We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rickreall, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and lovely”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

For Salem, this is as good as it gets! Well done, clean and beautiful.

The rooms are well done. Beds are very nice. Everything is up-to-date.

The staff is very helpful,

There is an onsite restaurant which is pretty good. The food is sometimes very good, and sometimes overly salty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabr1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for the kind words, we certainly appreciate the feed back. We enjoy having local residents experience the hotel. We will share the food related comments with the Chef for his attention.

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    187
    44
    17
    11
See reviews for
147
168
37
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Came to visit Willamette University, which is literally right within blocks of this hotel and the capital. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms were comfortable. There was a weird "locked closet" in my room, one that if you watch too much CSI, you might get creeped out by it presence. I had the handicapped room, which was larger, but didn't love that creepy closet.
Beds comfy and the rooms were quiet, so I had a pleasant stay.
Staff a front desk were busy one minute and seemingly bored the next- as I sat a bit to rest from a run. It seemed when I needed help on check-in and check-out, I had to wait. GO figure

Room Tip: Ask for non-street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keepersmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Keepersmit,

Thank you for your review, I presume that the room you were assigned to has it's heating/cooling unit in the closet so that it and control the bedroom and living room area. The area is only large enough to hold the HVAC unit and that is why those rooms have an amoire rather than a dedicated closet space. We do apologize for any frustration that was caused by having to wait to check out.

See you next time you come back to the college,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenmile, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very Very nice, quite room, comfortable bed, fantastic Breakfast bar, close to downtown activities, on site restaurant, you can walk to a lot of different places of interest, Galleries, restaurants, there is also an onsite restaurant that is first rate. I highly recommending staying here, you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floors are quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: As with other Hotels they are environmentally friendly right down to the bath soaps.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricky827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Ricky,

Awesome! Thank you, I will be sharing your review with our team at our All Employee Meeting.

Thank you,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed at the Grand for a Conference, been there before, still a very good place to stay, clean, quiet, great complimentary breakfast!
And they found my lost car key !!!!

The in house restaurant is also top notch.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are traffic buffered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Paul,

Thank you for the wonderful feed back regarding our team and the facility. We like to hear that we are creating positve experiences for our guests.

See you next time,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have stayed at The Grand on many occasions. On my recent visit I was in Room 324 on the street side of the hotel. I assumed the commuter traffic would abate, and I would enjoy a good night's sleep.....well the traffic does NOT abate and I had very little sleep. I expressed my disappointment to the young man at reception, and was offered a late check out (??) I was on a schedule and hanging around a hotel was not my idea of remedying my dissatisfaction. I will look elsewhere next time I am in Salem.
Courtenay who looks after breakfast is under utilized in this hotel. She should be given opportunities in the Hotel Industry !!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you for the comments about the street noise, we hope that the other great experiences you referenced in your review will bring you back to our hotel. My desk staff person did follow up by placing a preference in your profile indicating an interior facing room.

Thank you,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Grand Hotel in Salem has a beautiful lobby with comfortable couches and chairs, a beautiful enormous antique desk, and a gleaming chandelier. The area is spacious and inviting. A colorful glass sculpture greets visitors as they come through the entrance. Artwork on the walls and down the hallways is attractive. Service at the desk is polite and professional. The rooms are fresh and clean with comfortable beds. The decor is modern and attractive. Attached to the hotel is a wonderful restaurant with a long, beautiful bar. The food is excellent. A gas fireplace made of stone is at the center of the main dining area. The tall ceilings and ceramic decorations high on the wall are splendid. This restaurant provides the elegance of a comfortable, large lobby, modern rooms with a cheerful mood, and a beautiful restaurant all in the same building. It's located in the downtown area, close to shopping, restaurants, and historical sites. Nearly everything that's important in Salem is within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolfmcewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Rolfmcewen,

Thank you for the great comments, it sounds like you got to enjoy everything that the hotel and restaurant has to offer. We like to share the feedback with our team as great affirmation of the effort that they put forth.

Take care,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The Grand Hotel had many excellent qualities and a great location in downtown Salem. Close to the Capitol, Williamette College and eating. Nice spacious lobby, front desk staff was helpful and friendly when trying to find late night dining. Note to non Oregonians: late night dining was difficult as we were traveling with a 19 year old who could not enter may places with alcohol. (Think sports bar etc) Turns out the hotel restaurant was wonderful! Rooms were comfortable but THEN about 2:30 to 3 am, an adjacent room decided to shower etc. I heard the shower run, the toilet flush etc. sounded as if it was in my own room.
Then around 6 am, the regular morning noises with shower, toilet etc. again. No sound proofing at least at our room location. It was a bummer. Would try hotel again, but I'd check room location.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hayjude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your visit to our hotel. I can certainly empathize with the noise issues that accompany having lots of neighbors. I think your comment of requesting an upper floor is great, whether the reservation is made directly with us or on-line we do pay attention to guest requests and do our best to make them happen. It is great to see the comments about Bentley's Grill.

Thank you,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Property: The Grand Hotel in Salem
Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated hotel accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing