We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, wonderful restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I've stayed at the Grand several times. The rooms are large and nicely appointed, and the staff is always thoughtful and considerate. The restaurant is a particular high point: superb seafood, and excellent bar and very nice atmosphere make it a stand out among hotels. Finally, the complementary continental breakfast is the best I have encountered. Great job Grand! I'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac-Van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 632 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2011

Surprise of Surprise was this hotel. Thought I would be staying in a place with a little service, class, and manners. The shuttle did not pick me up at the Amtrak station, which I had previously reserved, then had to take a taxi. When I arrived, no porter to help with my bags, had to do it alone, and I had a three. When asked about the shuttle, they were not aware of any request, and then the next day found out, no shuttle when I leave 2 days later. Another taxi. The adjoining room, had someone making telephone calls, and you could hear every word on what was being said.
When I checked out, no "good morning" had to repeat my name, room number twice.
The toilet did not work, I was very glad to leave this place, will NOT be staying again, and also NOT recommend it to anyone.
I have been traveling for about 2 months, and the 3rd world countries I have visited had better service, and hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Victoria1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2011

I would like to apologize for this experience. We had traded emails regarding the shuttle service to the Amtrak Station when you made your initial reservation and I obviously did not communicate well enough to help you understand that we ask guests to call the hotel when they actually arrive in Salem since the posted schedule and actual arrival times tend to vary because of issues outside of Amtrak's control. Each person on our staff has been shown your review to really impress upon them how impactful the face to face contact is and focusing on that guest only. I can only apologize and extend an offer to contact us for a future visit to redeem your impression of our facility. While I can't claim perfection, I am filled with pride because of the staff that I have working with me and the beautiful facility that I get to work in everyday.

Respectfully,

Scott Snyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Stayed one night in mid-January. Venerable, classic, early 19th Century architecture with its grand lobby reminding us of an earlier period of elegance and sophistication. Rooms are modern, however. Stayed one night in mid-January on 4th floor in quiet, very clean room, but somewhat dark, thanks to too many cool-lightbulbs. Recommend you request room away from elevator bell - noisy. The breakfast buffet included is just OK. Hotel connects to Benton's Restaurant and is ideally situated in downtown Salem. Will likely stay here again when in Salem next.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The Grand is far and away the best place to stay in Salem for business or pleasure. The location gives you walking access to all of downtown, the riverfront, the State Capitol and Willamette University. By car you're only 15 to 20 minutes away from some great Oregon wineries. The accommodations are very good and the staff are knowledgeable and friendly. Rooms are large, clean and easy to work from. On the downside, you handle your car and luggage yourself, but on the plus side internet access, breakfast (a darn good one), use of the business center and fitness room/pool are included. Oh, and then there's the afternoon cookies! The attached restaurant, Bentley's, is very good, one of the better restaurants in town.

I've stayed at the Grand maybe 15 times over the past 3 years. You'd have to go to Portland (an hour north) to find a better hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmacljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The Grand Hotel is welcoming right from the start--friendly front desk staff, warm lobby and cookies on the front desk. The rooms are lovely and spacious and the location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda_YSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

The finest hotel we could find in Salem, or in fact on our entire Oregon trip and we even had a very reasonable price. We had a large, quiet room, and only wish we had had time to enjoy the restaurant, bar and other amenities. Breakfast was included and was an excellent buffet with many choices. The staff were professional, courteous and helpful. Free parking was a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

The Grand Hotel is a great spot in Salem. We stayed 2 nights while touring pinot wine country and greatly enjoyed our stay....wonderful staff, nice rooms, good complimentary breakfast, and easy walking to shops and restaurants. That said, the Hotel's restaurant is fantastic and has a abundant list of Oregon and Washington wines.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trocken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
203 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#8 of 24 in Salem
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $175 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated hotel accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing