We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service in Salem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best service in Salem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The check-in is fast, and they always ask if I would like any particular floor or view. The entire staff make you feel very comfortable. Best breakfast of all the hotels I stay in. I spend at least 60 nights a year at hotels, for work. I always look forward to my stay at the Salem Red Lion. The location is only one block from the I-5 off ramp.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Red Lion Hotel. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We strive to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, and I am very glad to see that you had a first rate stay with us. Your comments and encouragement help us to continue to improve in this goal. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    224
    190
    104
    72
See reviews for
249
158
69
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

we were looking for a relaxing night away from the kids thought this would be the place paid 165 for a one bed room with a balcony on the back of the building.. they put us in one right over the front lobby i was not happy to begin with but went on saying its ok atliest were still getting a brake from the kids. but the longer we stayed the more the smell came in from the hallway. it was very thick and made it hard to breath so we left an thought wed just come back to sleep then have coffee in the morning and be out of their.Came back late probly 2 or 3 in the morning tried to get some sleep DID get to sleep then woke up at 8 in the morning to the cleaning ladies in the next room giggling talking about poop and other rediculiously immature things being very rude and loud. also running vaccumes and such listened to them for over an hour before got tired of it and was just pissed. decided to pack everything up an make some coffee. Gotta have my morning coffee but the coffee pot was very dirty and covered in grime(mold) inside So we decided to look around the room a little an see how dirty things really were.. all the paper coasters under the cups were nasty dirty with old coffee rings and food drips the coffee and water cups were also dirty with brown stuff all over them. we pulled up the sheets to the bed and their was pee stains all over the matress dont know if was from human or animal cause they allow pets GROSS!! ive stayed in several hotels from washington through oregon and california over the last 10 years and i dont think ive ever been this dissatified!! we will never return!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Red Lion Hotel Salem for your night away from the kids. As a family man, myself, I know just how much time and effort goes into planning some relaxing time away from daily responsabilities. I am deeply sorry that it did not go as planned. I assure you that this is not how we normally operate. I am researching your stay with us and have discussed these issues with the housekeeping manager and general manager. I would like to invite you to contact me directly to discus how we can make it up to you. I look forward to hearing from you annd the opportunity to make it right!

Riz Abid
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salem hotels

Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on business. It's definitely an older hotel, which is evident by the uninspiring lobby area. But the rooms are nice. Small but nice. I would say the room I was in was no bigger than 10X12 with the bathroom separate. Appointments are fashionable and clean, nice flat screen TV, comfortable bed (queen?). Just enough room to walk around the bed. Still, if you aren't spending a lot of time in the room, what does it matter.
Be prepared for the first time you flush the toilet. It must be powered by jet engine.
Here's what I didn't like....being next to the room with the ice machine, which you could hear the water running constantly. The hotel is all non-smoking. Great! But people still smoke outside, which is fine, but please invest in a couple of receptacles so they don't have to litter the front of the hotel with cigarette butts. Or at least clean it up on a regular basis. It only takes a few for the place to start looking trashy.
All in all, I would stay again. But I would also research and compare other similarly priced hotels before I committed.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you a room next to the ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rh09rt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We greatly appreciate your taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time here at Red Lion Salem. I must apologize about the noise from the ice machine. I have mentioned this to the Maintenance Supervisor and we are working to make it quieter. We have receptacles for cigarette butts in the designated smoking areas outside the building, however, unfortunately many choose to ignore them. This is why our staff cleans these public areas at regularly scheduled intervals throughout the day. I have spoken with our Housekeeping Manager as well on how we can patrol this even more efficiently. We are working to improve in many ways, and the honest input from guests such as yourself is very helpful. I hope that we will get to serve you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPARWOOD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

James in the hotel lounge is the best bartender I have had the pleasure to meet. I would stay at this hotel again just to have some beers served by him.

The rest of the hotel was nice, clean and the staff friendly. I would recommend staying here if you can get the more affordable internet rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHAD Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoSue1, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
First off let me say, you are right, James is an amazing bartender! As a full service property, we strive to make your stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Our staff receives continued training in this ever-changing industry. Through the efforts of guests such as yourself, who take the time to review us and share with us that experience, we continue to improve in our efforts. Thank you for your review and I look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is not new, but well cared for and in great condition. Everything was clean and bright. The rooms are not large, but well appointed. The bedding and towels were good quality. The fat, stiff pillows were my only complaint, and that's only personal preference. We were traveling with our little dog, who was welcomed and petted by staff. The staff were friendly and courteous without exception. There always a friendly "Hello" and genuine concern about our satisfaction. We had breakfast from room service, which was very good and the service again was wonderful and fast. Overall a great stay, I would definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnarie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoSue1, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your time with us. I am glad to see that you had a first rate stay. I always welcome and greatly value all comments from our guests. It is with this open line of communication that we can shape our policies and procedures to better suit our guests. It is an ever-changing environment and your input is crucial. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We attended the buffet and were very disappointed. Last year's buffet was so much better. They had a new chef, our server explained and knowing this will affect our decision to attend next year. The carving table was ham only, not turkey like last year. The lighting was harsh and bright, there was no music and the buffet table was maybe half of what last years' was. For the price, $22 a person, it was not a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamsobroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoSue1, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Thanksgiving Dinner. I have taken your suggestions under advisement and have relayed them to the appropriate department managers. We strive to make each and every event as enjoyable and memorable as possible. It is through honest commentary such as yours that we are able to continue to adapt to what our guests demand. I hope that you will come back and dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

First off I did not plan on staying in Salem, but when business did not turn out well, needed a place to stay to catch a plane home for my dog and me. On top of everything not going my way I had lost my government ID. But the staff overlooked and assisted me in everyway! Great room, courtesy above the board, and my dog made friends with the hotel's dog. Room spacious and clean and my dog received such a great greeting from staff - always a "smile" and a hello! We even extended our stay one more night to see Salem! Great town! Red Lion is first choice visiting Salem!

Room Tip: The food from the adjoining restaurant "pricey" but well worth the price - Hamburger was e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoSue1, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Michael, thank you so much for your recent review. We do always appreciate our guests feed back on their stays with us and espically like it when we can turn a negative experience into such a positive memory for our guests. We do hope that you and your pup can come and see us again soon and again thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salem

Property: Red Lion Hotel Salem
Address: 3301 Market St NE, Salem, OR 97303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Salem Oregon the capital city of Oregon. The Red Lion Hotel Salem is located on Market Street, just off I-5 and minutes from downtown, the State Capitol, Salem Center, the Oregon State Fair Grounds, Woodburn Outlet Mall and Oregon Gardens. We are in close proximity to the The HOOP (5.1 miles), Garmin (4.1 miles), Sanyo (5.85 miles), Salem Hospital (5.22 miles), T-Mobile (6.89 miles) and Home Depot Distribution Center (5.45 miles).Our 148 spacious guest rooms and six executive suites are newly renovated and Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers and hairdryers. All guestrooms include microwaves and refrigerators as well. We offer room service and valet laundry services. For fun and relaxation, swim in our indoor pool or work out in our fitness center, which also includes a dry sauna. You'll enjoy the flavors of the great northwest at Willamette Valley Grill Restaurant and 3301 Ultra Lounge, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With 10,000 square feet of meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Salem is also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion.Parents, students and alumni will find us conveniently close to all of the area's universities and colleges. Willamette University is just 3 miles west of the hotel and Chemeketa Community College 4 miles north. Two other universities that are nearby are Corban College, just 8 miles South, and Western Oregon University 15 miles West. The only HUT Portland Airport shuttle location in Salem. For care, comfort and value, visit the Red Lion Hotel Salem where our staff is always ready to respond to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Red Lion
Red Lion Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing