We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great downtown location with class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel in Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great downtown location with class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

There are not many if any options to stay downtown. I enjoy the location, free parking, free and good hot breakfast and the general feel of the place, very nice. While you can certainly find cheaper places, you will not find a better location. Downtown has a lot of wonderful shops and is worth exploring. I like the convenience..and the newspaper!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    177
    41
    17
    11
See reviews for
133
159
35
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norther California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I love this Hotel, it has only one flaw, noise at night. There is a sports bar, Bucanazz, across the street that plays LOUD music well into the night. The beautiful hotel, wonderful staff and nice location don't matter at 2 am when you can't sleep. The staff is aware of the problem, but do not warn you, or do anything to fix the problem. They could have moved me to the other side of the hotel, or offered a discount for staying on the loud side. They did neither, but they did say it was "really bad", and that they were looking into it.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skellingtonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I used to live in Salem when I attended Willamette University, so I know the town pretty well. This hotel is new to me, but I deeply appreciate both the proximity to campus and their green efforts: windows that open, EV chargers in the free garage and offsetting all energy use. Solar panels power the adjacent convention center, and a display shows how much power is being generated. We appreciated that towels we hung up for further use were actually left in place: so many hotels have cards that say they won't change towels unless they are on the floor, but most do even if you hang them up. Bravo!

Breakfast was a good buffet, but it seems odd that a place that goes the extra mile in other areas would still have Froot Loops (=not real food) in the buffet. We still stuffed our teen with oatmeal and fruit, sausage and pancakes. Coffee cart made a good cup of soy mocha, though the cocoa powder had milk in it, so I had to use my own.

The family also enjoyed the pool, and had it nearly to themselves. Clean rooms, operable windows, room service had desserts from the Konditorei (a Salem institution), easy walking distance to Kwan's Chinese. There's a McMenimen's pub an easy five-minute drive away too. Love the microwave and fridge in the room, and leather sofas.

Bathroom was on the dark side, but the lighted makeup mirror helped with makeup and served as a nightlight. Mattress very firm.

Extra mile: turns out we left a favorite pillow behind: we called when we were about an hour out, and they said they would call back once all the housekeeping carts were back in. No one ever called, but a package arrived three days later with the pillow in it.

Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Road noise from Liberty street can be a problem, especially if you like the window open: the Mexican...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank actranslation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment I arrive 'til the time I leave the service is excellent and the hotel is clean with the rooms very quiet. Even when an event is booked in the hotel the service is always top notch and they never skip a beat...they also have a special heart for our military and families and that is a good thing...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnvont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

SInce I travel to Salem each year for business, I've stayed at a number of hotels. Once I found the Grand Hotel (formerly Phoenix) I haven't changed. It is a very clean and comfortable hotel with good sized rooms. There are all the amenities including free underground parking, well equipped workout room, and very good hot breakfast included in the room price. And the hotel is right in the center of downtown Salem a fairly short walk to the capitol and Willamette University.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanLChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We found this on the Internet. One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. Everthing from the decore to the cleanliness and the fantastic restaurant, this hotel is top notch. The staff were very professional. The location is downtown Salem and an easy walk to major department stores.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palouse
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my first trip to Salem and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Grand Hotel! The rooms had a lot of space and also included a microwave and refrigerator. A free continental breakfast is included (which you don't find often in large hotels) and there is no charge for parking, so you are able to come and go as you please. The one negative I had was the firmness of the mattresses, I like mine a little more on the softer side. Overall, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaCoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Property: The Grand Hotel in Salem
Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated Hotel Accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing