We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Much Needed Getaway Dreams Fulfilled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopewell Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Salem B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2008

If you want to get away from the city, relax, see some sights, and be spoiled, why would you stay anywhere else? This B&B is better than a five-star hotel. Mike and Penny are charming and gracious hosts who are always there if you need them. If not, you have the quiet privacy to enjoy their lovely property. Their cottages have old style charm with modern amenities, and they've thought of everything you might need. The location is the perfect jumping off point to go check out wineries. Or stay at home and lounge around, do some bird watching, swing in a hammock, swim in their pond, soak in the hot tub, watch a movie (a very nice selection in each cottage). Start off your day with a gourmet breakfast and get ready for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank panther2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 104 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the larger room and loved it. The B&B was new (less than 3 years old); well decorated; very comfortable. Nice covered porch; view of pond, gardens and water feature. Hosts were outgoing, welcoming and a pleasure to chat with. Like visiting friends.

We saw both rooms and either will make almost anyone happy. Two units sit side-by-side with a hot tub between. Both units have good kitchens and outdoor gas grills. Differences between rooms are queen vs king; queen room has a full kitchen; king has covered porch vs deck. King room has clawfoot tub and shower. Would be a fun place for two couples to share. It's off main roads and was quiet at night (owls in the distance).

This place is a charmer and you will want to come back. Breakfasts were wonderful. Great place to relax, read a book, bird watch or use as a roost while touring nearby wineries and the Evergreen Air Museum. Situated about 12 miles between McMinnville and Salem. Good location. We plan to return; we highly recommend it.

John & Laura

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnGrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

The perfect place to relax and enjoy the countryside. From the glass of wine when we first arrived to the firepit smores in the evening, Penny and Mike took care of every detail during our stay. The rooms were comfortable and contain everything we needed and the grounds were relaxing with a bbq, hot tub, swimming and fishing pond and cows in the field just beyond. We plan on returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank andyg376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We came here with a group and the general consensus was that we did not want to leave! Mike and Penny were the best! They provided delicious breakfasts of eggs Benedict and French toast, a campfire, and tons of fun conversations. The property and cottages were immaculate, spacious, serene, and so beautiful. I can't wait to go back. - Beth

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BethSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

This was our first B&B experience and we were thrilled at how well Hopewell turned out. When we arrived, we were greeted by Mike and Penny (the owners) and their dog Buddy. They made us feel right at home upon our arrival, bringing us wine and snacks to enjoy right away on the porch. They chatted with us on the porch as we enjoyed the wine and snacks and showed us their 4 cows afterwards. We booked both cottages and both were extremely clean and had all the amenities you need. There's a refrigerator, DVD player, cable tv, silverware, all the toiletries you'll need. The next morning, they brought us breakfast in our room, which included the best french toast with fresh berries and whip cream, ham, OJ, and coffee. It was absolutely delicious. They didn't rush us to check out and let us stay as late as we wanted. We'll definitely come back here again the next time we visit the area and would recommend to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IrChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

Hopewell Bed and Breakfast is like a breath of fresh air. The decor was so cheerful and beautiful that even though it was raining and gray outside, it felt like spring. Our hosts had thought of absolutely everything! The kitchen was better stocked than my own, and the bathroom had useful items I surely hadn't packed. The bed and the furniture were so comfortable we could've stayed much longer...and the if the breakfast hadn't been so delicious, we might have just slept until noon. Hopewell Bed and Breakfast is a delightful experience in the heart of Oregon wine country that will leave you feeling rested and refreshed....and hoping to return.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank haileon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We heard about this place from a letter in the LA Times. The place has two wonderful rooms - more like individual apartments overlooking a beautiful farm scene. The hosts Mike and Penny couldn't be nicer - and the breakfasts were amazing!
We wanted to wander the oregon wine country, trying boutique pinot noir wineries- not only was it a perfect location for this kind of vacation, but Penny had great suggestions as to which wineries to visit. We also went to the Evergreen Air Museum, and finished the day with a 4-star meal at La Rambla, the Tapas restaurant in McMinnville. We can't wait to stay with Mike and Penny again!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Millard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
11.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
13.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
11.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
14.5 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopewell Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopewell Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22350 Hopewell Rd NW, Salem, OR 97304-9619
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: $159 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our suites,in the heart of Wine Country, have private entrances with every creature comfort. The Country Cottage has a queen bed, full kitchen, bath & deck. Our Lakeside Lodge has a king bed, kitchenette, bath with shower & clawfoot tub, deck, covered porch & pond. Both rooms have great views of the Amity Hills & our cattle pasture.Your private decks have barbacues & a shared a hot tub. A warm hearty breakfast is served on your deck or in your room. We have WI-FI, TV, DVD & individual heat & AC. We have tried to think of everything for your comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopewell Bed & Breakfast Salem, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing