We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and brew”

Thompson Brewery & Public House
Ranked #333 of 534 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oregon
Level Contributor
135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food and brew”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went for lunch... Got there early. Service was good. The food and beer were about average for pub food. The prices were at par w/ other tavern / pub locations, but they did have a beer of the month. This month was Terminator Stout. $2.50/ pint instead of $4.

By noon, the place was packed and the service level was affected.

Building was an old house that was a little smaller than most restaurants.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fireinjunjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    17
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Average Food and Service”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived just before 5:00 and got right in. Our server was friendly and I ordered a glass of wine and we wanted water. Took several minutes to get those and several more minutes to get our order taken. My wife ordered a chicken wrap with thin onion rings. I ordered the Ruben sandwich. The food came 15-20 later, which I thought was too long. My wife's meal had many raw onions. Our server took it back and had the chief make a new one. 15-20 minutes later, her new order arrived, with no onions, no onion rings and not much chicken. My Ruben was good, but really greasy and the meat was tough. My glass of wine seemed like a 1/2 glass of wine, any wife's hot coffee drink was sweet, but did not pack any punch. We paid by credit card, and again, it took 10-15 minutes to get it back. We decided that we would probably not return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeNancy_in_Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One of the McMenamin properties”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The service can be notoriously slow here, but the regulars keep on coming. Food is good, if you don't mind the wait! The tables outside are a really relaxing place to hang out on a nice day. Thompson's is in a historic old house in the southern part of Salem, so it's convenient for people who live or work out that way. Parking can be a problem, but there is additional space at the convenience store next door, and it's OK to park there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ForReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lots of personality but just so-so food”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had dinner here on Friday of Memorial Day weekend so the place was busy. Our server was great, attentive and efficient. The food was average pub fair, nothing special. The beers are good but not stand-out good. This particular location in the McMenamin's chain does have great personality, as all McMenamin's do, but I think I would pass on dinner next time and just sit outside at one of the garden tables and enjoy some brews and maybe some appetizers.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Meh.”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

It seems like all McMenamin's I've been to lately have stopped trying. Not a bad place, but nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank TravelingDad_PTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompson Brewery & Public House also viewed

 

Been to Thompson Brewery & Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing