We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good short stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Checked in here about 8pm after a long drive. The check in was fast, and efficient. I stayed in a room on the second floor which was very clean, and really big for being just a basic room. The TV was a newer flat screen and the room had all the amentiies it should have. The girl at the front desk was nice enough and reccommended me to some good restaurants. The room included brekfast and parking which was really good for the rate we paid.

I got to breakfast about an hour before it was supposed to close. There was no fruit left at all.. it was a really minimal breakfast. The dining area was very clean though, and they hade a make your own waffle station which was great.

The only real negative thing about this hotel is the lack of polish. The guy who checked me in was using slang and had his hands in his pockets. The housekeeprs on the floor were cleaning other rooms with the doors open and talking loudly about the state of the room. The check out was very casual - the desk was a mess and boxes all over the place. The ladies who checked us out were dressed too casually to be working at the desk of a hotel like this.

Not quite a five star hotel yet, but definetely has the potential and I would stay here again if I return to Salem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tytylightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
tytylighting,

Thank you for your review, please trust that my Front Desk Manager and I will use this as a training opportunity. We strive to be welcoming, but don't want to cross that line where a guest feels "too relaxed". Your assessment has identified several practices that we can refine.
I do hope that when you return to Salem, you will give us an opportunity to improve upon an otherwise great experience.

Thank you,

Scott Snyder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    192
    47
    17
    12
See reviews for
151
176
38
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our room was nice and well-priced (but we were in Salem, Oregon!). Restaurant was not open for Sunday lunch, nor were many surrounding downtown restaurants so we had to drive around for an hour looking for any place to eat on a busy Sunday afternoon.
Hotel billed us for additional charges after we checked out, for which we were not responsible. Had to eventually dispute with credit card company who agreed hotel was in the wrong. Guess having a confirmation in writing doesn't matter to the hotel.
Next time I'm in Salem, I will find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleNanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Our company relies greatly on having the trust acting in the best interest of our guests, integrity has been paramount to our longevity in business. I have asked SeattleNanc to contact me directly so that I may have an opportunity to look at her circumstance specifically. I'm confident that once that has taken place, our reputation will be redeemed to the point that when they return to Salem, they won't hesitate to choose our hotel.
As a Salem resident myself, I would love that there was enough demand for all of the great downtown restaurants to be open on Sunday's, and when Bentley's first opened they had a phenomenal Sunday Brunch and they would serve until 2pm and reopen for dinner at 4pm, after almost 1 year of less than necessary traffic, they had to discontinue. I do apologize that we couldn't anticipate and help you locate a restaurant that was open for lunch.

Thank you for the comments,

Scott Snyder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA & HI
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband & I stayed here May 24-27th, 2013. From the moment we drove up & entered we were greeted with a gorgeous Reception area and staff. Reception was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and we loved the underground parking. Breakfast in the Marion room was superb. The Bentley Grill was such a good restaurant we never felt the need to even eat elsewhere. The restaurant was cozy & servers were the best! They were attentive & friendly. The atmosphere was great with the nice fireplace area - fantastic bar area and rooms within the restaurant to accommodate larger groups. Everything we had was so good. Best burgers and fries, pizza and even the mac & cheese was good. The drinks were great and so were the desserts! Also available was a small store within the hotel near the front desk Reception area. It actually had quite a few items in it including gifts. Very convenient hotel & definitely will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the great comments, these types of recognitions for our staff are very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I attended a family reunion at the Grand Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised at our accommodations. The rooms were big and well appointed. The staff was so positive and helpful. We could tell that they really wanted us to feel welcome. The breakfast was well above the morning fare we've had at most hotels. We had a our reunion reception/dinner at the hotel and it was great.
I would recommend this hotel if you have an opportunity to visit Salem, Oregon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe King - worth it.
See more room tips
Green Features: There were tips in the room regarding re-using towels & linens (or not).
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Westcoastie, We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and that we could leave you with such a positive experience for you reunion, thank you for sharing this with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family had an excellent stay at The Grand Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were very large, nicely appointed, and quite comfortable. The free breakfast was abundant and delicious.

The hotel restaurant, Bentley's, was outstanding, with incredible food and top tier service. We needed to book a reception on short notice, and the staff at Bentley's surpassed my highest expectations in helping us plan and execute the event.

The hotel is right in the heart of downtown Salem, making walks to the Capital, Willamette University, and local shops quite easy.

We will definitely be staying at The Grand Hotel the next time we return to Salem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great staff, lovley room and fab location, walked to the shops and the capitol - art gallery and a Starbucks so close they even make gourment coffee for you in the lobby - elegant and fun great place to stay.

Room Tip: I like a room close to the elevator since I have trouble walking and unlike other hotels there was n...
See more room tips
Green Features: Wow talk about environmentaly friendly they have recycling in the rooms
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasVegasLIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I booked this an hour before we got there on a road trip from Seattle to Irvine, CA. The rate they gave me was $20 cheaper than the online price which was great. Had a very spacious double queen room on the fourth floor - beds were ok, but the pillows weren't very nice - I always travel with my own pillow just in case. The bathroom was nice and spacious too, good toiletries.
The buffet breakfast was included in the price, and there was no charge for parking so our stay was very reasonably priced I thought. The best thing about the hotel though, was the restaurant - had a fabulous dinner! We didnt have a booking, but even thought it was Saturday night we got a lovely booth right next to the fire pit. Good service and great food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#8 of 23 in Salem
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Property: The Grand Hotel in Salem
Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated hotel accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing