We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Salem
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was a basic hotel room. There was not room for a small table, which would have been nice. The room was clean, the breakfast included waffles, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, bagels, English muffins, toast and fresh fruit. the location was excellent - within walking distance of Deepwoods, and a little further on Bush Park. Also easy access to the freeway. Would stay there again - the price was right.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Salem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 535 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We made reservation on the phone and it is not the motel you are talking to. It is a call center and the reservation shows up on the computer at the motel. We were quoted 59 dollars and when we checked in they charged us 69 dollars. at first is seemed like we were stealing the 10 dollars out of the mouths of the managers children.

we called the call center and complained as the manager said to do. The manager said they are $69 no matter what they said it was. the call center also booked us for 2 rooms not one. The call center said the manager has to change the price and they would notify the manager and the general manager.

We told him this and he said they are just kicking the ball around and how much they have to pay for franchise fees and how Howard Johnson screws them. I do not want to hear all of that! I want to be charged for what I was quoted and not more when we arrive.

When we checked out the manager went into his excuses again and said he was doing us a favor by charging us what we were quoted. GEE THANKS.....

All in all it was an OK stay, just a little frustrating. Oh Yes and is was nice to know we were just down the street from the Prison! I do not see issues regarding this but is seemed a little disconcerting at the time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mookiex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Randall R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week while we attended a wedding. We found the rooms to be clean and the staff helpful. The breakfast could certainly use a bit more variety. But overall, the noise from other guests was minimal, the environment safe, and the rooms clean. It was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Staff doesn't speak English. Room was dirty, and linens were not changed after previous guests (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!). Unfortunately, we checked in quite late (after 10 PM), so did not have energy to go to lobby (no chance to talk on phone, the manager did not speak English) and explain with gestures our complains. Breakfast wa so-so, and the room for the breakfast is really small for such a big motel. Only one wafer pan, and huge line to wait to use it. Would never stay again at this place. We stayed at the place on our way from Seattle to Crater Lake, so location is OK, but a bit tricky to get there from freeway (missed left turn).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rancherros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Black Bear
Days Inn Black Bear
#13 of 24 in Salem
544 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Salem

Address: 2250 Mission St SE, Salem, OR 97302-1267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $79 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
updated melm 3/11/07 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem
Howard Johnson Inn Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing