We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BW does well for me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed here for work for 4 nights. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Although the personal sauna was a bit out-dated, it was still a nice touch and very relaxing. Clean rooms, good bed and ample parking was comforting. I will stay here again and will recommend this to others. Thanks BW!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

By reading this review, please don't misconstrue it to say its better than the Best Western Pacific Highway Inn because I have not had the pleasure of staying with them yet.

But, please do interpret this review as a review of the best, Best Western I have ever stayed at! Yes, the pun is intended.

What do you think of when you think of the Best Western chain? In my mind, the Bourne trilogy comes into mind when Pamela Landy goes to the Best Western to stay in Germany to hunt down Jason Bourne. You are probably asking yourself how the heck this relates to a hotel review? Well think about the hotel in the movie. Well dressed and courteous staff, not overly plush but sophisticated accommodations, and the general layout of the hotel with guest satisfaction in mind.

Now, lets start the review about this Best Western. First and foremost, I love that they have a covered parking area in front of the doors for guests to hop out of their vehicles, unload, check-in, and then go park. Sure, most hotels in the area have this. But there is something about the charm of theirs-maybe its the gorgeous chandler that lights the atrium and outer covered parking? Or maybe its the automatic doors that open as you near them...or maybe its the abundance of luggage carts readily available to you right there (compared to having to go into other hotels, inquiring where they are only to find them hidden away behind the desk or around a few corners).

The moment you walk through the door, there is a professional, courteous staff member, or members, behind the front desk. Punctual, well dressed, professional, pure awesomeness-there isn't enough words to describe the staff at this Best Western. They ensure you are fully taken care of, providing you cookies as well as complimentary coupons off your meal at the Denny's right next door.

Don't forget that after checking-in, head towards the elevator and you will be affronted by one of the best features of the hotel-a fully stocked coffee area just for guests! Best part? The coffee is good and its never empty! And they provide liquid creamers in an enormous variety right there! Look even further down the counter and boom your own cappuccino machine! Heaven!

The business center is well stocked with equipment, printers, fax machine, etc. Keep in mind that you will have to ask the front desk for the business center key-but hey, that's no problem as the staff are amazing! :) The pool, sauna, and shower area (yes, there are separate full fledged bathrooms for guests near the pool) are wonderful. Water is always crystal clear, and never overly saturated with bleach and chlorine. And we can't forget about the enormous amount of meeting space available to you.

One of the biggest perks on the ground floor is the laundry room. Hours are posted but if you ask really nice, they will say go ahead :) And you don't need quarters-they just installed a new system that will allow you to pay with your debit or credit card!

Now, onto the elevator. Small, quiet, and cozy, it actually is a great elevator. You aren't jolted around, and you can't squeeze a ton of people in so it won't be an uncomfortable trip up. However, the type of people who stay here are usually so nice, its ok.

Now, the rooms. Oh yes, everyone reading this as well as the hotel are cringing when a review gets to this point.

My grade: A+

Let me tell y'all something-the housekeeping staff as well as all staff at this hotel work so hard to make your accommodations truly spectacular. And I'm not talking like overly plush, "John Frieda shampoo" kind of stuff, I mean quality stuff in the room in case you forget your own, clean floors, clean carpets, clean upholstery, clean beds, clean bedding, clean fridge-its all clean! And, its not overly clean so you still smell the rubbing alcohol and bleach they used either.

From the sparkling glasses to the Seattle's Best coffee, the rooms feel like home. I won't tell you about the few secret rooms that they have that you must ask for by name, but if you do figure out what those rooms are (they are 4 types, and each only has 1 or 2 rooms of that type), then you will be shocked at its awesomeness.

As a point of reference, I was at this hotel during the snow storm this year when everyone there was flooding in and off the highway and the place was flooded. Never before have I seen such perfection in hospitality management and overall upbeat attitudes of staff, ever! My sincere props to the Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn-I am a Diamond Elite member of their rewards club, as is all of my company employees, and we will stay that way with them.

As a final word, you guys seriously rock! Please share this review with every single staff member there, in all departments, and give them an extra break when you do with cookies and coffee or something. I mean, seriously, y'all embody the Best Western service standards to the fullest, and exceed them!

Room Tip: There is no specific area of the hotel to avoid. All rooms are just as quiet as the others. I will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you, Chris, for your review of the Best Western PLUS Mill Creek Inn. It was great to read your comments. I posted this for all of our hotel staff to read, they were very excited to see the nice things you had to say about them. We take great pride in our customer service, and it's nice to hear positive reinforcement from our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Jake Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked a different hotel and decided not to stay because it was nasty. We had 2 dogs & 2 teens so our choices were limited. The front desk staff was amazing! It was late but they still got us a room. Very clean, the checkin cookies for all of us including the dogs were a great surprise. We will stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank nukswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We came to Oregon on a college tour for my son. We decided to stay in Salem due to its central location. Mill Creek had good reviews so we booked our stay there. Great choice--it suited our needs in every way! In fact, we brought our little Malto-Poo on the long road trip and planned to keep him in his bed in the car overnight. It turns out that the hotel owners love animals and allowed us to keep our sweet dog with us for an additional $20 per night. They even had a cute dog biscuit and scoop bag in a cute giveaway container. Perfect! We made use of the pool and hot tub (very clean and nice), tried their excellent hot cocoa, and used our complimentary Denny's breakfast certificates. The room was clean and tastefully decorated, as well. Pat, the night staff, is a sweetheart. Bakes up the Otis Spunkmeyer cookies daily that are given out to the guests as yet another bonus. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our room was generously sized, comfortable and quiet. Our problem was the front desk staff--snarky and unhelpful (stayed Saturday, April 26). They seemed annoyed to serve us--like we were bothering them. Then, when we went to check out the next morning, they'd insisted we'd phoned to stay another night, when in fact we'd made our reservation online, never phoned and never asked for the extra night (they must have been thinking of someone else). If they changed the reception staff, I'd stay there again in a minute. But as it stands, I will not return. Seriously bad vibes.

Room Tip: Spa would have been better if it wasn't overrun with at least 10 children screaming and splashin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you, Sandi, for your review of our property. I am so sorry to hear of the treatment you received. I've always taken great pride in the customer service that we offer, and was very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this stay. I will speak to all of our front desk staff about your concerns, and I am confident that you will receive much better treatment if you stay with us again.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity the next time you are in Salem.

Jake Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Beautiful hotel for the price, very helpful staff and pleasant cleaning staff. Loved the Denny's certificates and cleanliness of stay. GREAT location central to most of town. Really only complaint was did not like pillows...they were too thick and not soft to sleep on...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you, Angela for your review of our property. I will pass on your kind comments to our staff; they love to hear compliments! I will have all of the pillows checked in the rooms. We usually put two thick pillows and two flat pillows on each bed.

We hope to see you again soon!

Jake Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have stayed here several times and always found it to be good value, very comfortable and quiet. The fitness/spa is a welcome treat after a long drive. It is centrally located not only for our family but for any activities we might enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you, Lori, for your review of the Best Western PLUS Mill Creek Inn. We appreciate your repeat business, and look forward to your next stay with us!

Jake Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
2.7 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn

Address: 3125 Ryan Dr SE, Salem, OR 97301-9682
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $106 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn offers top-notch customer service and is conveniently located near Interstate 5, Highway 22 and only 2 miles from Willamette University. Hotel guests will also find Oregon Gardens, the Oregon State Capitol and Willamette Valley vineyards nearby. Other popular attractions and events close to the hotel include The Oregon State Fairgrounds, Enchanted Forest, The Bite of Salem and Salem Art Fair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Hotel Salem
Best Western Salem
Salem Best Western
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn Salem, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing