We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went for quick trip to Salem to visit family. We have stayed at a couple of different chain places, and I didn't even know this place existed. It is right downtown, very convenient. I had seen on a website somewhere some pictures of the rooms, and I was not so sure as I thought I saw the old style TV's and what looked like bedspreads on the beds, I was very happy when we got to our room which was very comfortable, large and updated.. It was 93 degrees there that day and our air conditioner kept us quite cool. The bed was very comfortable. The people there were just wonderful and very friendly. They have underground parking, which in Seattle would have cost us an arm and leg. It was free. I know Salem is a small place, but it was a nice surprise anyway There is a complimentary breakfast, which as far as those things go, was pretty good. . A week later we had a thank you from them in the mail. This is a place I will go back to on the next trip to Salem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvenneberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Jvenneberg,

Thank you for the great feedback, you've touched on just about every aspect of the staff and facility! It is a real pleasure to share these with the team.

Scott Snyder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 626 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

I typically reserve my 5 star ratings for the beautiful resorts I've been blessed enough to visit, but I have to give The Grand Hotel in Salem that same rating. The hotel was great with no negatives. The parking was easy and convenient. The check in process was smooth and the staff friendly. The room was clean and VERY large. We ordered room service twice it was fast with the food still hot upon arrival (this is a big deal for room service food). I worked out at the gym, it was small, but had everything necessary for a full body workout. The pool area was clean and surprisingly empty (which also made it relaxing). We wanted to go shopping one day and the hotel staff was again -- very helpful providing us perfect directions to the nearest mall. We had lunch and the restaurant in the hotel one day and it too was really good. Again -- while not a resort, it's a well deserved 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirls07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Overall the hotel has a nice look and feel. The lobby really is grand and everyone we encountered friendly and helpful. Now, we are Southerners so we're not talking Southern-level friendly, but extremely friendly by Pacific Northwest standards. Breakfast was okay, and frankly more than we expected for a breakfast included with our room: Pancakes, sausage, fruit, breads, etc. I never saw the waffle station mentioned by another reviewer.

The pool is not large but the jacuzzi was quite big, nice and hot and relaxing. During our stay there was some kind of pre-teen soccer tournament which meant lots of high-pitched shrieking and a crowded pool but there's not much you can do about that, I guess.

The room was big (with a king sized bed and separated couch/coffee table area. Plenty of room and a nice bathroom.

Other unexpected perks included free underground parking (great for the HOT weather during our stay), free wifi, in-room fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamlyFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel, the soccer tournament that was in town attracted over 200 teams this past weekend, having an indoor pool in Oregon is great until you add 20-40 teens. I am glad to hear that your breakfast experience was positive, with as many guests as we had in the hotel for the weekend, we removed the waffle irons and replace them with pancakes to help with the flow.
We hope the rest of your visit to the Northwest was enjoyable as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and would return again. The rooms are very nice and fairly priced for the quality. It is located in the downtown area. You can easily walk to the downtown for shopping or dining. We ate at Bentleys one night which is located in the hotel. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronb359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

ronb359,

Thanks for the compliments, I'm glad you had an opportunity to try Bentley's while you were here.

See you next time,

Scott Snyder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Checked in here about 8pm after a long drive. The check in was fast, and efficient. I stayed in a room on the second floor which was very clean, and really big for being just a basic room. The TV was a newer flat screen and the room had all the amentiies it should have. The girl at the front desk was nice enough and reccommended me to some good restaurants. The room included brekfast and parking which was really good for the rate we paid.

I got to breakfast about an hour before it was supposed to close. There was no fruit left at all.. it was a really minimal breakfast. The dining area was very clean though, and they hade a make your own waffle station which was great.

The only real negative thing about this hotel is the lack of polish. The guy who checked me in was using slang and had his hands in his pockets. The housekeeprs on the floor were cleaning other rooms with the doors open and talking loudly about the state of the room. The check out was very casual - the desk was a mess and boxes all over the place. The ladies who checked us out were dressed too casually to be working at the desk of a hotel like this.

Not quite a five star hotel yet, but definetely has the potential and I would stay here again if I return to Salem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tytylightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

tytylighting,

Thank you for your review, please trust that my Front Desk Manager and I will use this as a training opportunity. We strive to be welcoming, but don't want to cross that line where a guest feels "too relaxed". Your assessment has identified several practices that we can refine.
I do hope that when you return to Salem, you will give us an opportunity to improve upon an otherwise great experience.

Thank you,

Scott Snyder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our room was nice and well-priced (but we were in Salem, Oregon!). Restaurant was not open for Sunday lunch, nor were many surrounding downtown restaurants so we had to drive around for an hour looking for any place to eat on a busy Sunday afternoon.
Hotel billed us for additional charges after we checked out, for which we were not responsible. Had to eventually dispute with credit card company who agreed hotel was in the wrong. Guess having a confirmation in writing doesn't matter to the hotel.
Next time I'm in Salem, I will find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleNanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Our company relies greatly on having the trust acting in the best interest of our guests, integrity has been paramount to our longevity in business. I have asked SeattleNanc to contact me directly so that I may have an opportunity to look at her circumstance specifically. I'm confident that once that has taken place, our reputation will be redeemed to the point that when they return to Salem, they won't hesitate to choose our hotel.
As a Salem resident myself, I would love that there was enough demand for all of the great downtown restaurants to be open on Sunday's, and when Bentley's first opened they had a phenomenal Sunday Brunch and they would serve until 2pm and reopen for dinner at 4pm, after almost 1 year of less than necessary traffic, they had to discontinue. I do apologize that we couldn't anticipate and help you locate a restaurant that was open for lunch.

Thank you for the comments,

Scott Snyder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband & I stayed here May 24-27th, 2013. From the moment we drove up & entered we were greeted with a gorgeous Reception area and staff. Reception was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and we loved the underground parking. Breakfast in the Marion room was superb. The Bentley Grill was such a good restaurant we never felt the need to even eat elsewhere. The restaurant was cozy & servers were the best! They were attentive & friendly. The atmosphere was great with the nice fireplace area - fantastic bar area and rooms within the restaurant to accommodate larger groups. Everything we had was so good. Best burgers and fries, pizza and even the mac & cheese was good. The drinks were great and so were the desserts! Also available was a small store within the hotel near the front desk Reception area. It actually had quite a few items in it including gifts. Very convenient hotel & definitely will return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunandpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for the great comments, these types of recognitions for our staff are very much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#8 of 24 in Salem
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $175 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated hotel accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing