We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night to attend a conference that was held at Willamette University. The hotel was very nice inside, great staff and the rooms for very nice. The hotel was in walking distance to the university and had great food choices close by. La Margarita was awesome! We also ate at the hotel restaurant (Bentley's Grill) for lunch and it was also very nice. The hotel had a pool, hot-tub and fitness center. Complimentary cookies on arrival that were delicious. Our room had 2 queen beds with a separate couch, over stuffed chair, desk and TV area. Ample space in the rooms and bathrooms. I really had no complaints during my stay. They also had a hot breakfast in the morning that was good. Decor is great as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    192
    47
    17
    12
See reviews for
151
176
38
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a modern, reasonably upscale centrally located hotel in downtown Salem. Staff was friendly and efficient. Free underground parking. Complimentary downtown area shuttle including Amtrak station. Complimentary breakfast with nice selection of hot/cold items in a room with plenty of table seating. Room was attractively furnished, upscale, but not luxury level. A/C draws air from outside. Very quiet. Windows open for fresh air. Room had sofa, refrigerator, microwave, desk, good lighting and was spotless. There was no traffic noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainoutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Grand is a nice place to stay, and its location in downtown Salem is really ideal. Bentley's, the restaurant housed at the hotel, is pretty good and all is a very nice atmosphere. The only drawback is the noise from the hallways and neighboring rooms, even with quiet guests, walls are thin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Grand in Salem several times.....this place doesn't miss a beat. Everything from reservations, check in, front desk staff, breakfast staff, maid service, room service attendants are all top-notch. You can tell that the staff takes great pride in their establishment, it shows in their professional but friendly attitudes and their awesome customer service....thats what keeps us coming back again and again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent two nights at this downtown Salem hotel; got a King Suite. Bed was comfortable, room was nicely furnished, including a leather couch. Staff was friendly and helpful. My employer paid for the room, so I can't say what the price was (I don't get a receipt). Had a very good hot breakfast buffet too - kinda a novelty these days it seems like.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First mark against this hotel was the increase in price when I arrived despite my reservation and corporate rate, but @ midnight I was stuck!! I would have loved to enjoy the comfy bed and get some much needed rest. However, the maids decided I needed a wake up call by talking, laughing and yelling at 7am right outside my door. Did I mention, I arrived around midnight and didn't settle in until 2 am ... they proceeded to carry on for hours, which allowed me to hear every flush of the toilet, shower and step in the room above mine. Not to mention all the morning traffic!! When I phoned the front desk and asked if they could ask the maids to refrain from yelling, talking etc outside my door -- I was told they would see what they could do. Which meant nothing!! The next morning was worse!! Thank God I was awake and the worst was a near collision with their cart and vacuum cleaner. You guessed it no excuse me or an I am sorry from the two talkative maids. Needless to say ..... I moved to another hotel.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Francine,

It was a pleasure to speak with you by phone regarding your experience while visiting schools in Salem. While extremely embarrassing that any guest would feel this way in our hotel, your experience has not been wasted as we have had several training opportunities with both the housekeeping and front desk staff. Our guest's comfort and the lasting relationships that are built through great service are paramount to our continued success. As mentioned during our conversation, I do hope that you will give us a second chance should your daughter choose to attend college in Salem.

Thank you again,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartonville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. I stayed here while attending a convention and thought it was simply amazing. My room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfy, the bathroom was spotless, and the internet worked well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_S_2011_S_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#8 of 23 in Salem
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Property: The Grand Hotel in Salem
Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated hotel accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing