We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Port in a Storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Good Port in a Storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Recent winer storms forced us out of our home. Our usual peaceful setting along a creek in the woods morphed into a potentially hazardous area with flooding & falling trees so we opted to stay in a safer area. We chose the Grand Hotel in downtown Salem & imagined we were on vacation in our own city. I think that's good to do once in awhile so we know how visitors to our city feel. And sometimes we discover great things to do. The hotel is spacious, newer & connected to the Convention Center. Our room was lovely, warm & safe. Staff were great. Bentley's Grill is also connected to the hotel & we enjoyed a very good dinner there. We were able to return to our own home the next day & found everything as we'd left it. Thank goodness! And thank goodness we had a great place to stay during the storm.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKatieSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    186
    44
    17
    11
See reviews for
146
167
37
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geyserville, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed here just one night for a wedding. Very clean, large, upscale, tastefully decorated, friendly. Nice complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiannaC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Not a lot of choices in Salem .. But what a great place and value..huge suite rooms..all service staff were pleasant and helpful ..I'd stay here again...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlnDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This was our anniversary getaway. I would highly recommend this place.
They have off street parking in a parking garage under the hotel. Checking went well, we had reservations which were accepted online.
The king size bed was highly confortable; however there was no fan in bathroom. There was only a standing shower and with only room for one.
The in room Jacuzzi was not as good as other in room Jacuzzi’s for… husband wife love relations. Since rooms have wifi internet we watched Netflix on the labtop from in the Jacuzzi.
Great complimentary breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel is connected to the Salem Conference Center so if one is attending a convention there, this is the place to stay. Very large, comfortable, and clean rooms. Friendly staff. The complimentary hot breakfast very ample and good. Food for a luncheon and convention banquet really excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel is really more of a motel. It's 'fine' for business travel, but has one glaring problem: it shares a parking garage with the Salem conference center and therefore has no parking during the day. Guests are forced to park about 1/2 mile away and walk back. This makes coming/going for business meetings a huge pain. There is no valet or guaranteed option. The furniture in the room is worn down, and the flickering flourescent bulbs depress the look of the room and recall east-german film noir. All is all it's just okay- I'd rather stay at the Best Western or Red Lion where I know what to expect. Calling this place "Grand" is really off the mark.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieB-Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottSalemOr, General Manager at The Grand Hotel in Salem, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear JulieB-Sea,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. We do apologize for the parking conflict that you encountered while staying. I believe that this is a circumstance that is relatively isolated as we have just under 300 parking spots and 193 guest rooms. I would assume that there was perhaps a big luncheon at the adjoining conference centered that constricted the parking options. As we prepare to celebrate our 7 year anniversary next Spring, we are embarking on a significant number of upgrades to the hotel, we hope to have them completed by the middle of November 2011. I would welcome you to stop by and check them out the next time you visit Salem, even if you choose to stay with another property. We are very proud of the new/fresh look and the upgrades to the bedding are being very well received by our other guests.

We do hope that we'll have a second opportunity to impress you in the future.

Thank you,

Scott Snyder
General Manager
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

The room was OK. It was very large but the bed could have been a little better and the wallpaper is not my style. The bathroom was also way too dark. I didn't trust what my make-up was going to look like in the light of day. The furniture also seemed a little dated. That being said, the lobby was beautiful and the restaurant was exceptional. It's in a great location as well. Right in the middle of everything. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacation4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
3.3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel in Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel in Salem

Property: The Grand Hotel in Salem
Address: 201 Liberty St SE, Adjacent to the Salem Convention Center, Salem, OR 97301-3509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Salem
#3 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel in Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oversized, Well-Appointed, and newly renovated hotel accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Grand Hotel in Salem, Oregon features 193 luxurious and comfortable rooms and premier suites. Headquarters hotel for the Salem Convention Center, we are a 100% non-smoking facility. Our room settings are arranged perfectly for business and leisure travelers, conference attendees, small or large families and groups. These are definitely the most elegant, spacious rooms in Salem, Oregon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel in Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Grand Salem
Hotel Phoenix Grand
The Grand Hotel In Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing