We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn(Salem)(Great Value!)
$103
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$100
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$149
$132
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
365
202
50
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
202
50
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerbentley's grillfree underground parkingdowntown locationwillamette universitystreet noiseliberty streetbreakfast buffetrooms are largeplace to stayhotel restaurantattending a conferenceoatmealsitting areaearly checkstate capitolking suite
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 648 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2008

Free parking. 3 year old property...very clean. Nice size indoor pool spa and workout room. Elegant lobby with cookies served in the evening. Free breakfast buffet, very nice, includes sausage, scrambled eggs, fruit, pastry, two waffle machines. The dining room overlooks the street. The on premises restaurant is very nice and has great food. Rooms are Embassy Suite Style. Ours had two queen beds with two armoires and a TV and a separate sitting room with a wet bar, microwave, decent refrigerator full sized couch, chair, working desk and chair and TV. Free Wi Fi included. Could walk to Willamette University, the Capital or Willamette River Park and ride the riverboat.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miniwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2007

At first I was skeptical paying over a hundred dollars for a hotel room in Salem, Oregon. After reading many reviews and browsing there website i decided to book.
Upon my arrival I was greated beautiful smiling faces of the front desk staff and freshly baked cookies. I was stunned by the size and decor of the lobby. It seemed that every detail was thought of by the decorator.
I had what was called a King Deluxe Room, which was on the lower tier of rooms they have to offer. However, don't be fooled by the name, it was a very spacious room and well decorated. I had a large work desk to set up on, a small fridge, microwave, California king bed, and much more. The resturant on Site was superb! Excellent food well priced and the staff was incredible!
The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Salem, very close to many large companies corporate offices and what seemed to be government offices. Lots of great local shops and cafes.
I would highly recommend this hotel to business travelers, wedding travelers, or any other kind of traveler. Excellent location, beautiful hotel, and top notch staff make this a "Must stay hotel"!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mid-westCorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Its not that we live very far away, but we were invited to a birthday party in Salem and figured it would be fun to make a weekend of it. We were a little worried about finding a nice place in Salem to stay; however, our friends suggested the Phoenix Grand Hotel and we loved it. The room was great! The bed was comfy and the decor was fresh and very pretty. The hotel staff was super friendly and helpful. We needed to buy a special gift and the woman we talked with suggested a few stores nearby that were just perfect! We also enjoyed a yummy late breakfast on Sunday. The food was seriously delicious. I'm so glad we made the decision to stay locally instead of making the drive home late at night. It was a fun and relaxing getaway. We'll do it again for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuyBien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

Large, open lobby was lovely. Hotel staff was friendly and welcoming. Rooms are large and well appointed. Very cool on a warm day.
The adjoining Bentley's Grille restaurant was quite nice and the food quality very high. Very nice wood paneled bar and separate wine bar also at Bentley's were very nice.
An outdoor pool would have been welcome after a long, hot day of travel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CASunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We live in Salem and wanted a night away. We booked a jacuzzi suite on short notice and headed downtown for the night. The room was very big, the tub was in the main room, not in the bathroom. It was large enough for two, great jets, lots of hot water, etc. A nice light on a dimmer above the tub. Great king size bed with upgraded linens, not the scratchy ones. the room got nice and dark and we were pleased. The hall noise is a bit loud, obviously depending on who is in the hall, but about the time the bars closed a group of women were coming in and a bit noisy. Bentley's the restaurant and bar downstairs is good. It's definitely the best show in town and the prices are high for Salem, but it's also a cut above.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dollface-30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews