We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Black Bear
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Very clean, restaurant for food in the morning is good, easy to gte to and close to other major sites (within 10 mins of Salem Center mall).

Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HaleyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    146
    121
    92
    47
See reviews for
197
115
43
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

The staff at this hotel were friendly and accommodating.

I was there with a group, and so we received a discount which was very much appreciated. In general this hotel is about average; the room we had needs
upgrading as the years of use show. Other than that, our stay was positive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durango47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I got away without the children and spent a fabulous weekend in our favorite Salem accommodations. With an indoor pool and hot tub that are usually the highlight for the children and the sauna and weight-room to boot, we ALWAYS choose to stay here. The rooms are kept exceptionally clean and the wonderful breakfast bar is simply a bonus. Easy to find, right off I-5, and easy to get back on the freeway. There is a Denny's across the street and the staff is happy to give directions to Burlington Coat Factory and other great shopping. And it is reasonably priced!!! I can't say enough good things about this Inn!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBum008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed here one night for a family wedding in Salem and I wasn't expecting much but I was plesantly surprised! The room was spacious and clean and the beds were pillow-top like-very cushy and comfy! They also had free breakfast the next morning before we checked out which included eggs, sausage and biscuits and gravy--not just your usual coffee and doughnuts. It was a great value! A little negative is freeway noise next door!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

We were just looking for a place to sleep between travel locations and this hotel provided just that. Clean, spacious rooms with a microwave and mini-fridge were better than we expected. Location right off I-5 made it easy to access, but the road noise was louder than I thought it would be (rooms face I-5 and doors don't block out much noise). Pool and tennis court looked nice and proximity to area restaurants and stores was convenient. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creations_crown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

For a very low price, this hotel was incredible. Rooms were huge with modern decor (no tacky floral prints!). Very large indoor swimming pool with kiddie pool attached with fountain in the middle. Pool was a little cool at first but fine once you got used to it. Hot tub was quite big as well. Exterior of hotel was a little drab but my toddler loved the bear carvings all over the building. All the furniture in the front office was wood carved and we spent some time just looking around at it. There is also a tennis/basketball court and playground. Continental breakfast was good. The front desk person was the same for check-in & check-out and was very friendly. Conveniently located to most anything you could ask for. I highly recommed this hotel and plan to stay there again next time I'm in town, regardless if other hotels are closer to my destination.

  • Liked — Room size for low price
  • Disliked — Exterior was a little boring
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

Found this motel via an internet search, and after reading reviews about it, and comparable other potential places to stay. Had an excellent stay, with zero problems. Asked for an upper room and received a lower. This was no problem until the second night, when some heavy footed travelers checked in after 10 p.m. The soundproofing in that aspect is not so great, but otherwise no problems. Room had all the advertised amenities, i.e., tv, microwave, frig, hair dryer, ironing board, etc. Everything is working order. Air conditioner remote a little tricky, but air/heater unit worked great. Usual toiletries provided. Big, thick fluffy towels, and plenty more upon asking. Bathroom and bedroom very clean, neat, and tidy. Traveled with a seven year old, and small dog. Playground not much, but she was more interested in the indoor pool and hot tub, which equally I found no problem with. Pet friendly, plenty of room to exercise the dog outdoors and attend to pet needs. Continental breakfast built into the room price. Biscuits, gravy, sausage, muffins, bagels, cereal, juice, coffee. I think there was more, but was gone when we got there. However, the hot items were replenished up to closing time. Great asset for kids who wake up hungry first thing. They can run over and get a plate and bring it back to the room, or everyone can dine in the dining room or outside on patio. Staff very friendly. Plenty of parking. Located right off freeway, but did not really notice freeway noise. Sits next door to Fred Myer department store in case you forgot anything or need some beverages/snacks. Down the street and around the corner is "restaurant alley." No need to worry about meals, plenty of restaurants within short driving distance. Overall, a great stay. Would highly recommend it, and would return myself.

  • Liked — matched its advertised amenities, positive stay as reflected in other reviews
  • Disliked — was not clear on how to get daily maid service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank auttie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Black Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Black Bear

Property: Days Inn Black Bear
Address: 1600 Motor Court NE, Salem, OR 97301 (Formerly Days Inn Salem)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Black Bear 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Black Bear has 101 rooms and offers a complimentary Full, Hot breakfast every morning. The friendly, helpful staff at the Days Inn is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay for guests traveling on both business and pleasure. Located near Interstate 5 in Salem, Oregon the hotel offers all of the amenities to make a guest feel right at home. Our property has a Indoor heated pool and sps, exercise facility and two saunas. A tennis court and playground are also on site. Free over-sized vehicle parking and guest laundry facilities are also available for your convenience. All of the rooms have microwaves and refrigerators as well as irons and ironing boards and hair dryers. All have access to premium cable channels including HBO and free wifi. Pets are welcome for a $11 a day pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Black Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Best Western Salem
Salem Best Western
Days Inn Black Bear Salem, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing