We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly "Grand"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Truly "Grand"”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My daughter-in-law told us about this place last year. We stayed and loved it, and we returned this March and loved it even more. It has a beautiful but welcoming large marble lobby, very warm and inviting, with fireplace and over-sized vintage style furnishings.The staff is very friendly, including the housekeepers. The rooms are large and airy, best home away from home. The "living room" really feels like one. They have a home style complimentary breakfast of good quality, and their restaurant hotel, Bentley's, is quite good. The Grand is centrally located surrounded by antique shops and bookstores, and a beautiful park around the corner complete with river/view. This is by far the best hotel in Salem, Oregon or the immediate surrounding area. If you're going anywhere near Salem, OR, stay here for sure.

Room Tip: We didn't use the spa/gym facilities. Room 402 is outstanding; a corner room at the end of a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    189
    47
    17
    11
See reviews for
148
173
38
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed several times at The Grand in Salem, Oregon. And I will return. The rooms are spacious and well laid out. They present an immediate feeling of comfort. The beds are very comfortable. Nice shampoo and soap. Good coffee in the room. Cookies upon arrival at the front desk hit the spot. Check-in and check-out were efficient and easy. Breakfast buffet has everything: juice, coffee, tea, eggs, breakfast meats, cereal, muffins, toast, waffles, fruit, yogurt. The entire complex is very clean, spacious, and beautiful. Proximity to downtown makes it so you can walk anywhere you need to go. I make staying at The Grand an annual visit. And I usually don't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimBellingham_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of an event package. The front desk staff were excellent in terms of their customer service. We were very impressed and pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, the internet was complimentary and fast. We also enjoyed happy hour at Bentley's. If we were going to stay again in Salem, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahinOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in the Grand Hotel while on business. The downtown location is convenient to shopping and restaurants, and for me, was within walking distance to Willamette University, where I was attending a conference. I wish we had been able to stay longer to really savor the lovely renovations and atmosphere.
Buffet style breakfast was of good quality too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrissyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night to attend a conference that was held at Willamette University. The hotel was very nice inside, great staff and the rooms for very nice. The hotel was in walking distance to the university and had great food choices close by. La Margarita was awesome! We also ate at the hotel restaurant (Bentley's Grill) for lunch and it was also very nice. The hotel had a pool, hot-tub and fitness center. Complimentary cookies on arrival that were delicious. Our room had 2 queen beds with a separate couch, over stuffed chair, desk and TV area. Ample space in the rooms and bathrooms. I really had no complaints during my stay. They also had a hot breakfast in the morning that was good. Decor is great as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a modern, reasonably upscale centrally located hotel in downtown Salem. Staff was friendly and efficient. Free underground parking. Complimentary downtown area shuttle including Amtrak station. Complimentary breakfast with nice selection of hot/cold items in a room with plenty of table seating. Room was attractively furnished, upscale, but not luxury level. A/C draws air from outside. Very quiet. Windows open for fresh air. Room had sofa, refrigerator, microwave, desk, good lighting and was spotless. There was no traffic noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainoutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
415 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Grand is a nice place to stay, and its location in downtown Salem is really ideal. Bentley's, the restaurant housed at the hotel, is pretty good and all is a very nice atmosphere. The only drawback is the noise from the hallways and neighboring rooms, even with quiet guests, walls are thin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#8 of 23 in Salem
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Property: The Grand Hotel in Salem
Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated hotel accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing