We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what makes this a three star?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I got a good deal on priceline so I wasn't expecting much, but this was the highest rated hotel I could book in Salem.

The room is fine for a single person staying one night, but think it would be tight for two people.

Extremely outdated television and the picture quality is horrible. Wi-Fi signal is good. Heating/Air unit is noisy. Bed seems comfortable. You can hear some people as they walk down the hall outside the room door.

Just before going to bed a giant moth flew into my room from who knows where! Beating it with a towel was not enough to put it out of it's misery, so I picked it up by the towel and tossed it out in the hall. I was at a loss with what to do with something that size.

I would avoid booking here in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChateauCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very sorry for the issues you experienced. It is definately curious how a moth had made it inside the room, as we are not an external type lodging. I have mentioned these concerns to management and we are working to resolve them. Your comments are vital in our goal of complete guest satisfaction. I hope that you will come back and see how we improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

846 - 852 of 958 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Salem Red Lion is a comfortable and clean hotel with many nice amenities. I especially liked the fitness room and indoor pool--a plus on a cool Spring day. The rooms were a little cramped but the bed was very comfortable and the bathrooms are very nice indeed with the toilet separate from the sinks and tub. I worked several hours at the desk in the room and accomplished more than I had hoped due to the comfortable surroundings and the quiet atmosphere as well as they serviceable (and FREE!) wifi. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! The front desk staff were also exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: There was a fridge in my room--very helpful when traveling with kids. The Newport Seafood Grill next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllenMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind praise. It is our goal to make every stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. I am delighted that you had a first rate experience here. Please come back and give us the opportunity to impress you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My first impression was not good. I walked into my room and spotted the cheap curtain hanging on an ugly rod to cover the closet and it just kinda set the mood as cheesy. I actually left and ran some errands and seriously considered skipping out and going to a newer hotel. I did come back and ended up staying 3 days and was satisfied. I just think they could do such an easy update to make the room look more modern.
I slept very well which is a rarity. The bed was comfortable, if your a pillow snob you MUST bring your own pillow, theirs are very small and thin.
The towels were in great condition.
My only real complaint would be the room service, while the staff was Wonderful and friendly and very fast, I ordered a steak and got...a steak and a bowl of green beans at the hefty charge of $40....no starch, no bread, no salad...just a hunk o meat and a bowl of green beans????? (the steak was good, but not $40 good)
Overall I was pleased because the staff were so friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was Great and the Willamette Valley Grill was a great place to eat.
I was there for a conference, about 140 attendee's, they handled us well and the snacks and lunch and water service was top notch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing us to host your event. I am overjoyed that our banquet staff exceeded your every expectation. I would like to apologize for failing you in the areas of room décor and service. I have passed on these concerns to the restaurant manager and the housekeeping manager, and we are working to improve. I hope that you will return soon and see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

For the last few yearswhen we have come down to salem we have always stayed at my mother in laws house. She recently moved and now we are on the search for a good hotel to stay in a few times a year when we come down to visit. We decided to first try the Red Lion as the location is great and we have stayed at several Red Lion properties before and always been happy.

The first impression was great, Check in was easy and the staff friendly. Overall, ths hotel is extremely out of date. It's dark and dingy. There is a horriblely ugly wallpaper everywhere, in the halls and in the rooms as well, combine that with an old dark, dirty carpet and the environment is not inviting at all. The bed was pretty comfortable, but the pillows were about half the size of a normal pillow. Despite the bed being comfortable, neither my wife or I slept that great because of the pillows.
We tried to use the excercise equipment but it was so cheap it felt as if it was going to fall apart on us so we passed.
Overall, there was nothing special about this hotel and had I paid full price for a room I would have been dissapointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thenrichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback on where we need to improve. We take the comments of our guests very seriously. I have spoken with management and passed on these concerns, and I assure you they will take action to remedy this. Please accept my sincere apology for these issues. I hope that you will not let this deter you from giving us another chance in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've been staying at the Red Lion on Market street off and on for about two months while working in Salem. However I'll be staying somewhere else for all my work travel in the future because of the worn out exercise equipment at this hotel. Despite being assured twice (two seperate trips) by staff that " we're supposed to be getting new equipment soon" the treadmill still is in horrible shape. It has an ear piercing SCREAM that will drive anyone in the room crazy. I dont know if it's a bad bearing or what but it needs replaced. I even filled out a comment card noting my complaint about the treadmill to no avail. I thought after two different staff assured me that I'm not the only one complaining that something would be done by now. If you have any plans to use exercise equipment I would highly recommend you stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: I have stayed here quite a bit for work in Salem over the past several months. However, every stay e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard25714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Let me extend my sincerest apology for the issues you faced. I assure you that we take each and every comment and review very seriously. I cannot explain why the comment card you mentioned did not make its way to my desk, and cannot offer any excuse. We have made some improvements to the fitness center, however it is still very modest and simple. I have passed on these concerns to the maintenance department and we are looking into resolving them. Please allow me to extend an invitation to you to contact me directly on how we can make it up to you on your next stay with us. I would love the opportunity to change your mind about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the last year. Staff is very friendly, rooms are nice albeit small and the food at the grill is excellent. Room service is fast. Breakfast at the grill was very fast, good value and great food!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We greatly appreciate you kind words. Your praise helps to motivate and encourage us to continue to excell in every way. We hope that we will continue to impress you on all future stays as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This motel is the best in Salem. It has fast internet and a good lounge. The beds are very comfortable and plush. The tv's are flatscreen. Plus it has a shuttle that takes you around town where you please. The pool goes to 8 feet. If you are ever visiting Salem this is the place to be. It should be voted the best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samuel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

First off, let me thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs. We take pride in everything we do, and it is our mission to make each and every stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. I am delighted that we did not dissappoint. Please come back and stay with us again, and give us the opportunity to impress you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
4.6 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salem

Address: 3301 Market St NE, Salem, OR 97303
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $87 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Salem Oregon the capital city of Oregon. The Red Lion Hotel Salem is located on Market Street, just off I-5 and minutes from downtown, the State Capitol, Salem Center, the Oregon State Fair Grounds, Woodburn Outlet Mall and Oregon Gardens. We are in close proximity to the The HOOP (5.1 miles), Garmin (4.1 miles), Sanyo (5.85 miles), Salem Hospital (5.22 miles), T-Mobile (6.89 miles) and Home Depot Distribution Center (5.45 miles).Our 148 spacious guest rooms and six executive suites are newly renovated and Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers and hairdryers. All guestrooms include microwaves and refrigerators as well. We offer room service and valet laundry services. For fun and relaxation, swim in our indoor pool or work out in our fitness center, which also includes a dry sauna. You'll enjoy the flavors of the great northwest at Willamette Valley Grill Restaurant and 3301 Ultra Lounge, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With 10,000 square feet of meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Salem is also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion.Parents, students and alumni will find us conveniently close to all of the area's universities and colleges. Willamette University is just 3 miles west of the hotel and Chemeketa Community College 4 miles north. Two other universities that are nearby are Corban College, just 8 miles South, and Western Oregon University 15 miles West. The only HUT Portland Airport shuttle location in Salem. For care, comfort and value, visit the Red Lion Hotel Salem where our staff is always ready to respond to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Red Lion
Red Lion Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing