We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Very reasonable price, the service and also the food you get at the resturant was great.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minchiMiamiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 630 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

We didn't have much of a choice since attending a conference at the attached convention center. The prices were really high for the room and the room was nice but the hotel had some things missing. First the heating/cooling system in this hotel and the new convention center was HORRIBLE! Why were some rooms freezing and then other spaces like sauna. The hotel hallways and elevators were sauna like, at least I could control the temp of my room easily. My window was on the 5th floor, opens wide and no screen or anything to protect one from falling out, but no screen? in the bathroom there is no fan, this made is really uncomfortable to get ready with two people. Talk about melting makeup! Then when checking out and asking if I could have a late checkout the receptionist was so rude, she offered me a half day rate, rudely...after spending this much here? I think not. Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This is my 3rd stay in this hotel. When I arrived in the lobby, I remembered I had been here twice before under the previous name. I felt right at home and will plan to stay here when I am in Salem. The staff are always so accomodating and helpful. I arrived early and my room was ready for check in. The rooms are very comfortable and good size. The service in the restaurant and bar are excellent. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Salem.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christinekw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

After travelling through Oregon for about 10 days, we decided to stop over in Salem, and were happy to find such a high-end hotel, after many motels.
Our epxerience coudl have been excellent, but for one major issue:
All night, all we heard was the constant sound of cars passing, stopping and starting, on the road and intersection outside our room (3rd floor, south wing). As a result, we had a very poor night sleep, affecting us the nest day - which is something you do not expect for this level of hotel.
I do have to say the building and rooms were very nice, and high quality, the underground free parking was nice - and the morning free breakfast was excellent - perhaps the best on our trip.
With the good reviews to date, I suspect that perhaps we simply had a room in a ppor location of the building, and that this experience may not be typical.
However, there is no excuse for this in such a new, high quality hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Everything was perfect, from check-in to check-out. Terrific atmosphere, wonderful restaurant, excellent breakfast and the wedding reception we attended there was excellent. Free parking under the hotel. Service overall was great. We are staying there again this month.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We visit Salem several times a year and Always stay at The Grand. We come to visit family and have stayed here since they opened in 2005. We have stayed at The Grand about 12 times in 5 years.

It is still fresh, clean and welcoming. The rooms are large and well appointed. I would stay in this hotel if they had other locations.

Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Spent 1 night at the Grand Hotel in Salem after reading the different hotel reviews in Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed at all. Room was clean and spacious, bed and pillows were comfortable, staff was friendly, and the included breakfast was decent. One slight defect was the conversations from the next room was audible, especially in the bathroom. Not a great deal unless you want to really eavesdrop on people you don't know. Booked the room via Hotels.ca Memorial Day promo discount. Overall, great value!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rammer1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#8 of 24 in Salem
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $175 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated hotel accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing