We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Black Bear
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My two daughters and I stayed at the hotel on the night of March 22, 2013 and stayed in room 214. It was probably the worst hotel stay I have ever had. The woman who checked us in was very pleasant. We entered the room to find that the temperature wasn’t over about 55 degrees. We had difficulty getting the heater running and when we called the front desk, the person who responded was obviously put out at our request for help, spoke down to us and was not helpful. We finally got the heater running and it ran for a solid three hours just to get the temperature up to 67 degrees. This is not acceptable and all of us ended up with stuffy heads for the experience. I understand trying to save money, but the heaters should never be turned off completely and it shouldn’t take hours to get the rooms to a tolerable temperature. The beds were so hard, lying on the sidewalk would have been as soft. None of us got much sleep due to the hardness of the beds and I was barely able to move in the morning; from being so cold and stiff from the room and bed. My daughter found cigarette butts under the bed, so obviously, the room wasn’t properly cleaned after the prior guests. We were not able to take showers in the morning because the water that poured into the tub was brown and smelled. Fortunately, the sink water appeared clean. After the horrible night we had, we were afraid to try the breakfast offered, so I don’t know how it was. At checkout, the person at the front desk did not ask how our stay was and was occupied with complaining about the slowness of the computer rather than practicing customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANU P, General Manager at Days Inn Black Bear, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Ms. Lori,

Thank you for posting your response.

Sorry for the inconvenience you had while you stayed at our property. I have all ready sent you an email for explanation for the issue and I will look in to it.
I hope you use our property again in future. I will guarantee you will have better experience.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 566 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

I want to thank your front desk person Shelia for making my weekend stays here from February through March very accommodating and pleasant.

When I started staying here in February, I was concerned as the Fitness Center and Pool were not open in the morning at 6am as scheduled. Additionally, the Fitness Center had equipment that wasn't working and I thought that I should stay some place else. When I had to make some schedule changes, I spoke with Shelia and I whined too. She assisted me with my schedule changes, and the Fitness Equipment has become tolerable and has been open for me in the morning since. Shelia listened to my concerns and took action with pleasure. This lady really knows what customer service is all about!!!

Thank you Shelia for assisting me in my busy time away from home. Your smiling face and your eagerness to make sure that I am getting my needs met has been priceless. You are very much appreciated...you would make a great Manager!!! I wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Room 133 Weekend Tenant

ps my ratings are directly reflective of Shelia, as I cannot say the same for others.

Room Tip: Talk to Shelia ;}
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Marisol P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

i,ve stayed at this hotel many times and am have never been disappointed
the rooms are clean and dont stink like old cigarette smoke
mini fridge and microwave in the room
price is good
and a continental breakfast to go

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vardis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Its a bit of an older motel and that's ok. My biggest complaint is that the room was kind of dingy and the sheets did not appear to be very clean :(. The kids loved the pool and the breakfast was pretty good. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sherri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Pj Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

the room was very poorly maintained. the bathroom was in such disrepair my kids didnt want to use it!!! half the lights burned out broken electrical covers!!! the beds were on rickety wood blocks pool was dirty at bottom ect....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANU P, Manager at Days Inn Black Bear, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Mr. Mark,
I am sorry for the Inconvenience you had while you stayed. I am very surprise to see all this problem in the room. After reading the review I checked the room to confirm, there is nothing like what you have mentioend. I checked all electrical outlet and none of the plate is broken. We vaccume the pool three times a week minumum or more to make sure it is neat and clean. I didnot see any problem in bathroom either. Once gain I am sorry for the Inconvenience. I hope you will use our proerty for your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salem
2.7 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Black Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Black Bear

Address: 1600 Motor Court Northeast, Salem, OR 97301-1801 (Formerly Days Inn Salem)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $75 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Black Bear 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Black Bear has 101 rooms and offers a complimentary Full, Hot breakfast every morning. The friendly, helpful staff at the Days Inn is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay for guests traveling on both business and pleasure. Located near Interstate 5 in Salem, Oregon the hotel offers all of the amenities to make a guest feel right at home. Our property has a Indoor heated pool and sps, exercise facility and two saunas. A tennis court and playground are also on site. Free over-sized vehicle parking and guest laundry facilities are also available for your convenience. All of the rooms have microwaves and refrigerators as well as irons and ironing boards and hair dryers. All have access to premium cable channels including HBO and free wifi. Pets are welcome for a $11 a day pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Black Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Best Western Salem
Salem Best Western
Days Inn Black Bear Salem, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing