We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HoJo Salem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Salem
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Salem
FRESNO
1 review
“HoJo Salem”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our second tome staying. We make a yearly trip from CA, and as before the rooms were very clean, the staff extra friendly and attentive. Great location, value, and price. Tops!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JAMES R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    147
    130
    85
    40
See reviews for
160
117
68
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night and never will again. My room smelled like wet dog. Advertised a free breakfast. I never found it. The air conditioner ran for approximately 2 minutes every 45 minutes so the room temperature was really uncomfortable. Worst night of my whole 7 day trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salem hotels

Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed 1 night on our way to california ,area was a little shady,kid begging for money as soon as we parked .Bathroom could have been updated.Requested a king room and recieved a queen. breakfast was in a very small room and backed up with people all morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Place, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Quite nicely remodeled inn that takes TripAdvisor coupons (ours was $56.50, including tax for king-size bed).
Has outdoor pool. 'Sorry, I don't know if it is heated.
Should get there early as parking may be quite a ways from where you have to park.
Room 127's toilet was slow to flush, but management tried to clear it, but toilet was still slow when we left.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
264 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stay at budget hotels all the time. This particular hotel offered a very good price, so we snapped it up. I expected a clean, comfortable room, a nice bathroom and shower and good internet. That's what I got. Breakfast was the typical bagels, cereal, waffles, coffee and juice. It was fine. The only complaint I had was that the refrigerator was a dinky table top model. It was a little problem initially because my wife takes a medication that requires cold packs when we travel. She needs to get the cold packs into the freezer, but there wasn't sufficient room. No problem, the guy at the desk put them in a larger freezer for us so everything was hunky dory. I would stay here if I return to Salem. I give an average rating because in the spectrum of all hotels in the world, this is average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swift98b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were on our way to another hotel when chanced upon Howard Johnson. We expected it to be in the $100-125 range but the perfectly adequate room was only $63 a night with all the fees included. No breakfast but for that price, it was still a steal. Clean, quiet, with all the usual and necessary amenities. The room was more attractive than Motel 6 or Super 8 The best deal on our Oregon trip! Convenient to downtown, freeways, and residents' services. We want to spread the word!

Room Tip: Just ask for a room away from the street to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and had a great stay! Got a nice and clean room with a lovely kingbed, and a clean bathroom:) The poolarea was really nice, and the breakfast was typically continental breakfast! Free parking, free wifi and nice staff:)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
1.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Black Bear
Days Inn Black Bear
#14 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Salem

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Salem
Address: 2250 Mission St SE, Salem, OR 97302-1267
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
updated melm 3/11/07 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Howard Johnson Salem
Salem Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Salem
Howard Johnson Inn Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing