receipt will be given and they overcharged a minor but annoying amount..

Check your room before leaving - maybe even demand a review before leaving - they dinged us six-dollars for an ice-bucket my wife put in a drawer to free up some space on the limited amount of flat area in the hotel.

The bed was the worst on this trip - creaky, soft, and made me paranoid about insects.

Most of all, beware of the smoking chatting monthly residents who congregate outside of each other's rooms. Understand they are trying to get their lives together with the help of social services, but it has no place in a tourist motel.

Room Tip: Make sure you hike to the second floor to avoid the chatty monthly residents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the rate and proximity to my meeting. When I checked in the desk clerk checked my in with little interest or friendliness. She ran my credit card and handed me a receipt. I thought she charged me more than the quoted rate and asked for an invoice. She claimed I would get one in the morning when I checked out.
When I checked out in the morning I pointed out the discrepancy and she stated something about people tipping $10 and was completely rude and put out that I asked to be charged what I was quoted. If you are looking for the even the slightest level of hospitality or customer service this place is not for you. If you are looking for a place close to downtown that is affordable and the staff is rude to you then this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeU230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Travelodge Salem was pretty lame. Pool was out of service... in August. Plumbing was terrible. Advertised continental breakfast... did not exist. Coffee was good. The beds were painful the rooms while tidy had a grimy feel. The handles were even missing from the deal drawers.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelinghollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salem
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Black Bear
Days Inn Black Bear
#13 of 24 in Salem
551 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Salem

Address: 1555 State St, 17th & State Street, Salem, OR 97301-4255 (Formerly Travelodge Salem Capitol)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Salem
Travel Lodge Salem
Salem Travelodge
Salem Travel Lodge
Knights Inn Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing