We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Black Bear
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    157
    129
    98
    55
See reviews for
211
119
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My room was clean, comfortable, and just what I needed for a good night's sleep. My room was nice and quiet and the bed was quiet comfortable. Close to Fred Meyer's for any needed items you may want to purchase. Also nice and close to lots of places to eat. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ike Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANU P, General Manager at Days Inn Black Bear, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking a time and posting a review for your stay at our hotel. When you visit the area again I hope you will stay again with us.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

On a road trip from LA to Seattle my wife and I stopped to sleep here at the Days Inn Salem.
I don't expect luxury and comfort from these establishments, but I expect value and basic courtesy and cleanliness.

The service: arriving late evening one is always a little "iffy" considering some characters that sometimes work these hours. However the staff at this Days was very nice and friendly to us. Answered our question regarding nearby Portland AM traffic.

The room: looked, smelled and most important WAS clean. Basic amenities and older fixtures but it was what is expected.

The breakfast: we were pleasant surprised at the eggs, sausage, and biscuits and gravy that they had. They also have oatmeal/cereals at the bfast. They rotate their menu daily so if you stay for a few days you won't be tired of the same ol'.

The value: we found a great rate on hotels.com and they honored the rate on site. This was helpful considering checkout on a smartphone can be a pain at times.
I hope this helps! Happy travels!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mannygoesplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamhill, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good price on an AARP/Senior rate. Clean, functional room. Immediate access to I-5. "Fan Only" AC function creates white noise to totally block freeway sound. Fred Meyer super-store right next door. Breakfast was fine. If all you need is a bed, a shower, and a quick breakfast this is the place.

Room Tip: Ground floor at the south end of the complex provides the quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORGinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANU P, Manager at Days Inn Black Bear, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking a time and posting a review for your stay at our hotel. When you visit the area again I hope you will stay again with us.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The highlight of this motel is breakfast. They offered several hot options and cooking was done there in the kitchen. But the room was average and the fitness center was below average. There was an old eliptical, a broken treadmill, some weights/weight machines and a few old exercise bikes. I found this motel to be adequate overall for someone on a budget. They have a pool but I didn't swim in it. Also, there is a lot of noise from I-5 if noise bothers you.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room that is not on the side of I-5 (if they exist).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANU P, Manager at Days Inn Black Bear, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you for taking a time and posting a review for your stay at our hotel. When you visit the area again I hope you will stay again with us.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Salem
176 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Black Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Black Bear

Property: Days Inn Black Bear
Address: 1600 Motor Ct NE, Salem, OR 97301-1801 (Formerly Days Inn Salem)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Black Bear 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Black Bear has 101 rooms and offers a complimentary Full, Hot breakfast every morning. The friendly, helpful staff at the Days Inn is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay for guests traveling on both business and pleasure. Located near Interstate 5 in Salem, Oregon the hotel offers all of the amenities to make a guest feel right at home. Our property has a Indoor heated pool and sps, exercise facility and two saunas. A tennis court and playground are also on site. Free over-sized vehicle parking and guest laundry facilities are also available for your convenience. All of the rooms have microwaves and refrigerators as well as irons and ironing boards and hair dryers. All have access to premium cable channels including HBO and free wifi. Pets are welcome for a $11 a day pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Black Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Best Western Salem
Salem Best Western
Days Inn Black Bear Salem, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing