We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people run this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Salem
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very good staff, a good value, i use the coupons found in the trip planner magazine, i have retured and stayed there numerous times.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank wyves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 543 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel has seen better days, I think, but it is still a good value if you just need someplace to sleep. Beds are comfortable, rooms clean and staff eager to please. There is also a coin-operated laundry available, which I found useful as we were here 6 nights for a family wedding/reunion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Salem's Howard Johnson. The hotel was not hard to locate, the room was comfortable, and the breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank CAROL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Surrey, Canada
1
Reviewed September 27, 2012

good sleep, towels should be larger or more medium not enough for 2 larger sized coupels front desk clerk very helpfull with information to location of stores etc

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The location and the front desk was really nice, I checked in and sat down on the edge of the bed and was watching tv and something caught my eye and I saw something crawling across the bed, it was a TICK..I scooped it up and put it in a cup and called the front desk and he said bring it down to the front and he would change my room, I took it down and he looked at it and emptied the cup into his hands and looked at it in disbelief that I may not know what a tick looks like, yuck. He gave me a new room and that one was fine although I took the comforter off immediately and put it in the corner. I went to the bathroom and looked under the counter and saw hair in the corner and a ponytail holder on the other side by the shower and when I closed the bathroom door to take a shower the mirror on the back of the door had what appeared to be butt cheek imprinted marks on it. I was exhausted and just showered and went to bed. I didn't eat anything or ask to change rooms again, I was exhausted and went to bed. I would only stay here again because of the location ONLY!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank 24DRoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The service was great, The rooms are good size, continental breakfast is the best, by mistake they took one of are personel bath towls and they replaced it with a new one, I will be back for next year, Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank FRANCIS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our second tome staying. We make a yearly trip from CA, and as before the rooms were very clean, the staff extra friendly and attentive. Great location, value, and price. Tops!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank JAMES R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Black Bear
Days Inn Black Bear
#13 of 24 in Salem
550 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Salem
Super 8 Salem
#15 of 24 in Salem
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Salem

Address: 2250 Mission St SE, Salem, OR 97302-1267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $71 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
updated melm 3/11/07 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem
Howard Johnson Inn Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing