We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites(Salem)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn(Salem)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$106
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveler rating
362
201
50
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
201
50
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerbentley's grillfree underground parkingdowntown locationwillamette universitystreet noiseliberty streetbreakfast buffetrooms are largeplace to stayhotel restaurantattending a conferenceoatmealsitting areaearly checkstate capitolking suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
627 - 632 of 644 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2006

While this is the nicest hotel in Salem calling it Grand is a streach. It is in a good location. The Lobby and rooms are nice and they are clean. I did not find the front desk very helpful when we had questions. The elevators are a nightmare. They are slow and since they only have two they were always packed. Our room was not well insulated so you heard every noise from the hall and the street below.(Which seemed to be hosting a late night drag race the night we were there, until the police decided to break it up.) But the thing that made me write this review was breakfast. I travel a lot and I have had a lot of hotel breakfast. This was hands down the worst breakfast buffet I have ever seen. The room is not very big for the size of the hotel, the way they had everthing laid out had people tripping over each other. The milk was on the opposite end of where the cereal was, the waffel section was in the middle so all the people waiting for waffels to be made, which was most, blocked the path of those just trying to get toast, coffee or milk. The eggs were burnt and there was no one bussing tables so if you wanted to sit you had to clean your own which I do not mind except there was no place to put the dirty dishes. In the end people just started to pile one table with all the dirty dishes left by others. To top it all off the coffee was the worst I have ever had. Thankfully there were coffee shops just down the street. Overall it was just an ok hotel and nothing special. It was not Grand by any definition.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank chandriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2006

The Phoenix Grand staff, Kristi Reed particularly, is what makes this hotel truly above the rest. My husband and I stayed here twice in the last year and have been more than pleased with the accomodations and service. We went for a night's getaway and treated ourselves to the king spa room which is huge, the bed is giant and the spa is wonderful! The beds are made with triple sheets that is a definite sanitary plus (a major concern of mine!) The bathroom lighting is a little dim, but who wants to see every flaw anyway? The marble accents give it a very rich feel.

We ordered room service from the restaurant on premises and weren't terribly thrilled with the entrees which had absolutely NO frills (i.e. salad, bread, etc.) - entree only. We both ate (again, with no frills) for about $34 so unless you have your heart set on room service, you might consider visiting a nearby restaurant instead (or maybe dining in the actual restaurant provides a little more for your money?) The staff that promptly brought our meal to our room and picked it up (no trays in the hallways!) was extremly polite and pleasant.

I would give this hotel 4 stars on the staff alone, then throw in the fine surroundings and it's well worth the money!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ourfamilygetaways4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2006

I have stayed at this hotel on two occasions in 2006 for business purposes.

The rooms and suites are quite nice- everything is clean, new and sharp. The housekeeping is excellent, the front desk is friendly and accommodating. The parking is free- which enables you not to have to worry about that when you go out shopping / coffee-house hopping in downtown.

The mattress could be a bit better, but not every hotel has a "Heavenly Bed."

This is by far the best hotel in the Willamette Valley- you won't be disappointed- it's reliable to recommend to family and friends.

Also, the value is terrific.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TrippedOut72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2006

Was staying here to attend a conference in the adjoining conference center. Very, very convenient if you're attending an event at the Salem Conference Center. Nicely (and newly) finished room. Junior suite had half wall separating living and sleeping areas. Unfortunately, television was in an armoire halfway between the two so didn't have a good view from either side. Room overall was pretty spacious.

Complementary breakfast was GREAT! Separate breakfast room off the lobby. Choice of standard cold items (breads/cereal), plus oatmeal, eggs (scrambled & hard-boiled), bacon, do-it-yourself waffles, fresh yoghurt and fruit, etc. Lobby is spacious and well-appointed.

My only problem was with the public elevators, which acted erratically and at one point broke down. Guests were herded through the staff elevators because there were no public stairways to the rooms. The only stair access was through a fire exit which put you outside the hotel (and unable to come back in). Really bad design. Other than the elevators, my stay was great. Had a billing problem on checkout which was promptly resolved. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2005

Am in the Phoenix Grand for week 2 of a business trip. I was told that this is THE place to stay in Salem. So far, it seems to be the only place near downtown (except for a little motel or 2). But that is not a bad thing because this is a very nice place, especially for a non-chain that you would not usually expect to have deep enough pockects to add the extra amenities you usually find in bigger hotels/cities.

To the details: bed is very comfortable with triple sheeting though they should offer down pillows. There is one feather pillow and 3-4 poly fill. Room is large with a somewhat separate seating area, nice leather sofa, writing table. The desk chair is NOT well suited for long work at the desk. It is a regular arm chair, no wheels and does not fit under desk.
Overall, lighting is poor, epecially in the bathroom. But I do look at it from a business attitude, not "pleasure". The bathroom is nicely appointed with big, thirsty towels, a curved shower curtain rod (ala Westin)... but the lighting could really use a boost. And why have nice marble counters, very nice tile floors but then put a plastic soap dish, plastic tissue box on the counter?
Not enough hangers in the closet but I'm sure I could have asked for more.
You're supposed to get a water bottle daily. I did not the first week, my co worker did.
The furniture is decent, almost elegant. However, I don't think it will last long. 2 drawers were already broken in the first room I had.
The restaurant is very good, decent regional wine selection, good service, nice atmosphere. I agree that the breakfast buffet looked skimpy though I did not partake - just checked it out.
Overall, a very nice hotel for the money. Got a corp rate of $109 for a King non-smoking room. Parking is free, wi-fi is free, breakfast is free.
I usually stay at a major chain to get points ( I travel 40+ weeks a year) but I will stay here again if I'm back in Salem and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank RoPoDAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews