We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grandly elegant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A very beautiful, luxury hotel. The room is huge and nicely appointed. Lots of big, fluffy pillows, fluffy towels and a nice coffee hutch with a microwave and frig. The bathroom is bright and clean. Fastest Wi-Fi we've used in any hotel! Complimentary full breakfast and complimentary parking. The quality and value for the money is excellent.

Room Tip: Not much of a view from any direction so don't worry about it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krauser848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel in Salem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 616 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Within walking distance of Williamette University, and the Capitol. Free garage parking as well as a free breakfast, which goes beyond the usual free continental breakfast. Walking distance of many diverse restaurants in downtown Salem. Friendly helpful staff. The rooms are very spacious with microwaves and refrigerators. Plan to make this my permanent stay when visiting my son at Williamette.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigrod52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

bigrod52,

Thanks for the great compliments, we enjoy the relationships we get to build with Willamette parents.

We hope to see you for Parent's Weekend!

Scott Snyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a terrific find. This hotel has been completely renovated along with the new convention center in down town Salem. It is a luxury hotel with a fine restaurant at a very reasonable price. The bed and shower were terrific, the room very large, internet was free as was covered parkiing and a hot breakfast. The restaurant had a terrific wine list, was reasonably priced and food was good. I travel 200 nights a year and this was a phenomenal value at $129 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We chose The Grand Hotel in Salem for a stopover when traveling from Seattle to Bend. We had a pleasant stay in a Deluxe King room. Upon arriving, we were impressed with the grandeur of the lobby and the friendliness of the staff. The room was clean and well furnished. There was a comfortable leather sofa and a desk, separated from the bed by a half wall. The bathroom was clean and a nice size. The tub/shower was different as there was a very noticeable slant to the tub which we felt could cause a fall when taking a shower, if not aware.

The hotel is located downtown so can walk to shopping and restaurants. We did some shopping at the downtown mall and had dinner at Bentley's Grill in the hotel. Our dinner was good and the service was exceptional. The hot breakfast included with your room was tasty with lots of different choices. The free internet was reliable and fast. There is free parking in the garage adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandgravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is beautiful hotel! The lobby lives up to it's name. it is quite grand. The room was clean and neat. There was a very nice continental breakfast available and a specialty coffee bar in the lobby. It is in good location for getting around Salem.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad place, but if you want a soft bed, fluffy pillows, and a quiet room, forget it. I would say its not worth the money. The lobby is very nice, people are friendly, and the room is a good size. The beds and pillows suck though.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

LDT68,

Thank you for the feedback, when we choose our mattresses, we were looking for the "goldilocks" option, not too firm and not too soft. We like many hotels can accommodate travelers that would like a softer mattress by adding extra padding. We are happy to make your visit as pleasant as possible. Regarding the pillows, each room has one feather pillow located in the dresser, we can place more in the room if requested.

A good night's sleep is very important, we do want to help you achieve that.

Scott Snyder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have at this hotel 3 or 4 times for a couple of different reasons .... and it is always nice! 2 times were after surgeries for a family member since the hotel is close to everything. I couldn't believe it when I asked (not really expecting one - but hopeful) for a wheel chair to use for my dad who just had dental surgery so was a little wobbly from the anethsia .... they had one!! We had 2 rooms - both were equally as nice and clean. With a GREAT friendly staff, beautiful rooms - that are clean (most important!) and all the amentities of onsite dining, room service, and a lounge ... this is the place to stay for any type of stay. We travel ALOT and are even in the hospitality business - This is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $186 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated hotel accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing